We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - small beds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Landing Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Landing Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Landing Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1550 Bayshore Highway, Burlingame, CA 94010   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel - small beds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed 3 nights. Hotel is very clean and well managed by a private family - not a corporation. Great location, view, and free parking. Free cookies in the lobby in the evening. Breakfast was very good, but crowded when we went. Should probably go earlier than 8:00am if you don't want the crowd, or take the food to your room and use the microwave in there. We had an awesome room - 4th floor, corner room, with bay view, so two windows, and very spacious. The only negative was the beds were double (not queen) and our tall boys (18 and 21) were hanging off the edge. My husband and I are used to a king, so quite a difference. We took the BART into downtown San Francisco on a Saturday - free parking on weekends at the station, and it was $9.00 round trip. Got off at Embarcadero, near the beginning of the piers. We did lots of walking once we got there. Found a great parking garage on Beach St, between Taylor and Mason - $20 for the entire day, or $10 if you are in before 9am! That was cheaper than 4 of us on the BART, so did that on Monday. Didn't get great advice from front desk on that - they recommended a taxi, which would have been $50 each way. I was able to print our boarding passes on the computer in the lobby for free - that was a nice perk! Asked for an extra towel one day, and within a few minutes we had a whole new stack. Only thing we missed was a hot tub to soak our tired feet after sightseeing all day.

Room Tip: Book a bay view room. If you want bigger beds, get something with a queen or king. Double means do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian F, General Manager at Bay Landing Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for commenting on your recent experience at Bay Landing. We are thrilled to hear that you found our location to be convenient for sight seeing in San Francisco, and that you enjoyed our great views of the bay. In addition to rooms with two double beds, we also feature rooms that have a king sized bed. Your business is appreciated, and we hope to see you again on your next visit from Kansas City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    203
    50
    23
    12
See reviews for
157
221
55
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Valley, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

There are so many wonderful things to say about this hotel, to get started...

LOCATION: it is conveniently located minutes away from SFO, and is right off the 101. Bonus: adjacent to the back parking lot, there is a wonderful pathway that runs along the waterfront - perfect for a nice stroll or a jog. In addition, there is a great view of the planes arriving and departing from the airport.

AMENITIES: they have a FREE breakfast buffet, which includes waffles (3 waffle irons available), bagels, fresh fruit, hash browns, cereal, oatmeal, pastries, pudding, yogurt, bacon, boiled eggs, toast, a variety of juices, coffee, tea, etc. One odd thing though is that some of the items need to be microwaved (like the bacon), since they are served cold. There is also a nice beverage bar with coffee, hot tea and ice water available throughout the day.

STAFF: checking in and out was easy and fast, and the dining room staff was very friendly.

ROOM: our room had a King bed which was very comfortable. The decor is "dated" in style, but not in condition. The room and bathroom were tidy and clean. The room also included nice toiletries, a hair dryer, mini-fridge and desk. Free wi-fi is available in the rooms but it can be slow and inconsistent.

PARKING: Overnight parking is free and fairly abundant. We checked in late at night and had no trouble finding two parking spots. They also have a "Park Sleep N Fly" package available which is very reasonably priced if you need a place to keep your car during your trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian F, General Manager at Bay Landing Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for writing detailed comments on your wonderful stay at Bay Landing. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and complimentary amenities, as well as experienced our very friendly team. We appreciate your business, and hope to be able to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed here recently for 4 nights. The hotel is conveniently located near the airport and parking is free (any free parking in the greater San Francisco area is a plus). The rooms were spacious and the beds were comfortable. Didn't take public transportation to the city, so it was about a 25 minute drive into downtown. I enjoyed the free in room wifi and breakfast. The gym was decent. It had about 7 or 8 workout machines and some treadmills and elliptical trainers. My only complaint is the same repetitive breakfast and it wasn't served hot. The egg omelets were the same everyday and needed to be microwaved. If I'm ever in the San Fran area again, I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian F, General Manager at Bay Landing Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at Bay Landing. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable beds and that you were able to utilize our complimentary Wi-Fi. We look forward to serving you again on your next trip to San Francisco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stayed at this fairly new hotel for two nights in early July, 2014, while attending a concert in downtown San Francisco. I used a rental car for my visit, so I cannot comment on the effectiveness of the airport shuttle service from the hotel. The rooms are very pleasant, and include microwave, refrigerator and full coffee/tea facilities. The windows can be opened, which is a nice feature to allow a bit of fresh air from the adjoining San Francisco Bay. I found the beds and pillows to be extremely comfortable. I also felt that the breakfast was one of the most complete I have experienced at a hotel buffet, with bacon, sausage, pancakes, waffles, fresh fruit, and many types of breads and rolls.

My only negative comment is that the internet seemed to be rather slow, for a new facility. I plan to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian F, General Manager at Bay Landing Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback about your experience earlier this month at Bay Landing. We are pleased to hear that you felt comfortable at our convenient location. We appreciate your business, and look forward to your return on you next visit from Ohio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We've been coming here for years when passing through San Francisco & it's been consistenly excellent. Lovely location on the bay, free airport shuttle, clean & quiet rooms & even a guest laundry. It's family owned & operated, staff is friendly & helpful & an excellent buffet breakfast is included. Still very happy so we'll be back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian F, General Manager at Bay Landing Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you, Yvonne, for choosing Bay Landing to be your home away from home. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our bay front location, and that you were able to utilize our guest laundry. I will share your service accolades with the team. Your repeat business is appreciated, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit from New Zealand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Pro:
- conveniently located
- free shuttle from and to the airport
- large, very clean rooms
- extremely comfortable bed
- free Wifi
- helpful staff

Con:
- quite expensive
- style not very modern (but that is of course a question of personal taste)
- plastic plates and microwaves to warm up the breakfast

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian F, General Manager at Bay Landing Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for commenting on your pleasant stay at Bay Landing. We are pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location, and that you experienced our helpful team. We do have plates and silverware available in addition to plastic cutlery. We appreciate your patronage, and hope to see you again on your next visit from Germany!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very good hotel, stayed one night prior to a next day flight. The staff was great, smooth check in and free breakfast was very good. There a good resturants close by. A free shuttle service to airport is offered, very convenient to drop off a rental car the night before an early flight. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian F, General Manager at Bay Landing Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear that you experienced our great staff, and that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit before flying out of SFO!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Landing Hotel

Address: 1550 Bayshore Highway, Burlingame, CA 94010
Location: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Burlingame
#2 Business Hotel in Burlingame
#3 Family Hotel in Burlingame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Landing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Landing Hotel is located on the San Francisco Bay minutes from the San Francisco International Airport. The Bay Landing is a boutique hotel that provides a great value and personalized service. Complimentary amenities include a deluxe continental breakfast, wireless and high-speed Internet, and an airport shuttle. All rooms include a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bay Landing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Landing Burlingame
Hotel Bay Landing
Bay Landing Airport Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Landing Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.