We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hollywood experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Safari Inn to your Saves list
Safari Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1911 West Olive Avenue, Burbank, CA 91506   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Burbank
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hollywood experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family (2 kids under ten) and I were looking for a hotel somewhere within a short distance to the LA/Hollywood attractions and at a reasonable price. Read about this hotel on a Hollywood Movie Location blog and took a gamble. It's been used in lots of TV shows (Partridge Family to Prison Break) and a few movies (True Romance and Apollo 13). For me, that was a big attraction.

But was the accomodation okay? Well, we found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and efficient. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially with organising tours. We even used the pool and the patio. I particulalry enjoyed the 50s/60s feel. The Burbank area felt safe and accessible.

Room Tip: The reception has a list of many reasonable restaurants in the immediate area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariInn818, Front Office Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments! It's wonderful to know that you and your family felt at home during your stay. The happiness of our guests is priority from the moment they step foot onto our property. Our staff is trained in a manner to ensure every guest is assisted with the utmost care. The priority is to provide a safe, clean and comfortable environment for guests to enjoy. Thank you once more for your feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    96
    47
    16
    22
See reviews for
89
60
29
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We booked through Expedia but when we got to the Safari Inn, they didn't have a room with a king bed which I had asked for. They were able to switch us after two nights there. The rooms smelled smoky even though they were non smoking and the Internet barely worked, even after calling repeatedly to reset their router downstairs.
With the price they charge, I would expect nicer and cleaner rooms.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariInn818, Front Office Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We'd like to apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay, Unfortunately when you book through Expedia or any other site other than our own, the room type is not guaranteed. We do our best to accommodate the requests of each and every guest as our goal is to satisfy their needs. Cleanliness and comfort are a top priority for us and we pride ourselves on ensuring every part of our hotel maintains this. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We hope you will provide us with another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STROUDSBURG
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I feared the rooms would be shabby because the exterior still has its original 50's look, but it can be used as a movie set since Warner Brothers Studio is a few blocks away. The inn was excellent and the adjacent hotel served a delicious meal from its varied menu. I went on a Warner Brothers Studio tour which made this quite convenient.

Room Tip: There is light street traffic after dark and I heard no noise so any room should be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariInn818, Front Office Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your remarks. We do our best to make certain every guest is happy with their stay at our hotel. The priority is to provide a clean and comfortable environment with superior service to ensure every guest feels at home. We hope you enjoyed the WB tour and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were very happy with Safari Inn. Only a few minutes from our destination, Universal Studios, we saved quite a bit of money by staying here (which was immediately consumed at the park). Very clean rooms and a great helpful staff. LOVED the full size shampoo and body soap dispensers in the showers instead of tiny, tiny bottles that create waste.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariInn818, Front Office Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and especially the dispensers in the shower. We are doing our best to become as eco-friendly as possible to assist in maintaining the environment. Our priority is the happiness of our guests from the moment they check-in until their departure. Thank you once more for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Good Place to stay if you are going to the Leno show. Very close....A short walk to the studio or if you are feeling lazy you can take the car Nice friendly staff clean rooms and comfortable beds. the television was not connected, but service man came quickly adn fixed the problem. The room was very quiet. That's what we Europeans like.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariInn818, Front Office Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and apologize for the issue with the television. It is our goal to exceed guests expectations and ensure they have a memorable stay. We are currently working on the speed and connectivity of our Wi-Fi as well. Thank you once more for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This place is quite adorable, in a great location, away from hustle and bustle. Mary Ann at the front desk was super nice and helpful, Luke at the Olive's Bistro restaurant next door (part of the sister hotel) was also very helpful in getting us something to eat, even though it was near closing time. I wish we would have had more time to stay here. The room was really cute and clean. Got a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariInn818, Front Office Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback! We're happy to hear our staff was able to make your trip a memorable one. We do our best to make sure every guest is satisfied with their stay and enjoys all aspects of it. We hope on your next visit you will have more time to spend with us. Thank you once more for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay. The room was clean, large with a very comfy bed. Actually quite quiet considering main road location. Excellent value for price and would highly recommend it. Only downside is we love our coffee, a drip machine (terrific) is provided but they only leave powdered milk sachets (yuk). As there is a frig (bonus) fresh milk would make it perfect. No breakfast but if desperate McDonalds about 100m away and a chemist if needed. There are some terrific restaurants about a mile away on San Fernando Blvd. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Our room 230 was upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariInn818, Front Office Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We appreciate guest feedback as we're always looking for ways to improve. Our priority is to provide an environment that is clean and comfortable but also ensure they receive exceptional service. In regards to the comment about the milk packets, we will certainly look into that. We'd also like to inform you that our sister property next door, The Coast Anabelle Hotel has a restaurant that is open to guests at the Safari Inn. We thank you once more for your comments and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Safari Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Inn

Address: 1911 West Olive Avenue, Burbank, CA 91506
Location: United States > California > Burbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Burbank
#3 Green Hotel in Burbank
#7 Family Hotel in Burbank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Safari Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Safari Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Hotel Burbank
Safari Inn Burbank

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.