We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare "Airport" hotel worth the stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront to your Saves list
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Old Bayshore Highway, Burlingame, CA 94010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park Here, Fly There
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A rare "Airport" hotel worth the stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Love this place.

The great open atrium with views of the bay and the SFO runway are wonderful. The Lobby bar is always lively and they have good beers/bourbons and food menu. The prices are hotel prices but not shocking.

Rooms have all been updated over the last few years - it's a Marriott so you know what to expect, nothing too fancy but great beds and all the services you expect.

Frequent Airport shuttles. 25 minutes to DT San Fran.

San Mateo and Burlingame both within 10 minute drive with tons of dining choices.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for sharing your exceptional experience at the San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront! We are so thrilled to hear that everything from your view of the bay and runway to our rooms and great location exceeded your expectations. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the food and bourbons, as well. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Bay Area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    335
    150
    50
    21
See reviews for
105
192
63
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turlock, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The check in girl, didn't catch her name but she said she worked here for 12 yrs. she was very plain and didn't have the nice "Marriott welcome" that most do.

Room had two doubles which were comfy, but the bedding is very old and needs to be replaced.

The parking rate in my confirmation email was $20 but the girl said it was $25 and she couldn't honor it even though it says $20 in my email... She asked me to forward the email to her manager to see if maybe It can be honored but no promises... Just very rude and blunt. Seemed like she doesn't care about guests and maybe burnt out from being there so long with no moving up on the ladder.

I wouldn't recommend it to anyone staying longer than one night... Stay at the Hyatt across the road if you're staying longer.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront. We appreciate your honest feedback, as it allows us to uphold and maintain the guest experience. We are disappointed to hear that the front desk staff was not up to our high Marriott standards. We take pride in our guest services and we will investigate this issue to ensure that it doesn’t happen again. We are also disappointed that the bedding in your room did not meet your expectations. Please know that we replaced 100% of our beds within the last year. In relation to your parking fee, we encourage you to contact the Director of Operations so that we can adjust the entire parking charge from your bill. We hope you will consider joining us in the future, so we may be able to provide you with an experience that exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Yes it's an airport hotel.

Yes the rooms are kinda old

Yes you can hear the coming and going of the planes

But facilities wise, it's a great place.

Starbucks on premise, an M Club Lounge that Elite members gain access to (which features free breakfast among other benefits), a great lobby lounge with a great view, and best of all, an outdoor area on the waterfront, affording u a view of SFO runways across the bay.

This hotel probably costs more than the other area hotels, but it has a certain charm around it and makes for a very good short stay stop

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for joining us at the San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront! We are thrilled to hear that you are impressed with our new M Club Lounge, especially the wonderful views and outdoor area. Creating an exceptional experience for our guests is our foremost goal, and we are pleased to know that we achieved this with your stay. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I would give the hotel a higher rating if the hotel is renovated. The rooms are dated and should be refreshed if the hotel is charges over $300 a night for a standard room. If that's the case, be sure to take advantage of packages that bundle breakfast and parking together.

What I liked:
-Clean.
-Good, comfortable bed.
-Very good A/C.
-Good view (the way the hotel is shaped, you do see your neighbors though).
-Amenities like a fitness and business center.
-Quick check-in/check-out.
-Shuttle to the SFO airport.
-M Club Lounge for quick bites (you need to reserve a specific room type or have elite status with Marriott for complimentary access).
-Coffee/tea maker in-room.
-Expansive lobby area for socializing and watching airplanes taxiing.
-Multiple outlets throughout the room to charge your electronics.

Sorry, I didn't care for:
-Difficulty in getting internet access (would not recognize my last name and room number).
-Pricey parking, self-parking is $25 a night.
-Room decor (needs to be renovated).
-Low ceilings in the bathroom.
-Bath amenities.
-No complimentary water in the room.
-Having to talk quietly in your room, or guests walking in the hallway will hear your conversations.
-Lack of privacy if you keep the window blinds open.

Room Tip: There's close to 700 rooms at this property. If you need a room close to the elevators, be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with an honest review of your stay. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms, convenient amenities, and proximity to the airport. We are also very glad to know that you were able to take advantage of our new M Club Lounge. However, we apologize that certain things did not live up to your expectations. You will be happy to know that we will be beginning a full rooms renovation featuring new, state-of-the-art rooms, to be completed in 2015. We are always looking for feedback from our guests to help us maintain and improve the overall experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I've stayed here twice now in 2014 and since I was here in February, they have opened up the new lounge for their gold and platinum members. The upstairs concierge lounge is gone, instead, Marriott is moving to their "M Club" for all full service Marriotts. They will be on the first floor, allowing for more room and better food. This hotel is the first one to get the new M Club and I am very impressed. The buffet they had laid out was top notch and there were also plenty of sweet snacks to nosh on if that was your preference. An added bonus - they are open 24/7, allowing you to get drinks and snacks even when the rest of it is closed off after hours. The rooms have great views of the planes landing at SFO and there's a 2.5 mile walking/running trail just outside the front door that runs along the water.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for joining us once again at the San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront! We are so thrilled to hear that you are impressed with our new M Club Lounge, particularly the quality of the food and the convenience of 24/7 availability. We also appreciate your comments on our wonderful views. Creating an exceptional experience for our guests is our foremost goal, and we are so glad to know that we achieved this with your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna hills
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My family had a wonderful relaxing 3 night stay at the hotel. High lights include super friendly staff, easy check in, clean room, great view of the bay and the SF runway where our teens enjoyed seeing the airplanes land and take off. We would definitely return and would highly recommend it. Easy 15 minutes drive into down town SF

Room Tip: higher floor, bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms, great views, convenient location and exceptional staff. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon at the San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I know you are skeptical by the title, this is after all the AIRPORT Marriott. Do not let that deceive you. We stay over 50 plus nights at Marriott's around the world, and usually in SF, stay at one of their other in the city properties. Never again - this is where we will be staying from now on in SF. Incredible service, incredible amenities, and the view from the lobby bar watching the landing and takeoffs at SFO is an eye-popping show in itself. The newly renovated Concierge Lounge is the best I have seen in the Chain, even better than London County Hall and that is saying something. The staff here fall over themselves to be helpful, filled with ideas and suggestions. They even have bicycles at your disposal to ride, and what incredible views from the waterfront. Easy ride into the city and back, and when you return you feel like you do not want to leave. Amazing!

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you so much for joining us at the San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront and for writing this stellar review! We know that you have many options and it seems that you are extremely well-traveled. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed our incredible views and exceptional service, and we appreciate your positive feedback on the new M Club Lounge. We especially take great pride in our guest services, and we are pleased that you found our staff to be so accommodating. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our property, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront

Address: 1800 Old Bayshore Highway, Burlingame, CA 94010
Location: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Burlingame
#4 Business Hotel in Burlingame
#4 Family Hotel in Burlingame
#5 Romantic Hotel in Burlingame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 684
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront Hotel Burlingame
Marriott Hotel Burlingame
Marriott Burlingame
Burlingame Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.