We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great location; nice hotel; Convenient to the Airport"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront to your Saves list
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Old Bayshore Highway, Burlingame, CA 94010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park Here, Fly There
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“"Great location; nice hotel; Convenient to the Airport"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Marriott SFO Airport is a very nice place to stay. It's showing some signs of age, but all in all, it's a dependable hotel. Clean; good staff; lots of amenities, including a well stocked bar (can get a bit loud); very nice atrium lobby and bar area; good restaurant; and outdoor seating looking out across the bay. If you like watching planes, this is the spot for you. High marks to the hotel as you're insulated from flight sounds while in the room. Admittedly, it won't be long before it's going to need some updating, at least in some rooms, but it's clean and very accommodating to the business traveler. Parking overnight isn't cheap, but I've been to other hotels that are more expensive. While the section of Burlingame it's in isn't exactly a hotspot, there are still a variety of restaurants and you're close to other areas like Redwood City or San Mateo. If you need a good place to stay that's convenient to the airport, you can't miss at this Marriott.

Room Tip: Ask for Water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We appreciate the time you have taken to offer a detailed review of your stay at the San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront! Thank you for your positive feedback on everything from the various hotel amenities to watching the planes go by. You may be happy to know that our hotel will commence with a complete room renovation at the end of 2014. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience with our staff as we take great pride in our guest services. Thank you for choosing Marriott and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    329
    149
    50
    21
See reviews for
104
186
63
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

One night award stay, standard size room. Comfortable bed, and overall good space. Had dinner in the lobby bar - Good set of options and fast, friendly service. Hotel has a gym with a pool area with free access for guests. Gym is good by hotel standards; a nice set of cardio units (cross trainers and threadmills), ok set of dumb bells, and a few weight machines. Service at check-in and check-out was fast and efficient.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront! We appreciate your positive feedback on everything from the comfortable room to the efficient check-in and check out service. We are pleased to hear that you found the service to be friendly as we take great pride in our guest services. Thank you for choosing Marriott and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future, should your travels bring you to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This Marriott property shows its age (and need of updating) in the guest rooms. My room was clean. The lobby area has been updated and is an active, inviting place. The "M" lounge concept has been rolled out in the lobby area in lieu of a concierge level. The hotel is juxtaposed to SFO. I highly recommend the hotel for a good night's sleep before an early morning departure at SFO. Some reviewers overuse the adjective, "Great." It is comfortable and a reasonable value in the Bay Area. I plan to return.

Room Tip: You might consider rooms away from the SFO runways (although it did not disturb me)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it helps us to continuously improve upon the guest experience. You may be happy to know that we will commence with a complete room renovation the end of 2014. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your clean room and our active, inviting lobby area. We are grateful for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you in the future to offer another comfortable and convenient stay. Thank you for joining us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights. The beds were really comfortable and the room nice and quiet (even though we faced the street) We had the option to upgrade but because we were out an about all day, we didn't bother. The 24hour free shuttle from the airport was a great help and from there we took the bart downtown. The staff were very nice, always a warm greeting and very helpful. They weren't bothered when we asked touristy questions either. The laundry was a great help and the facilities were clean. Room service was pricey, but quick service. The food was mediocre. The breakfast was delicous, with beautiful fresh fruit and breads and cheeses and the option for a hot meal option. The freshly squeezed orange juice was the best! It is nice to sit by the window, watch all the planes land and it is right by the water so the view is great. Also, there is a walking path along the water. Miss Rachel from the Front Desk was lovely and always helpful and went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. The only negative was that we didn't have a mini-fridge in the rooom, although we had coffee/tea maker in the room.

Room Tip: ask for waterview, if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for writing a thorough review of San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront! We appreciate your honest feedback as it is an essential tool in helping us to provide the best guest experience possible. We are happy to hear that you had a positive experience with our nice and quiet rooms, great views, and pristine location. Also, we're pleased that you were able to take advantage of our various amenities from the 24-hour airport shuttle to the laundry facilities to the delicious breakfast. Your kind comments about our nice, warm, and helpful staff that went above and beyond are greatly appreciated as we take great pride in offering excellent customer service. We hope to welcome you again in the future to offer another enjoyable stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here in transit while moving back from Australia for two nights. The bed was so unbelievably comfortable. The staff was very friendly. I was pleasantly suprised about the computers and printer provided to check in for your upcoming flight. Unfortunately we did not get to spend much time at the hotel since we had a short visit in San Fransisco and we were also very jetlagged. One dislike I had was the parking, cost was a bit high (though not sure if it's standard for the area) and having to use the hotel key to get in and out did not work out well. Would definately recommend a stay here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for choosing the San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront! We appreciate the time you have taken to share a detailed review. Thank you for your positive comments on the comfortable bed, our friendly staff, and the ability to use the printers and computers. Thank you for your honest feedback concerning the parking and the room keys. We will use your comments to improve the guest experience in the future. Thank you for choosing Marriott and we hope to be able to welcome you again, should your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This anguished traveller really appreciated the help she received from Chris over the phone as she struggled to get to the hotel due to delays at another airport.

I am an experienced traveller, but not often in San Francisco, and it was a relief to feel so taken care of by the San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront. thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront! It is wonderful to know that Chris was able to help you during your delays and make you feel taken care of. Thank you for the time you have taken to offer a review. We hope to be able to serve you again in the future, should your travels bring you back to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were traveling to Kauai and we were faced with a five hour mechanical delay. We had started our day very early in another city, and when faced with the thought of spending that time sitting it out, we were very grumpy. We contacted these nice folks who sent us a shuttle, provided us with superior service, free upgrade to an ocean view and some much needed shut-eye....Thank You Marriott Waterfront

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront! We are glad to know that you were able to take advantage of our airport shuttle and that you found the service to be superior. We take pride in our guest services and we look forward to passing your comments along. It is wonderful to hear that you were able to enjoy an upgrade to an ocean view. Thank you for choosing Marriott and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront

Address: 1800 Old Bayshore Highway, Burlingame, CA 94010
Location: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Burlingame
#4 Business Hotel in Burlingame
#4 Family Hotel in Burlingame
#6 Romantic Hotel in Burlingame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 684
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront Hotel Burlingame
Marriott Hotel Burlingame
Marriott Burlingame
Burlingame Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.