We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castaway

Castaway
1250 East Harvard Road, Burbank, CA 91505
(818) 848-6691
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 371 Restaurants in Burbank
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Sunset Canyon Road and Harvard Road
Vallejo, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We went with friends and family. We had cocktails on the patio first and enjoyed the spectacular view. The servers on the patio were very accommodating albeit a bit on the slow side. The drinks were great with a minor glitch of giving one of our party something other than what was ordered.
We moved inside for the dinner. Our waitress was a joy and a charm. The food was delicious and plentiful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    46
    22
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Altadena, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great brunch with a great view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Haven't been here in years, but my friend wanted to go for her birthday so 4 of us went. An amazing spread and only $37! Sat outside with an incredible view of the Valley & could see all the way to Downtown LA. Also, there was no rush as it is a big restaurant. We got there at 11 and left at 2:45, and never felt that we should leave. Many people around us were also there for hours. I noticed a lot of family gatherings & celebrations so really good for a group.

The brunch includes unlimited champagne & orange juice (or mimosas.) SOME of the food included seafood (shrimp, crab legs, tuna poke, California rolls, smoked salmon, etc.) Mexican (chile verde, machaca, chicken, beans, rice, tortillas) Breakfast (omelette station, Eggs Benedict, bacon, waffles, croissants, sweet rolls) Salads (Greek, Caesar, orzo, pasta, Waldorf, fruit) Kids Section (mac & cheese, tater tots, chicken fingers) Lunch (chicken, beef, cooked veges, potatoes) and carved meats (beef, turkey & lamb) and a pasta station. Plus, a whole room of desserts!

I will definitely be going back again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Special Occasion Venue (wedding, birthday etc)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

BRUNCH REVIEW

$28.95 Sunday Brunch (9am-10am) If you go before 10am, the price is cheaper.

SUNDAY Brunch is more expensive than Saturday because they have more kinds of food. On Sundays they have someone making Bananas Foster for dessert and someone grilling outside.

DRESS CODE: "Smart Casual" I'll let you figure out what that means.

Reservation at 9:30am through Open Table.
They have complimentary valet parking and "recommended" tip is $3.50.
We checked in with the hostess and were seated right away by the window.

RESERVATIONS are HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for brunch. Sometimes it's an hour+ wait! On Sundays, the restaurant has said that are limiting the use of the rooms for private parties because they get so busy they want to use the rooms for the regular guests.

BUFFET: I've been to so many brunch buffets lately and hands down, I think The Castaway in Burbank has the most VARIETY to chose from. Others are much smaller in comparison. Starting at 10:00am they have someone outside cooking on the grill. Today he was making gourmet burgers and beef kabobs with yogurt sauce.

Some stand out items are the Fried French Toast, BBQ Beef Brisket, grilled Beef Kabobs, and S'Mores cupcake. My husband somehow dipped his entire slice of Red Velvet cake in the chocolate fountain....*smh*

If you have a Specialty Restaurants Corporation (SRC) Loyalty Card, Castaway is part of them, so you can rack up some points. If you don't have a SRC card, you can ask your server to sign up!

** PRIVATE PARTIES - great venue to host them at! I had my birthday party here in the Lagoon Room and had my guests partake in the buffet and the room was absolutely beautiful. They threw in linens, chair covers, a dedicated waiter, and champagne & mimosas!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pico Rivera, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good food, great view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Went here to spend a late Valentine's Day celebration, we had been here before to attend a wedding and noticed the excellent view from the Burbank hills and wanted to try the restaurant. No disappointment on our part, the food is not the best but it's tasty and we obviously loved the view, my wife loved her food and drinks are not spectacular but are different from other places. The atmosphere is nice and quiet, laid back. Our waitress was sensational and very helpful when we had questions. Prices are quite high but are reasonable since again I mention the view, we would go back again if the opportunity arises.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view, food should be better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This place would be a GEM if only the food were better. I wouldn't even mind the prices if the food was worth it. But it's a great place to go for drinks on the patio, which overlooks the valley. It's okay if your hopes aren't up... go for a foo-foo sandwich and fries, and you'll be fine.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castaway also viewed

 

Been to Castaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.