We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't mind the current construction on Burlingame Avenue (9/2013). Copenhagen Bakery and Cafe is a respite from it all.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copenhagen Bakery & Cafe

Copenhagen Bakery & Cafe
1216 Burlingame Ave, Burlingame, CA 94010-4128
650-342-1357
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Copenhagen Bakery & Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 148 Restaurants in Burlingame
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lorton
Transit: 1/2 block from Burlingame Ave. Cal Train Station
Pittsford, New York
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Don't mind the current construction on Burlingame Avenue (9/2013). Copenhagen Bakery and Cafe is a respite from it all.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stopped in late afternoon, just before Monday 6pm closing.. With a large variety of popular Scandanavian/American pastries and plentiful coffee, this is a delightful place for conversing, eating and coffee sipping with other beverages available/. Adjacent is a cafe we did not try. Conveniently located near the Apple Store on Burlingame Avenue, off of El Camino Real in Burlingame, California. An enjoyable afternoon with family, good conversation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    38
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great pastry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were very impressed on the six to eight varieties of coffee available as well as their incredibly good pastries and cakes.

We enjoyed an éclair filled with cream mixed with custard and a "hazelnut express", both equally delicious and well achieved.

I would highly recommend this place if you are in the surroundings since it is (or was at least for me) a memorable experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Warm, pleasant place to have breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My boys and I like to go Copenhagen for breakfast. We enjoy the omelets and coffee. Service is great. Parking is a challenge as it is on a busy commercial strip.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Best breakfast bakery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Fantastic bakery in downtown San Mateo that also serves breakfast and lunch. Lots of Scandinavian style pastries, beautiful and delicious cakes and breads. Serves a wide variety of breakfast options - especially good French toast (using homemade bread) and pancakes!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“You don't know what you have. Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I don't get some of these reviews. Love this place. Great breakfast. Great coffee. It's fresh. Its sunny. It's friendly. Pastry is fantastic. Grab a paper and the day. Great place to start.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copenhagen Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 
Burlingame, CA
Burlingame, CA
 

Been to Copenhagen Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copenhagen Bakery & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.