We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Facilities not Enough & Not Worth for the Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront to your Saves list
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Old Bayshore Highway, Burlingame, CA 94010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Facilities not Enough & Not Worth for the Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Free Internet access is a must item now a day but this hotel still has charges (only lobby provides free WiFi), thus people goes to the lobby with PCs or iPads. It even has no refrigerator in room. These are basic items but they don't provide.
But the airport shuttle is convenient and frequent (every 10-15 minutes in 24 hrs service). There are also a free trolley for the Burlingame downtown. The must appreciated thing is: it provides free fresh fruits (apples, pear & tangerine...) in the lobby and free iced water with mint and citrus. It really a good refreshment! At last, it's still not worth for the price.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    364
    154
    50
    22
See reviews for
112
196
67
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed for three nights, and def not what I expected from Marriott. Upon checking in the room we reserved was not available; got lower quality room but reception wouldn't reduce price though the website showed that same room for less. Booked a crib for the room and received a pack-n-play; apparently this hotel does not have any cribs - would not have even booked if there was no chance we were getting a crib. As a previous reviewer stated the room def smelled musty/stale. No refrigerator/minibar in the room... while the hotel does rent them out none were available whenever we called (they suggested we use ice machine). Sink in the bathroom was slow and the towels were frayed/old and felt like sandpaper (worst towels I've seen in 20 years of travel around the world). The positives... though you pay extra for parking the valet service was quick, never had to wait more than a couple of minutes for the car. And, the room service was quick and food quality good. Overall there are much better choices than this hotel at this price point/location. Stayed here because you except a full service Marriott to have certain standards, but makes you question if it is worth staying in any other Marriott. With all the choices why take the risk of poor value/experience.

Room Tip: if you must stay here I would suggest you just get the least expensive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

If I can give people a tip - the best part of this hotel is the very friendly shoe-shine lady. The hotel staff are also good as are the common areas but the hotel room was grotesquely overpriced. Perhaps it was because we arrived later and maybe they assumed we weren't coming but the bathroom had no tub, a tiny sink and vanity and a seat in the shower. We are in our fifties but I felt like I was rounding a hundred. The room was small, ill-decorated and the windows were very noisy due to the wind. This room was quite expensive. I would stay elsewhere. On the bright side the gym was quite good.

Room Tip: Negotiate a price with Marriott directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because we were in town for a Halloween Event, We decided to stay at San Francisco Airport Marriott because we thought the rooms would be bigger than the rooms in San Francisco, Boy was I wrong The rooms are compact if you are claustrophobic, this Hotel is not for you. The hotel has nice scenery you can see the airport, planes taking off and landing, we had a view of the ocean but for what its worth the rooms were too small. After we informed the Manager they did give us a bigger room. The bed was a pullout couch bed. However the room was bigger.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STUART
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a conference held at this property. This is a classic Marriot property that is very convenient to several restaurants within short walking distance. The rooms were clean and comfortable, but a bit small for two people. The Internet was easy to connect and good bandwidth although fairly expensive. I am used to complimentary Internet at most places I stay.

I particularly enjoyed the outdoor sitting area adjacent to the main lobby. The fire pits made sitting outdoors quite comfortable even though the evenings were a bit chilly. The views and waterfront walk are a wonderful feature. This property is also very close to the airport.

The staff were all friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Enjoy the outdoor areas if weather permits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This place was a total rip off- for $325 a night for a standard room on a Thursday night, you would think that the accommodations would be at least decent... not the case.
I was stunned when I checked in and was given a room that was small and meager accommodations, extremely hot and smelled like mold- it smelled so badly that it actually made me nauseous and I had to switch to another room. The "new room" was essentially the same as the first room, but at least it didn't smell.
Given the price of the room I was shocked when I was told that there was an additional $13+ charge for internet in the room. They did include free wifi in the hotel lobby, so I half considered plopping myself down in the lobby in my pjs to respond to work emails, but I opted not to.
Breakfast was included, however if you leave before 6am there is no alternative options for breakfast which was disappointing.
Given that it is relatively close to the airport, the location was great- but I would say that was the only positive point. My colleagues and I were truly disappointed in the accommodations and the ‘value’ of this hotel- and were quite surprised given that it is a Marriott. The bar and restaurant inside were adequate, and the staff was friendly enough, but it still didn’t make up for the rest of the poor experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro - CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed at the hotel. Customer service was awesome. Afew minutes from the airport. Location allows you to have a glimpse of the beach from your room. Enjoyed evening strolls by the beach. Close to decent and affordable resaurants and stores less than 1 mile radius.. Very relaxing to enjoy a drink at the bar which ovelooks the water. Nice and very clean hotel. Awesome services.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront

Address: 1800 Old Bayshore Highway, Burlingame, CA 94010
Location: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Burlingame
#4 Business Hotel in Burlingame
#4 Family Hotel in Burlingame
#5 Romantic Hotel in Burlingame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 684
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront Hotel Burlingame
Marriott Hotel Burlingame
Marriott Burlingame
Burlingame Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.