We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best airport hotel in the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront to your Saves list
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Old Bayshore Highway, Burlingame, CA 94010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Jersey
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“best airport hotel in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

there are dozens of hotels to choose from near SFO and I've been to several - this one 'gets it'. They run it 24/7 quite well - regardless whether you arrive at 2pm or 2am there is always someone at check-in, security inside and out.
parking is easy but pricey - ask them to waive it, you never know or take easy shuttle
Rooms are standard Marriott, ask for one on the bay to see runway activity if you like that sort of thing.
Concierge room food is a bit above standard Marriott with excellent staff. Very attentive especially in the AM
Lobby bar area is expansive, plenty of seating and a good food/drink selection. Lots of tables outside bayside for drinks/conversation.
Gym is good BUT recommend walking/jogging on the bayside walkway along the hotel

Room Tip: Bayside for airport view, upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront! We are glad to hear that you found the hotel to be run efficiently. We appreciate your positive comments on our attentive staff as we take great pride in our customer services. We are glad you were able to enjoy the bayside walkway during your stay as well. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    360
    154
    50
    22
See reviews for
111
195
66
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

If you need to spend a night before or after a flight into SFO, this is an excellent location. It has super easy access to the rental car pickup/return, there is also a shuttle to and from the airport. The rooms are fairly standard for a Marriott regarding size and appointments. I would recommend asking for a waterfront/bay front room, otherwise you get rooftop view of the lobby area. I had dinner brought up via room service and the staff was amazingly nice and attentive and the food was fantastic. Starbucks being in the lobby was a huge bonus for me the following morning!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the bay/waterfront and avoid the rooms next to or near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear how much you enjoyed our location and access to the rental car area, as well as the shuttle. Thank you for the room tip about the waterfront views. They are wonderful! We appreciate your positive comments on our Starbucks, the room service, and our staff overall. We are very proud of our guest services. Thank you for choosing Marriott and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future, should your travels bring you back to San Francisco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The gym is above average in size and equipment.

They offer a free airport shuttle service every 15 minutes.

Even though the view of the bay is beautiful, this is the only downside of the hotel. It is simply located so close to the airport that you might be annoyed by the noise if you stay in a room facing the sea.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the water, it will be more quiet. You can enjoy the water front vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our gym and complimentary airport shuttle. Thank you for your positive comments on our view, as well as your feedback on the proximity to the airport. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope to welcome you back next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed here night before flight home after vacationing up in Healdsburg. Was able to leave rental car in their lot for pickup by Hertz--avoiding early morning car return. Shuttle to airport makes frequent trips. The lobby bar/restaurant area has huge panoramic windows facing the bay and airport. Had drinks and supper looking out at view. Really relaxing. Room with bay view is preferable. There is a paved path along the bay just outside hotel, for walk or run. Was there only one evening, but found it very pleasant and effortless for flight next morning. Not a neighborhood for exploring or walking around, but great for travel.

Room Tip: Face the bay. Our bay view room was actually a side view--part bay, part parking lot. But there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront! Thank you for taking the time to offer a review. We appreciate your positive comments on everything from the views to our Flights 101 Lounge. It is wonderful to hear that you were able to take advantage of the airport shuttle. Thank you for choosing Marriott and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future, should your travels bring you back to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights attending a conference in early January 2014. I liked everything about this hotel. The rooms were clean and well kept...all of the amenities...bed was a bit firm for my taste, but I have a Sleep Number at home so....
We had most of our meals in the hotel in event related activities. However, all of the meals were enjoyable and there was a very nice variety of food to choose from. Fresh fruits and juices, variety of coffee (yes there is a Starbucks in the hotel), the dinners were prepared expertly and served as restaurant quality...hot, cooked perfectly and a nice presentation. Table side service was excellent...the staff was well trained and attentive.
Very nice lounge and casual dining area. Food in the restaurants is moderate to high price wise...but this is a Marriott at the airport in San Francisco. Front desk worked very well as a team and the wait checking in and out was minimal. Nice outdoor firepit to take the chill off the night air while enjoying a glass of wine. The walkway along the bay was great for a nice brisk walk after meals. Total about 1 mile so a round trip end to end covered about 2 miles. Passes behind many GREAT restaurants that are within walking distance.
Airport shuttle was very timely both ways and a short 7 minute ride (with stops) to the airport/hotel.
This is the second year I have attended this conference and aside from the WiFi in the lobby and other common areas and meeting rooms, it was another great time. The definitely need to get the right WiFi solution...someone should put them in touch with MERU networks...
A definite 4 out of 5 for me.

Room Tip: Be on the bay side...otherwise its a lot of one and two story businesses to look past to see the hil...
See more room tips
Green Features: Not something I took notice of but it is great to know they operate the hotel with energy efficiency and the environment in mind.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you for your positive comments on everything from the hotel dining to our staff members. We are very proud of our guest services. Thank you for your honest feedback on the Wi-Fi. We will pass this along to management and work to improve the guest experience. It is wonderful to hear that you were able to take advantage of the airport shuttle. Thank you for choosing Marriott and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My company put us up in marriott. The room was pretty big but the hotel was like a freaking maze. I nearly got lost going to my room. There wasn't too much around the hotel. The staff wouldn't allow me to use my Marriott rewards nor did they acknowledge that I am platinum elite. The room didn't have a microwave nor a fridge both we apparently extra according to the desk clerk.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your visit at our hotel. Unfortunately, some of our rooms with the best bay views are located several hundred feet from the elevators. We are happy to update your local profile to indicate that you would prefer a room closer to the elevators. If you would like to discuss this and some of your other concerns like your lack of ability to use your rewards, please contact our hotel GM Clif Clark at 650-692-9100 so we can discuss this and come to a resolution regarding your concerns.

You will be happy to know that we will begin a comprehensive room renovation in Q4, 2014 and our plan is to add refrigerators to all of our guest rooms.

Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you during your next visit to the Bay Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My first stay here was great as I had a view of the bay. This time I was stuck in the back overlooking the road with a tiny room. Not sure why my first experience was so different than this one as a platinum member.

My parking charge was cut in half because my room rate was so high - the room was fine since I was really just sleeping one night there, but it was small and noisy as it was right next to some air unit and had an adjoining door.

I tried to grab a beer in the lobby bar and the service was nice - I took it up to my room and ordered room service. Their fish tacos are quite good if you need a little bite.

ON weekends they don't serve breakfast to rewards members - they just offer the extra points, which was fine by me that day.

Overall this hotel is OK - very convenient to the airport, but has the monopoly of marriott's in the area, and should think about remaining current given this. The rooms are (some of them, or at least the one I was in) are small and a little outdated. The bathroom was tiny and very cheaply made.

Perhaps on a future trip I'll go farther south to Palo Alto and save some money on rates and parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view or water view - makes the small room less painful! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for choosing the San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront for your recent stay! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us. Thank you for your positive comments on the service in Flights 101 Lounge, the fish tacos, and the convenient hotel location. We also appreciate your honest feedback on our rooms. Booking a bay view room in advance is the best way to guarantee one of our spectacular views. You will be happy to know that we are in the process of a full-rooms renovation to be completed in 2014 that will feature brand new, state-of-the-art rooms. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we sincerely hope that you will consider returning to our hotel in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront

Address: 1800 Old Bayshore Highway, Burlingame, CA 94010
Location: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Burlingame
#4 Business Hotel in Burlingame
#4 Family Hotel in Burlingame
#5 Romantic Hotel in Burlingame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 684
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront Hotel Burlingame
Marriott Hotel Burlingame
Marriott Burlingame
Burlingame Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.