We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, value, service, and location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 Bayshore Highway, Burlingame, CA 94010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Burlingame
Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel, value, service, and location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Over the past four months I’ve made 3 one-week long business trips to the Burlingame area, each time staying at this Holiday Inn Express. I’ve enjoyed my stay each time.

I’ve found the staff to be friendly and pleasant, from the front desk to the housekeepers. Each time I’ve had one of the renovated rooms and found them clean and comfortable. There was some kind of cushioned pad between the mattress and the fitted sheet that wouldn’t stay in place on my bed and would bunch up. I’d have to straighten it out every day or so. The free wi-fi was always up and working and proved adequate for my needs.

I really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast every morning. There was juice, toast, warm Danish, cereal, scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, biscuits, gravy, ham slices, pre-made omelets, and fresh warm pancakes. I really liked the pancakes. They have this nifty machine the size of a desktop printer, you push a button and about 45 seconds later out comes two fresh warm pancakes. They were great! I wish I had one of those machines at home. As others have commented, the breakfast room is small. I always had breakfast around 6-6:30 am so the room was empty. I went by once around 9am and it was a lot more crowded. There are extra tables in the lobby area. They were still renovating when I was last there and when they finish and their guest capacity increases, the breakfast room issue could get worse?

There is a convenient restaurant right in front of the hotel, Max’s. It made it easy for getting supper in the evening when I didn’t want to drive. In the evening, there were warm fresh cookies in the hotel lobby. They made for a nice sweet evening dessert. (cookies not available on Saturday and Sunday).

The hotel is located right on the edge of San Francisco Bay. In the evenings after I returned from work, it was easy to walk out the back door of the hotel and head either north or south and walk along the Bay Trail. The trail was a paved county path that followed the edge of the water. It was popular with joggers and walkers every evening. You could watch the planes departing or landing at SFO, or watch the shore birds in the water. Walking south was a little more scenic and nicer.

The hotel was conveniently close to the Milbrae BART station. That made it convenient to take BART downtown on my days off.

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed my stays at this Holiday Inn Express. It would be my first choice go-to place for any subsequent trips to the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Traveler_Dave_9,

We would like to thank you for your continued patronage and for posting a wonderful review for our hotel. We always look after our guest's needs and comfort. We are glad that we were able to meet your standards and expectations. Those pancake machines are really great and we love it too!!! Thank you for letting us know about the cushion in the bed, we will check and see how to make it more the mattress pad be more stable. As always, as a valued guest, we appreciate your comments as these will help us serve you even better. Please do not hesitate to call us at 650-347-2381 or email us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com should you need to make any future reservations. We are looking forward to your next stay with us. Thank you once again.

Regards,
Mary
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    101
    52
    32
    26
See reviews for
71
62
28
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We were tired and didn't have any problem with being close to the airport, nor hearing others at the hotel. It's located close to the airport & there's a comped shuttle to provide transportation back & forth from the airport. The hotel staff was friendly, the hotel was clean, our beds comfortable & the breakfast was better than most of the HIE breakfasts, providing choices of meats, eggs, breads & fruit. The price was high, but I guess they can get away with that with their proximity to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear muchfuntravelin,

We would like to thank you for allowing us to be a part of your recent San Francisco trip and for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review for our hotel. Just to know that you had a good overall stay with us is already an accomplishment for us. The staff are all looking for our guest's comfort and satisfaction. Should your travel needs bring you back to our location, please do not hesitate to call us at 650-347-2381 or email us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com and we will be more than glad to help you make a future reservation. Thank you very much once again and we hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,
Mary
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sur, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The noise level kept us from getting any sleep the 2 nights (arriving and departing SFO) The planes landing and taking off, the slamming of doors reverberating down the halls, the sound of people coughing and using the bathroom (yes the sound of urinating), all persistent and loud. Don't think you can check in and rest before going to eat: current renovations add to the noise level until the workers quit at 5pm..

Room Tip: Try to get in the wing that is somewhat blocked from the noise of the airport although this was the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear marlana2014,

First of all, thank you very much for staying in our hotel and for posting a review. Please accept our sincerest apology for the inconvenience we had caused you. The entire building has concrete walls however, again we apologize for the noise during our stay. The hotel is scheduled to be finished with our renovation by April this year and we are all excited about it. We would like to invite you to come and visit us once again after the full renovation is complete and we assure you that you will have a more pleasant stay. Should you want to discuss more details about your stay or if you have any question or concern, please feel free to call us at 650-347-2381 or email us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com. Thank you once again.

Regards,
Mary
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here for my 2 nights for my fiancé graduation and all I can say is that this hotel is in a nice location close to the airport but and a few minutes to San Francisco. The hotel clean and the staff provides great customer service. Leila Borja made sure our stay here was comfortable. Upon check in she personally checked if our room is ready and cleaned. We have been given the newly renovated room with a bay view and it was a nice of her to offer that to us. She has definitely given us a 5 star treatment and that's a good quality service. The free breakfast is a nice compliment and the fruits and cookies too. Their is a trail located behind and it's nice if you wanted to catch a fresh air and enjoy a scenic bay view. I would definitely stay here and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Jedflip23,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It is something our staff takes pride in, so we value your feedback. We will sure to pass your kind words along to Leila. Thank you so much again for staying with us. As a valued guest, we truly appreciate it. Should your travel needs bring you back to our location, please do not hesitate to call us at 650-347-2381 or email us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com and we will be more than glad to assist you in making future reservation. We hope to see you again soon!!!

