We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Safari Inn to your Saves list
Safari Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1911 West Olive Avenue, Burbank, CA 91506   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Burbank
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tustin, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quiet area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

This is a boutique motel, if there is such a thing. It's 2 level, with a pool and an upstairs terrace overlooking the property. It's not in a tourist-y location, so everywhere you'd want to go is a drive. Rooms are decent size but outdated. The TVs are not flat screens and don't expect anything else for the tech savvy. It does have a larger than mini fridge, which is nice if you're staying more than one day, and comes with (again, old school) coffee maker. It's a motor lodge that's close to NBC, Disney Company and WB - that's about it. It could be a cool little stay spot if they'd just fix up the rooms a bit.

Room Tip: I would pick an upstairs room just to cut down on noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariInn818, Front Office Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for youre feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your expereince. Since your last visit we have remodeled our rooms with new safari themed bedding, a gorgeous red chair and a 32" flat screen TV. We hope that you will provide us with another opportunity to show you the changes we've made. Thank you once more for your comments. We hope you will stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    101
    50
    16
    22
See reviews for
101
64
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I stayed here with my husband, my sister, & my dog. We chose the hotel because it was a pet-friendly hotel with good reviews & was cheaper than many of the other hotels in the area that we were considering. The hotel is right by the NBC & WB studios. The room wasn't very fancy, but it was nice & had everything we needed (I always make sure to get a fridge & microwave in our room when we travel). It also seemed very clean. One day I even saw the maids mopping the cement walkway in front of the rooms. My sister used the pool & the water was very clear. There is a nice grassy area to walk your dog on the side street of the hotel. It is not right outside your door, but not a far walk. We really liked the area of Burbank around the hotel, it was still close to everything, but much less busy than if we had stayed in L.A. I felt safe taking my dog out alone. My husband & I are going back to L.A. in March & will most likely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariInn818, Front Office Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks! It's truly wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us. Our priority is to always provide clean and comfortable guest rooms as well as excellent service that will meet and exceed a guests expectations. Our location is one of the best as we are centrally located to most attractions and conveinences. Please let us know when you plan on visiting with us again as we offer complimentary shuttle service to and from Burbank Airport. We look forward to your next visit and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Good location at a reasonable price. We've stayed a number of times with better than average results; however, this time the room I had was in need of repair--lights, bathroom and closet door. This room unfortunately had closet in bathroom. Bed and pillows very hard. No more free breakfast. The pool is still lovely.

Room Tip: rooms away from the office are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I stayed at the Safari Inn in Burbank in December, 2011. The location is good if you're spending time in the Valley, or have business at the local studios. This is basically a standard motor lodge. The room was fairly clean, if a bit stuffy, and the bed was not particularly comfortable. Standard bathroom, standard lighting, standard amenities. There was nothing exceptional about the place, which is where I have a problem. I wouldn't call it a good value, since I paid about $120 for the room (much more than a comparable hotel, I believe), and this was a "discount" from the usual rate. I expected a bit more.

I'd classify this place as a missed opportunity. When you drive up to the Safari Inn, you'll see a really cool vintage sign, (see the picture I included with this review) wonderfully harking back to the days of "themed" motels (like the ones that used to exist around Disneyland). If the motel would simply embrace the nostalgia and the kitschiness of that sign, it would be a fantastic little place to stay. Instead, the chain owners have gentrified it so that it looks like any other motor inn. Why not decorate the rooms in vintage "safari" style from the 1940's or 1950's? With its location so close to the Hollywood studios, why not put pictures from "Tarzan" movies on the wall? Instead, the rooms look dated and drab.

I probably shouldn't review this hotel for what it isn't, but it's hard not to when I feel that it could be really cool, if someone would use a little imagination. The pool is really cute, and you get a great view of the cool sign I mentioned, but the weather was too cold to enjoy this time. It's not a bad place to stay. Just standard. If that's what you want, that's what you'll get. But don't let the sign fool you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolf Lake, Québec CANADA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I spent 10 nights here at the Safari Inn in September 2011... an awesome place. Clean, safe, quiet, friendly, the staff is just fantastic. The price is right, I give this place five stars.
Close to many of the great attractions of Los Angeles, Hollywood, etc.
With the small fridge, and the near by CVS you can have handy items in your room like muffins, milk for your coffee and a drink or two.
I felt at home, didn't want to leave. The pool is nice, and nearby restaurant if awesome, everyone mde me feel so welcome.
I arranged for a city tour, picked up and dropped off at the hotel by shuttle - fantastic service. Shuttle to airport great... all in all a very pleasant stay.
I will return again, and soon.

Room Tip: Any room is great, with the elevator all rooms are accessible.. I stayed in a second floor room cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Not very happy that there was a barking dog in the next room. Liked that there was a large shampoo in the bath on the wall. Clean. Plenty of places to eat near by. Alright for a couple nights. Again good start studios nearby.

Room Tip: Nothing to add. If you make alot of money stay someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Wow, where to start, the front desk woman was either challenged in some sort of brain trauma way or on drugs, I HONESLY felt like I was on some type of hidden camera show. What is wrong with this woman? The room was adequate, but smelled horrible, a combination of heavy smoke with highly toxic cleaning products, gave me a terrible headache. I complained to the hidden camera woman but was told in slurred speach over and over again "dass all the rooms we got." Is there a "YUCK" button on this website? Pass on this hotel, there are too many great hotels nearby.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel if you want a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Safari Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Inn

Address: 1911 West Olive Avenue, Burbank, CA 91506
Location: United States > California > Burbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Burbank
#4 Green Hotel in Burbank
#5 Family Hotel in Burbank
#7 Romantic Hotel in Burbank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Safari Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Safari Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Hotel Burbank
Safari Inn Burbank

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.