We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path with great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1333 Bayshore Highway, Burlingame, CA 94010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
GreenLeadersSilver level
Colorado Springs
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
48 hotel reviews
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed here for a small conference. Free Shuttle bus from the airport. Free local trolley that takes you into Burlingame area for shops and restaurants. Spacious hotel with convention space. There was an Anime convention going on while we were there---fun to see all the folks enjoying their art and dressed in costumes! Enclosed atrium has restaurant space. Half the rooms open to the atrium (ours did with a nice sliding door/mini-balcony), while the others open to the outside. Hotel is in a quiet business area. Has a fitness room and outdoor pool and hot tub. A few restaurants within walking distance (Max's and Elephant Bar. Also a little Mexican place next to Elephant bar), but a solo female traveler would not want to walk around alone at night. Just isolated area. Nice Hyatt hotel. The staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful. Knuckles Bar in the hotel was fun--great bartenders, free popcorn and full service menu at the bar.

Room Tip: No real view from the hotel (it's on the west side of the road, away from the Bay). Interior roo...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling bins were available in the room and mention was made of their eco-friendly practices, but we were only there 2 nights and didn't use housekeeping so not sure...
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    472
    258
    79
    35
See reviews for
152
226
120
518
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We were stuck in san fran for the night due to our awful airline (United) and decided to lay up at the Hyatt Regency. A very nice, welcoming hotel with a nice view of the water. Clean rooms, prompt room service with good food. We would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSFAirport, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thanks, IronGutt!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Here for a conference again. This hotel is clearly too small for this conference. They charge for wifi!!! We bring over 1200 people to their hotel that they make a mint from every other year and they don't even provide/include wifi in the meeting rooms! Low class. They do NOT keep the coffee flowing either. When it's gone, it's gone! People looking for coffee everywhere. The chairs in the meeting rooms are seriously uncomfortable and they do not set up tables for writing! This is a LEARNING conference, hello? People need a place to write! We are so crammed into the ballroom for lunch it's horrible! The waiters constantly bump your chair. And good luck exiting in a panic situation. CUPA, go to a convention center where they can handle the event properly!

Room Tip: Bring your wallet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSFAirport, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear John,
I am sorry that your personal experience was less than perfect. The Hotel and Conference Organizers work together to define all of the products and services to be offered during the meetings (i.e. Meeting Space, Wifi, Food & Beverage requirements) in order to satisfy the needs of the Organizers as well as the attendees. We will use your feedback to make the next meeting even better.
Regards,
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

As a frequent Hyatt guest, I look to Hyatt to provide clean, quality, nicely appointed rooms for the premium prices they charge. While airport Hyatts in general tend to provide lower-quality accommodations compared to off-airport properties, I was particularly surprised by the housekeeping and maintenance problems with this property. First, the front desk staff, valet staff, grounds, dramatic atrium design, and other staff were all excellent as I would expect with a Hyatt. However, the room interiors are where the problems are visible.

I stayed at this Hyatt twice in January 2014 at either end of a trip, getting rooms on different floors in completely different locations each time. In the first room, I immediately noticed grout mold in the shower, carpet worn down to the padding in front of the bathroom, and a shower faucet knob so loose that you could turn it 360 degrees without getting any water to come out. Maintenance promptly sent someone up who said he "couldn't believe" how broken the knob was and how nobody prior to me had noticed it (like housekeeping), and 15 min later it was fixed.

The 2nd room had even more mold in the shower tile, and inexplicably the shower faucet knob was also loose, but workable. Carpet was in better shape in this room. The beds in both rooms contained a typical number of pillows, but they all had the same flaw: smallish down pillows that were so fluffy they lacked support. Great hotels offer a variety of pillow types.

Moreover, these are not costly or time-consuming issues for Hyatt to solve. These are management issues. Clearly housekeeping is not communicating maintenance issues well. And maintenance staff is either understaffed, incompetent, or not allowed to do their job. The outdoor pool also showed aging, peeling paint around the edge. I was a little surprised that the pool was outdoors (apparently the only one of all SFO airports), considering the typically cool, foggy, bayside weather at SFO. Hyatt has let this property's rooms slip to 2-star quality, which is a shame considering most of the other Hyatt qualities are there.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the atrium are significantly noisier but provide better views.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling receptacles were available in the lobby.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Expat
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The gym is very nice, with three ellipticals and three treadmills, plus two bikes and a lot of weight equipment and free towels and water dispenser. The airport shuttle is efficient, and I stayed here for a few days, shuttling from the hotel to SFO to take BART into town with no hassles. The concierge and check in staff were friendly. Room service was quick and has good portions, but I was disappointed that nothing was available after midnight. In an international airport hotel that is a missed opportunity not to at least have an abridged menu with something to sell for food.

I stayed here twice on both legs of my international trip to the U.S., and the first time I had a room on the 5th floor with a king bed and wifi included. It worked very well. The second time I had a double room on the 3rd floor with no wifi package included, and that was not nearly as comfortable. It's true that the style of the place is dated, but I found the staff to be polite and well-trained, which is more important to me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

There was nothing wrong with the hotel, but there was also nothing spectacular about it either... except Gloria at the front desk. Cheerful, pleasant and accommodating, Gloria was a great front desk presence. The hotel rooms were in need of a deep cleaning - the light fixtures looked like they hadn't been dusted since the hotel opened and the tub was not as sparkling as expected. Bed was comfortable. $20 for Self-Parking was a disappointment; we should have tried the airport shuttle. I can't comment on the breakfast- we chose the McDonalds 5 minutes away before heading to the airport. Good for a one night stay before an early morning flight.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The Hyatt SFO was a big disappointment. The hotel is a gazillion room atrium Hyatt, typical of the many built in the 70s next to convention centers, except this one is next to the airport. Its 1970s vintage just about says it all.

We booked a club floor king. The room had been updated in the last few years and was fine, typical of 3.5* Hiltons, Sheratons, Hyatts and Marriotts. The bed is not a regulation Hyatt super bed. The mattress was as hard as a rock and made for a mediocre night's sleep. The Regency Club and its breakfast were poor. The room needs a thorough cleaning. There was dried food stuck to the window class next to my table. Half the tables were covered with dirty dishes. The quality of the food was poor- powdered eggs, cheap cafeteria quality pastries etc. No attendant was on duty and the only utensil to be had was a spoon.

The hotel's public areas appear to have been unchanged since the 1970s. They are dark, dreary and poorly lit. The carpeting is a visual assault, as gross as hotel carpeting can get, even when including past their prime Las Vegas properties. A coat of paint and new carpeting would go a long, long way.

Getting to the hotel's front door was difficult in that several police cars were there with lights flashing. They were arresting someone- nice, huh. The attendant at check-in was superb.

The Hyatt SFO did the job for our park, sleep and fly stay, but we will not return and can not recommend it.

Room Tip: I don't know what non-club floor rooms are like, but there was nothing special about our club fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame

Address: 1333 Bayshore Highway, Burlingame, CA 94010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Burlingame
#7 Business Hotel in Burlingame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame 4*
Number of rooms: 789
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dramatic atrium, 9 story hotel with cascading waterfalls and water channels amidst a park-like atmosphere, lush foliage, including over 2,000 flowers, plants and bamboo plants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame Hotel Burlingame
Hyatt Regency Burlingame
Hyatt Burlingame

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.