Regards,
Mary
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We usually stay a block away at the Crowne Plaza when we're in the Bay Area. Decided to break our habit, mostly for the free parking. Seems like this place was a different chain, now being converted to HIE. Work is still going on but was not an inconvenience at all. What has been refurbed is really very nice. Our room was nicely done, comfortable, clean, modern. The cleaning staff were exceptional and seemed to go out of their way to make sure we were happy. Lobby and breakfast area are much nicer than most HIE breakfast rooms. Breakfast was typical so met expectations. Coffee seemed better than most HIE locations we've used. We're Platinum IHG members so have had a lot of coffee in a lot of their hotels. WiFi seemed a bit slow but not a huge problem. Front desk staff were really outstanding. On a rainy afternoon I jokingly complained because their late afternoon DELICIOUS, warm cookies were not out earlier in the day. We were leaving for the afternoon and would miss the cookies. The nice lady (shame on me for not getting her name!) at the desk said not to worry, she would take care of us. When we got back around 9pm that night she saw me come in and called me over to give me the 4 cookies she had saved for us. Now that's attentive. That's how you exceed expectations. If you want a comfortable, reasonable hotel near SFO, give this one a try. I don't think you'll be disappointed. We'll be back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Ken L,

On behalf of the entire staff of the Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and for posting a very nice review for our property. As a valued IHG Platinum Member, your comments are very much appreciated. We are very glad that we were able to meet your standards and expectations. Your comfort and satisfaction are always our top priority and each of our staff are making every step of their way to make sure that these will be accomplished. Please feel free to call us at 650-347-2381 or email us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com should you need to make any future reservation and we will be more than happy to assist you. We hope to see you again in the future!!!

Regards,
Mary
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed only one night in transit to Vail Colorado but found this Hotel really good value. It had a great bed, was quiet and not in a flight path, had fantastic coffee of all types in the redecorated lobby all day and also had a fantastic restaurant called Max's next door which had the best pretzel I have ever eaten and also great iced tea and was really inexpensive. Has recently been refurbished but the best thing was it had a great walking track right outside as it is on the Bay and after a long flight from Australia it was nice to be able to get out and walk around a Bay on a walking trail. Saw our first hummingbird and numerous water birds wading on the edge of the Bay. Very friendly helpful staff and also this Hotel has a free shuttle to the Airport and free breakfast from very early so even though we left very early in the morning were able to grab some breakfast first. Would not hesitate to stay again. Saves going right into S.F. when y ou are just staying overnight.

Room Tip: Great hotel on the Bay with free shuttle and fabulous coffee all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Suzanne S,

We are very glad to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. Thank you very much for staying with us and for posting a very nice review for our property. Your comfort and satisfaction are our top priority and we are happy to know that we were able to meet your standards. Glad to know that you enjoyed the nice view of the San Francisco Bay and the airport, this view is truly breath-taking and sure enough to remove the day's stress. Should your travel needs bring you back to the beautiful city of San Francisco, please do not hesitate to call us at 650-347-2381 or email us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com. We hope to see you again soon!!!

Regards,
Mary
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

From check in to check out, even on an exceptionally busy weekend in San Francisco, Miss Sarah, our check-in expert, handled us as though we were long-lost family! Such a friendly, and out-going young professional! We were impressed with how Sarah managed to check in our family of five, into two different rooms, so smoothly, while all around crowds of other guests were noisily arriving. She was so poised, and so confident, remaining calm, and taking care of us as though we were alone in the lobby. Our sincere thanks to Sarah, and to Mary her assistant manager!!

Room Tip: Ask for a Bay View Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Jean-Pierre P,

We are very glad that we were able to meet your standards and expectations. As a valued IHG Member, your comments are very much appreciated. On behalf of the entire staff of the Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, we sincerely thank you for staying with us and for posting a very nice review. Rest assured that Sarah will be given proper recognition for providing you with good customer service, this is something that our staff takes pride in. Our top priority is your comfort and satisfaction. Should your travel needs bring you back to the beautiful city of San Francisco, please do not hesitate to call us at 650-347-2381 or email us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com and we will be more than glad to assist you in making a reservation. We hope to see you again in the future!!!

Regards,
Mary
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South

Address: 1250 Bayshore Highway, Burlingame, CA 94010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Burlingame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel San Francisco Airport South, a San Francisco Airport hotel, is centrally located to all the Bay area attractions in beautiful Burlingame, CA. It is just a short ride from our hotel to The Golden Gate Bridge, China Town, and Fisherman's Wharf. The hotel features views of the San Francisco Bay and double-paned windows for a quiet stay. Find complete relaxation at this intimate hotel with just the right location, services and amenities to suit the most discriminating client. The hotel offers 146 spacious guest rooms and suites. Begin each day with our deluxe Hot Express Start Breakfast at this contemporary hotel located just 5 minutes from the airport. Enjoy our outdoor pool, fitness center, 24-hour business center, free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves & refrigerators in each guest room, complimentary parking, and complimentary 24-hour shuttle service to and from San Francisco International Airport. Ask about one of our special packages like our Park, Stay, & Go Package. Don't forget to try Max's Bar and Grill adjacent to the hotel, a Bay Area favorite. Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay fun, comfortable and memorable with first-class quality accommodations and legendary service to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South Hotel Burlingame
Holiday Inn Express Burlingame
Holiday Inn Burlingame

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.