We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place...it needs serious rework” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 Bayshore Highway, Burlingame, CA 94010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Avoid this place...it needs serious rework”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed at this place for one night while on a business trip. I had booked this because I was staying in their counterpart hotel in another place and this place offered a free shuttle service to the airport and was pretty close to the airport. However, this hotel needs some serious renovation. The wallpaper and carpets are old, the rooms are cramped, the bathroom dingy, the corridors are not brightly lighted and there is a feeling of the whole place being quite rundown. On top of that they have a lot of construction going on and they should not be charging what they are now for the quality of service/hospitality they are offering to their customers. The service desk is prompt and the breakfast is decent. But other than that there is nothing noteworthy. Please avoid if you have any alternatives.

Room Tip: None of the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear amukho,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your recent stay in our property. Please accept our sincerest apology for the inconvenience that the room conditions and the construction had caused you. We are undergoing major renovation which includes the lobby, all other public places as well as the guest rooms and again, we do apologize that this did not happen before your stay with us. The items you had mentioned regarding the condition of the room will be changed as we do our renovation. We do regret that this impacted your experience with us. Please also do contact us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com so we can obtain additional detail regarding your stay. We do hope to offer you a more comfortable stay in the future after our full renovation is complete.

Sincerely,
Mary Domingo
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    124
    61
    33
    27
See reviews for
90
70
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This place is under major construction!!!! They do not warn you as to the current condition of the hotel or the premises. Additionally, they are charging full price for your stay in this construction war zone.

Made a reservation 3 months in advance for a king on the bayside of the hotel. It was not honored. Gave me a room on the pool side, which means you face Highway 101 on the front side of the hotel. I have stayed here at least 3 times a year for at least 4 days a stay. The reason we stay at this hotel is for the bayside view and the lobby view of the bay. Construction has put up a sheetrock wall blocking the lobby view of the bay. Pool side means you face the highway. Very noisy. The only heating and a/c this time of year is when you open or close the windows in your room. Which means you hear all the noise from the very busy 101 and the air traffic at the nearby airport.

Upon check in we were given bad key lock cards to the room. Front desk would not tell us what was going on at the hotel other than there was construction. Later we found out that it would last at least a year. So check before you book this place between now and next Feb, 2014!!!

There is no handicapped parking at the hotel. During my last stay here in Nov the parking lot was closed to handicapped parking. It is still not available today, as the same area is roped off. Outside doors are posted that they are locked at night. However, the doors do not lock and were not locked during our entire stay.

Now the bad news. The hotel is totally under construction in the main lobby area. There is no room to move around and now the breakfast area is the lobby. There is construction dust everywhere. The luggage cart of the hotel, if you can find it, is covered with dust. The lobby is covered with dust and that is where you eat your breakfast. Electrical cords run down the halls so that they have enough power to provide breakfast. At best the lobby looks like a high school cafeteria, tables and chairs all over the place and no place to walk to and from your room.

Construction crews were working until 7:30 pm in this lobby area during our visit. The shuttle bus service to the airport was having to back up from the frontage street to the lobby area to pick up passengers going to the airport. As the bus backs up, it goes beep, beep, beep the whole time it is backing up, all day and most of the night. With your window open (the only available ac) you are constantly awakened during the night. The whole driving area to and from the hotel is a pile of rubble

Now the room. Would you believe that they put fresh towels on a rusty towel rack in your bathroom? Would you believe that the microwave has broken legs on it, that the coffee pot in the room does not work properly, the furniture is damaged and that there is a large burn spot on the carpet. Do not forget that temperature control is an open or closed window, with or without noise from the 101. The maid service left a hand towel under the coffee pot in the room. I wonder what else the use the room towels for in your room service.

Last night we returned to the hotel after a nice meal at a local resteraunt. As we walked down the hall there was a large container catching water coming thru the ceiling of the first floor hallwayst. We went on up to the floor of our room and just as we put the key card in the door, the hotel fire alarm went off and we immediately ran down the stairs to evacuate the hotel. After a wait we were told we could return to our rooms as it was just a broken pipe that caused the alarm to go off.

I don't need some corporate person to send an email stating they will look into things. Why not warn people that the hotel is under costruction and charge a room rate that is for the inconvience of the stay??

Room Tip: Find another location until Feb. 2014 when construction is to be complete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear mas4467,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your comments. We are sincerely sorry to hear that you had a unpleasant stay with us. First of all, regarding the renovation announcement, you had mentioned that you had made the reservation 3 months in advance, unfortunately, at that time, we are not sure when the renovation will start. We had started putting the announcement in all of our website and our reservations January of this year.

Thank you so much for bringing up the issue regarding the side entrance door, before the construction started, we used to lock it at night but since we closed the entrance door on the rear of the building, we needed to keep the side entrance door accessible for the guest. We will remove the sign that we are locking it at night so as not to create a confusion for the guests.

Unfortunately, I do apologize that there were days within the period of February 8-February 9, the construction outside the property lasted until 7:30 P.M. We are going to talk to our contractors to keep the construction from 9:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M. as much as they can.

