We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gourmet 88

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gourmet 88
230 N San Fernando Blvd, Burbank, CA 91502-1209
(818) 848-8688
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 372 Restaurants in Burbank
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Los Angeles, California, USA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Chinese!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I love this place. The food is amazing, the people are amazing, and the mai tais are even better. The servers are always super friendly and helpful.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Never had to complain; always a great meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This restaurant has been around a very long time, and I can never recall a bad meal or bad service. The food is excellent, and always served fresh & hot. The service is top notch, and you do not have to hunt down your waiter for refills or condiments (like vinegar). Yet, amazingly, we never have to wait to be seated. Gourmet 88 is everything that you would want in a fine Chinese restaurant: tasteful decor, spacious, immediate seating, good service, and EXCELLENT food!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mediocre and EXPENSIVE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

A bit pricey for such run-of-the-mill Chinese food. We ordered 2 beef entrees, rice and egg rolls for a $45 bill. The 3 ingredient taste entree seemed to be mostly limp, overcooked broccoli and the pineapple fried rice was just white rice with bits of veg and a couple chunks of canned pineapple, sans seasoning. We ordered take-out which the website touts a 15% discount for but when we picked up, the young blonde woman at the front desk said she didn't know anything about a discount. Maybe the "B" team was cooking for Saturday night. Give it a pass; there's better Chinese in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food, Friendly, Reasonable prices ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were just walking by and found this restaurant. Clean, friendly wait staff, food was good (not awesome) and the prices were reasonable. We would go back again for likely dependable/consistent Chinese food. Also, they're carry out after 3pm is 15% off.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Good authentic Chinese cuisine at fair prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Seemingly authentic Chinese cuisine although I am not an expert. Enjoy the wide range of dishes such as pork, beef, fishmonger vegetarian and various chicken.

Service ok and fast. Cost is reasonable. Recommend and will return.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet 88 also viewed

 

Been to Gourmet 88? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gourmet 88, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.