We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Torito Mexican Restaurant

El Torito Mexican Restaurant
4012 Riverside Drive, Burbank, CA 91505
818-848-4501
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #148 of 371 Restaurants in Burbank
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Des Moines, IA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Would Return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We love Mexican food, but are leary of chain Mexican restaurants because we have so many individually family owned Mexican restaurants where we live that can't be beat on food and value.

However, for a chain restaurant, we thought this was very good and we would definately return. It was a little more expensive than some of the locally owned Mexican restaurants, but the servings were large so with the amount of take home we had the price was very reasonable.

Our server was excellent and made it an enjoyable meal. He provided quick, efficient service and was very jovial with us which we enjoyed. The only thing we ever had to ask for was chips & salsa upon our arrival. Other than that, he always asked if we needed anything additional before we did.

Good enough to warrant a return visit from us.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Happy Hour Menu, Slow Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My review title says it all. The bar area, where you can only be served the happy hour menu items, is popular with the after-work crowd and extremely loud. They are very under-staffed causing slow service. The last two times I went there, I sat way too long trying to get the check. Won't return to that location.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Couldn't pay me to go back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have eaten at several El Torito's and have always enjoyed them and were happy to see one so close to the Jay Leno show. Unfortunately, we went in! Service was horrible!!! Hostess finally took our order because the waiter never came by. Another table left when they had finished their drinks and waiter had never even come by and they had appointment. Food was even worse! Ordered the chicken tortilla soup that supposedly was suppose to have chicken, cheese, avocado, etc. When it came it was just water broth with several pieces of zucchini and a few tortilla strips. Not one piece of chicken to be found! Would have told the waiter if he ever came back. My husband's beer came after we were done with our meal and never were offered any refills on chips, salsa, drinks or anything. Both of us got sick after our meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Never have seen a chain Mexican this good !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Okay, so it took 11 months to make it back here from Arizona, but boy was the wait worth it, wish they would reopen a location in Arizona. Such a good place. Missed the awesome lunchtime buffet and ordered from menu. Such good food, such good tacos, such good service, such wonderful Sweet Corn Cakes. Get the extra hot salsa for the chips, costs an extra peso but well worth it. The Flan was excellent as well. Even the iced tea was good here. Very clean place, very popular with people who work in the area. Just an all round great place to eat, highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“American Mexican food with good 4pm service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Enjoyed the food, not too Americanized but good. The guacamole was great and the wait staff was nice and had character. We ate prior to dinner so things were slow and got good service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Torito Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Torito Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Torito Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.