We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service quality and satisfaction from a hotel anyone could ask for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn San Francisco Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn San Francisco Airport to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn San Francisco Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Airport Boulevard, Burlingame, CA 94010   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
1 review
“Best service quality and satisfaction from a hotel anyone could ask for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Front desk staff Ruben and Ed greet each guest with friendly smiles and jovial attitudes no matter if your first or last in line. You know you matter as a customer and they want to make your stay the best they can.
Staying here makes our trips to San Francisco more enjoyable and we will return again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI-SFO, General Manager at Red Roof Inn San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time out to write a review on your recent stay with Red Roof Inn San Francisco. I'm glad you were able to enjoy your stay, in particular our renovated rooms, free parking, convenient location and our 24 hour restaurant on site. Ruben and Ed will be very happy to know that you were delighted with their customer service skills.

Thank you again, we look forward to seeing you soon!

Jack K. - General Manager
Red Roof Inn - San Francisco Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    257
    106
    33
    24
See reviews for
105
162
106
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, Hawaii
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Quick two-day business trip to the Bay Area. Proximity to SFO and the shuttle every 30 minutes are worth at least $30/day in reduced stress and wasted time and even more if you (like we) choose to take BART into the City. Check-in and check-out were quick with no surprises. The room was basic, but clean. All the fixtures and appliances worked well. Had the heat/air con on all night, so I didn't hear any freeway noise anyway, but it was not a problem even normally in our room, which faced the 101 freeway. We never turned on the tv, so I don't know about it. The wifi connection was good and fast enough for video streaming. One doesn't stay at Red Roof for luxury, but for those looking for a comfortable, clean, convenient place near the airport, this is a good choice.

Despite being near a busy airport, there is a nice, relatively peaceful area to walk along the Bay just across the road from the hotel.

Nit: Hotels shouldn't charge extra for use of an in-room safe. It's the same nickle-and-dime mentality that contributes to anger at airlines who charge for blankets and plastic food.

Wish: Even a simple exercise room with a treadmill or two and a weight machine would be nice. I know some other Red Roof Inns have this.

Room Tip: The elevator was often slow and we were on the top floor. If you get a room that faces the freeway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The rooms are pleasant. The location is great. The staff, especially Ruben, is what makes this hotel perfect. I will stay again, and recommend to others! The restaurant is excellent and open 24 hours. There is a walking path behind the hotel to get a bit of fresh air.

Room Tip: Room ending in 8-14 have the best wifi connections
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

overall cleaning was pretty good, the beds were comfortable, shower was clean and hot water was running. For the price and comparison to other hotels in the airport area this was a great choice. Hotel staff was also very helpfull and nice. The other plus is that they have a 24 hr dinner, there were not many open places at 1 am on the area.

Most nearby hotels are $60-100 more expensive. This one does the trick for less.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

After reading the numerous positive reviews for this place I was expecting my experience to be a pleasant one. Unfortunately it was the absolute worst experience I've ever had with any hotel before in my life. I'm someone that doesn't make a fuss about much when it comes to traveling. All I ask is for a clean bed, working washroom, and a secure room door that I can lock. To say this place was disgusting would be an understatement. The room smelt like rotting food or mold or something musty and gross. I tried leaving the door open for 3 hours my first morning to air it out but it didn't help at all. The beds were extremely uncomfortable with flat pillows and paper thin covers that left us freezing through the night. The ceiling was cracked and there were roaches and spiders that would fall out of the crack periodically which was especially unnerving because it was directly over one of the beds. The bathroom was also disgusting. The toilet, shower, and sink smelt like raw sewage constantly where I was scared to even brush my teeth with the water so I used bottled water. There was nowhere to park the car on a weeknight because it was full and I literally had to wait in the parking lot for 45 minutes until someone at the other end of where my room was located left. Extremely noisy in the morning from road noise, airplanes, and people due to paper thin walls.

Needless to say I was glad it was only a two night stay so I wasn't going to waste my time complaining because I doubted that any other room would be much better. This place is a dump. It's a motel not a hotel. I wasn't even going to write a review because I don't want to ruin anyone's business and since it's my first visit to California I really didn't have any other hotel to compare it too. Maybe this place is considered decent for the area but it definitely would be considered a dump to any other area I've ever visited.

