We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Thai Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gindi Thai / Sushi / Bar

Gindi Thai / Sushi / Bar
4017 W Riverside Dr, Burbank, CA 91505-4322
818-567-1221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gindi Thai / Sushi / Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 381 Restaurants in Burbank
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Street Food
Dining style: Casual Dining
New Rochelle, New York
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very Good Thai Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were in the area and TripAdvisor reviewers gave Gindi Thai good grades. Definitely flavorful dishes. I would not say it was the best Thai food we ever had, but for the price and the service, was definitely worth visiting. If we are in the area again, Gindi Thai will have us as customers again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    24
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My friend and I stopped in for dinner. I would definitely not recommend this place! We started our meals with the Spring Roll appetizer, which I would describe as good, not great. I ordered the Pineapple Rice with Chicken, which I would also describe as good, not great. I don’t remember the name of her entrée but it had “broccoli” in the title. When her meal arrived, there were two tiny broccoli florets in the dish. When she asked for more, they offered to sell her a small plate of broccoli for $7.00. How ridiculous!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Good Thai food. Extensive menu.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Lots of options on the menu. Salmon pineapple curry was delicious. Red rice was fantastic. Friendly service but slow to bring check when asked.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the food....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very good food and reasonably priced. Five of us ate there for dinner on a Thursday night in September. All of us got different items from the menu and all thoroughly enjoyed their food. We're from North Carolina but one person in our group that we were visiting lives in Burbank and he recommended the restaurant. I would highly recommend it as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hollywood
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Real Thai & Asian Fusion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

There are so many Thai restaurants in LA that don't serve real Thai food. My theory is that they were formerly Chinese restaurants that switched over to Thai when it became more popular, and in fact lots of them still have chow mein and egg rolls on their menus - a real giveaway that your Thai food experience there will be less than authentic.
Gindi is different. Yes, they serve lots of Asian cuisines, but their Thai food is fresh and with all the bright, acidic and spicy flavors that you expect. For pete's sake if you go there, skip the usual boring pad Thai that everyone always orders, and get the drunken noodles instead - so good! And save room for the mango coconut sticky rice for dessert - it is memorable.
I've taken so many out-of-town visitors to Gindi, and they're always impressed. It's a restaurant worthy of a town on the Pacific Rim.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gindi Thai / Sushi / Bar also viewed

 

Been to Gindi Thai / Sushi / Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gindi Thai / Sushi / Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.