We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life is short. Eat dessert first!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto's Bakery & Cafe

Porto's Bakery & Cafe
3614 W Magnolia Blvd, Burbank, CA 91505-2913
818-846-9100
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Bakeries in Burbank
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Bakeries, Delicatessen, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Life is short. Eat dessert first!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We love to go to Porto's for a light supper followed by lots of absolutely amazing desserts! Great sandwiches!
Plantain chips. Beautiful salads!
A whole LONG display case of every imaginable dessert. We always take a box full of them home with us.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    79
    20
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Flavor even better prices!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I have been working in the LA area for a couple of weeks, a rep brought in a Carmel Bunt cake from Porto's Bakery in Burbank. Wow is all I can say! I immediately went after work and was so impressed with this bakery. First from the outside it is beautiful, inside equally as gorgeous. This place is corked, they had someone directing traffic, answering questions. I stood in line with some regulars who raved about Porto's. I left with two cheese desserts, two mini Carmel loafs, and two potato rolls, all of this for under $7- Everything was soooo great! I will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
1 review
“Can I have some more please?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Porto's is a fulfilling whether it is meal time or snack time. My favorite item is the potato balls! You can't go wrong! Empanada's, plantain, cheese rolls...it's all delicious!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Meat pies and potato balls...MMM!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I love Porto's bakery. I've been going to their Glendale location since I was a kid. Their Burbank location is really nice, it's huge with a sit down dining section, and large bakery displays. Parking is always a bit of a challenge no matter when you go. Be prepared to possibly walk a bit. This place runs like a well oiled machine. The line was so long and yet we were in and out in under 11 minutes! Amazing.
I've never had an actual meal here so I cannot comment on that. We go for the meat pies and potato balls, both of which are delicious. I can eat 5 or 6 meat pies in one sitting! The desserts look spectacular, really pretty. They taste good, too. Not the best I've ever had, but good. We really prefer the savory items over the sweet.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cheese Rolls are a must.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

If your fond of breads, pastries, cakes or the likes then you must try Porto's Bakery and Cafe. Their cheese rolls are a must try. Best cheese rolls I've tasted so far. Their other pastries are fantastic as well. Though you need to go there early because people really line up to buy their goods. Tables also get filled quickly as it gets late in the morning until the mid afternoon. We had to go there early to be able to really appreciate the breads and get to dine in.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto's Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Porto's Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto's Bakery & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.