The reason I feel obligated to post a review however is because this hotel charged my credit card for a full two nights stay after I left. When I checked into this hotel I showed them my receipt that stated that the room was already paid in full, months earlier. I booked and paid my reservation through itravel2000. The front desk acknowledged my reservation, confirmed to me that there were no other charges pending, and took my credit card information to file it in case of incidentals. When I checked out I brought my room keys back, once again confirmed that there was no other charges that I needed to be concerned about, and then left feeling confident that I had nothing else to worry about. After returning home from my trip I viewed my credit card history and noticed that I was over charged for a two night stay on the very day that I checked out of the hotel, the very day that the front desk confirmed to me that my credit card wasn't charged for anything. It's been 3 days since I called the Red Roof Motel and I'm still waiting for someone to get back to me. The person I spoke to over the phone was extremely rude, made it sound like I was a lying about the fact that the hotel knew about my pre-paid reservation and continued to deny that my hotel was pre-paid even though they were able to find my pre-paid reservation immediately upon check in.

So to every person who is considering using this motel and trusts the reviews I would be wary. There is no way on earth that this motel could ever be considered a decent place to stay in anyone's book. STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!! I've even stayed at hostels that were better than this.

Room Tip: Bring nose, ear, and eye plugs. Rooms are smelly, noisy, and hard to look at. Bring your own pillo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI-SFO, General Manager at Red Roof Inn San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the San Francisco Airport Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies for the billing error, please give a call directly and I will personally assist you to resolve all your billing issues.

At Red Roof, we strive to provide every customer with superior service; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I want you to know that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem that occurred during your stay to prevent any future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jack K. - General Manager
Red Roof Inn - San Francisco Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I read the reviews of this motel here on TripAdvisor and thought I was going to get a good value. I was wrong.

This is definitely more motel than hotel. It had the look of a made-over Motel 6. Our room was extremely small (the professional photos are very misleading), and the walls were paper thin. You could hear every little sound, both from outside and from the room next door.

We had just driven 4 hrs. from Reno and arrived here a little after midnight, so we were extremely tired. Unfortunately for us, it took forever to check in (there were just two people in front of us in line). We asked for the quietest room they had, but got the opposite.

When we entered our room, we found dirty towels on the bathroom floor as well as in the sleeping area. In addition, there was a used bar of soap in the shower. Further, the shower curtain rod was partially pulled away from the wall and sagging, which caused the curtain itself to collect in the middle instead of staying closed. Also, there was no hair dryer. [This alone wouldn't be a big deal, but was an additional pain in light of what I've previously noted.]

We went to the desk to complain and we asked for at least a partial refund due to all of this, but we were told that was not possible as we had booked through Expedia. We were offered another room, but as I mentioned, we were dead tired, and we already had brought all our things to the room we had.

When we checked out the next morning, I was going to tell the clerk about our room, but he didn't even bother to ask how our stay was.

We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI-SFO, General Manager at Red Roof Inn San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the San Francisco Airport Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies for the noise, housekeeping and maintenance issues.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Should your travel plan returns you to San Francisco Airport area, please let me know so that I can personally assist you with all your accommodation needs.



Sincerely,
Jack K. - General Manager
Red Roof Inn - San Francisco Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

This is one heck of a deal. Great location, large rooms, microwave, safe, refrigerator, desk, free wifi, the new room design, free airport shuttle and free parking. Even better a Great price. You can't go wrong.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn San Francisco Airport

Address: 777 Airport Boulevard, Burlingame, CA 94010
Location: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Roof Inn San Francisco Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn San Francisco Airport is pet friendly, family friendly and just minutes to the San Francisco International Airport (SFO). Conveniently accessible through BART to all that San Francisco has to offer including the Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf, and downtown San Francisco. When you check into the Red Roof Inn San Francisco, check out the fantastic new amenities in our newly renovated NextGen (R) design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke-Free hotel feature new, comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, new modern design flooring, comfortable new seating and a large, flat-screen TV, in room safes and microwave & refrigerator. This Red Roof also offers free WiFi, room service from 5-10pm, an outdoor seasonal heated pool, business center kiosk, coin laundry, an ATM, a fitness center (located across the street). Bus and Truck parking is subject to availability per contract with our sales office only and Park N Fly rates are available through 1-800-Red-Roof or at the Front Desk. Guest parking is available for $10 a night, no oversized vehicle parking available. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea in the lobby. Leaving early or arriving late we have a 24-hour on site restaurant ready to serve you. One well behaved family pet is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Red Roof Inn San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn San Francisco Airport Hotel Burlingame
Red Roof Inns Burlingame
Red Roof Inn Burlingame

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn San Francisco Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.