The renovation will also include the guest rooms and a part of this is fixing the Heating, Ventialtion and Air Conditionning (HVAC) system. The items that you had mentioned regarding the cleanliness and quality of the room will be addressed with our housekeeping and maintenance supervisor.

We are deeply sorry about what happened the night of February 8th, this is something that we,as a team member hope not to happen however, this is beyond our control. We tried as much as we can to make it right for each and everybody affected by the incident.

We do take each and every point that you had brought up constructively and that we also do appreciate you pointing these matters out so we may address and correct everything as much as we can. that is beyond our control. Again, please accept our sincerest apology for all the inconvenience that you had experienced during your stay. We regret that this impacted and affected your experience at our hotel. Please do not hesitate to call or email us directly contact though: (650) 347-2381 or reservations@hiesfosouth.com.


Sincerely,

Mary Domingo
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auberry, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The room was very cramped, the air conditioning would not turn off and they hotel is being renuvated. Very noisey during the day and parking lot very cramped. Not a good night at this hotel. The staff was very unskilled, meaning they check in clerk had trouble pulling up my reservation. The check out was so so. Getting in and out of the parking lot was horrible due to construction and the airport shuttles

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear papamac56,

Thank you for very much for taking the time to write about your comments. We are very sorry to hear that you had a less than pleasant stay with us. Currently, to better serve our guests, the hotel is under renovation (construction hours are from 9:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M.) which includes the lobby, all other public areas and the guest rooms. Please accept our sincerest apology for all the inconvenience that the construction had caused you. With regards to the guest service experience, I would like to obtain more information from you so we can better address the issue, if you may please contact us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com. Again, we regret that these affected your experience in our hotel and we hope to offer you a more pleasant stay in the future after our full renovation.

Sincerely,
Mary Domingo
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Booked quickly and did not take time to check out trip advisor first. The hotel is very cramped and stuffy. It did serve our needs as it was a bed to sleep in near the airport. But I couldn't wait to get out of there. The staff was nice and the free breakfast was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear sunraefish,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay in our property. We are sorry to hear that you had a less than pleasant stay with us. Currently, our hotel is under renovation which will include the lobby, breakfast area, guest rooms and all other public areas. Please, you may also contact us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com so we can obtain additional detail regarding your stay. Again, we regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel, we hope to offer you a more pleasant stay in the future after our full renovation.

Sincerely,
Mary Domingo
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hotel staff were first class, very couretous, helpful and couldnt do enough to ensure you had a good vacation. The cleaning staff also were lovely and the standard was extremely high in all aspects of the hotel - so much so we drove from las vegas back for another 3 days in the hotel.

Room Tip: we stayed on either side of the builiding and found no flaws at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to meet your standards and expectations. It is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We will make sure to pass your kind words along to our staff. Thank you very much once again for staying with us. We hope to see you in the future again soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel, located next to SFO
Staff are friendly and helpful.
Rooms are big and very clean.
There's a shuttle every 20 mins to the air port and from there you can take the BART to the city.
Bee feat is OK. Self service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shethar M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Shay H

Thank you for your review. The Holiday Inn Express is excited you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your visit if your ever near San Francisco area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed in the Holiday Inn Express, SF Airport on 12/4/12 for one night. The hotel rugs were dirty, the room was dirty and there was no heat in the room. The room could not have been warmer than 60 dgrees. I tried to slowly turn up the heat with no results so I turned the heat to 85 degrees. Stlll no heat so we froze all night. Also, no additional blankets in the room. I will never stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shethar M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Yak A

Thank you for you review. The hotel would like to apologize for your uncomfortable stay. Our maintenance department will be checking each room to ensure guest comfort. We appreciate your review to create a more comfortable stay for our guest. The hotel will be renovating in 2013. We hope to see you and look forward to your reviews.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South

Address: 1250 Bayshore Highway, Burlingame, CA 94010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel San Francisco Airport South, a San Francisco Airport hotel, is centrally located to all the Bay area attractions in beautiful Burlingame, CA. It is just a short ride from our hotel to The Golden Gate Bridge, China Town, and Fisherman's Wharf. The hotel features views of the San Francisco Bay and double-paned windows for a quiet stay. Find complete relaxation at this intimate hotel with just the right location, services and amenities to suit the most discriminating client. The hotel offers 146 spacious guest rooms and suites. Begin each day with our deluxe Hot Express Start Breakfast at this contemporary hotel located just 5 minutes from the airport. Enjoy our outdoor pool, fitness center, 24-hour business center, free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves & refrigerators in each guest room, complimentary parking, and complimentary 24-hour shuttle service to and from San Francisco International Airport. Ask about one of our special packages like our Park, Stay, & Go Package. Don't forget to try Max's Bar and Grill adjacent to the hotel, a Bay Area favorite. Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay fun, comfortable and memorable with first-class quality accommodations and legendary service to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South Hotel Burlingame
Holiday Inn Express Burlingame
Holiday Inn Burlingame

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.