We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAYED LAST WEEK” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amarano Burbank

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amarano Burbank to your Saves list
Hotel Amarano Burbank
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   322 North Pass Avenue, Burbank, CA 91505 (Formerly The Graciela Burbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tailgate to the Playoffs!
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Burbank
Parksville, Canada
1 review
“STAYED LAST WEEK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Loved this hotel , great staff ,great service,very nice manager who recommended a great restaurant. Loved the pool. they got me into my hotel room early . They let me check out late.what more can i say loved this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twhelan, General Manager at Hotel Amarano Burbank, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time out to let us know how much you enjoyed Hotel Amarano. We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,

Tom Whelan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    150
    59
    24
    16
See reviews for
124
127
27
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here over night on a Saturday in June and was very pleased. Very cute hotel. Rooms are very clean and spacious. We had a room right over the pool. The pool is small but cozy. They said it was heated but didn't feel like it. Pool service was great and attentive. There are plenty of restaurants around the area and even a shopping center across the street.

Overall... a very relaxing spot.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twhelan, General Manager at Hotel Amarano Burbank, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
It was nice to hear how much you enjoyed yours stay. I have passed your comments on to our staff and we all have to agree, the Hotel Amarano is a great boutique hotel, centrally located in the media capital of the world.

Thank you for taking time out to post a review.

Sincerely,

Tom Whelan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights the weekend of my wedding. The entire staff was extremely accommodating and friendly. It is conveniently located across the street from a plaza with a Vons and plenty of places to eat. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twhelan, General Manager at Hotel Amarano Burbank, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and we are delighted that you chose the Hotel Amarano to spend your wedding weekend. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel and that you would be more than happy to recommend Hotel Amarano to your family and friends.

Thank you again and Congratulations on your wedding.

Sincerely,

Tom Whelan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed here four nights; first half for business, second half for pleasure. First off, this is not a four star hotel. Three at best. Luxury (a highly over used word in the hospitality industry) is in the details. Meaning the pillows (old, too soft and misshapen and when the covers were removed, clearly old and worn); bath towels (thin and thread bare and cheap quality), bedding and sheets, old and of minimal quality. Decor was a bit dated in my opinion. Good quality lighting made the room look better at night.

On the plus side, the room had a small kitchenette complete with stove top and microwave (turntable did not work though) frig and limited plates and utensils. Super friendly staff and generally knowledgeable, though one person was unaware of the Getty Villa and only knew about the Getty Center.

As other reviewers have noted, the overnight valet parking is a total rip off at $33! Follow the advice of the employees and use it only during the day, but don't park your car overnight when they do the sweep of the garage. There is plenty of parking on the street in the immediate neighborhood. On each night I always found a spot easily on the Maple street just behind the hotel. From what I could tell that parking is unrestricted and very safe. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was very good, though way over priced at $28 for a egg white omelette, yogurt, fruit, toast and coffee.

Pool and patio was pleasant and well positioned for sun throughout the day, but because there were a lot of families with children, don't expect a quiet and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twhelan, General Manager at Hotel Amarano Burbank, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for taking time out to post a review and our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. I have addressed your concerns with our housekeeping staff and they are also truly sorry that you did not experience the superior service and guest satisfaction that so many of our guests are accustomed to. We ask that you give us another opportunity and I'd be more than happy to assist you on your reservation. I can be contacted at 818-260-4750.

Sincerely,

Tom Whelan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at Hotel Amarano and really enjoyed it. The staff was very friendly, especially the bartenders. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. We didn't have time to enjoy the pool but it looked nice. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twhelan, General Manager at Hotel Amarano Burbank, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We are glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you would stay with us again on your next trip to LA. It is always nice when someone takes time out of their busy schedule to let everyone know how much they enjoyed our hotel.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Tom Whelan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I recently stayed here for two nights while on business. I travel to Burbank frequently and decided to give this hotel a shot. Arrival, valet parking and check-in were smooth. The staff was friendly, fast and efficient. My first room had air conditioning issues (room temp was 77 and thermostat was set to 70). Maintenance was prompt to the room and determined they could not fix so I was relocated. No big deal here - there was an issue out of their control and they corrected it. The next morning, I was told by the valet that unless I just wanted to retrieve my car and drive to the Disney Studios for my meeting, I could rely on their shuttle service. I mistakenly agreed. Getting to the studio was smooth and uneventful. Trying to get back to the hotel was not. I called the hotel and was told by the person answering the phone I would have to speak to valet so she transferred me. No one ever answered. Finally, she came back on and said the valet team was busy and could they call me back? I gave her my cell and waited for 15 minutes with no call back. I call the hotel again and am told this time that driver was on his way and they were sorry no one called me back. 15 minutes later with no driver, I called the hotel again and was advised they had picked up a female at the Studios but would try to catch the driver so I could squeeze in with them. A woman came on the line and told me that the shuttle was unavailable now and to just grab a taxi and they would pay the bill when I arrived at the hotel. I called two taxi companies who wanted the exact street address, not cross-streets, but street number and name where I was to be picked up and street number and name of street where I was going - not the hotel name. I didn't have that information. I call the hotel back asking if they could give me the street address. The lady who answered was no help whatsoever. Told me to ask someone at the Studios. I tell her to forget it, I'd just walk. Get a call from the driver about half way back to the hotel asking where I wanted to be picked up - advised him I had already walked this far, I'd just finish the walk. Out of every person I spoke to, the driver was the only one who apologized. The hotel really should not advertise their shuttle as a hotel perk. It is too unreliable. As far as the room goes, the furnishings were nice, the bed was comfortable, the room was clean. The location was nice. I did not like having the industrial size bottles of shampoo, soap, etc. that are used by every guest that stays in the room - seems a little unsanitary to me. I've never seen this at any other hotel. The linens in the bathroom were a bit thread bare and a couple of pieces were discolored. The ironing board cover was full of holes and covered in stains. I was afraid to use the ironing board for fear of ruining my clothes so I took everything I needed pressed to Milt and Edie's on the corner right up from the hotel. I didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment on the food. Overall, it was an OK stay. However, I probably won't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twhelan, General Manager at Hotel Amarano Burbank, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time out to post a review and I want to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience during your stay.

Our shuttle service drives within a 3-mile radius of the hotel has always been a service that our guests enjoy and take advantage of. Unfortunately, on that particular day, we did not deliver. I have addressed this issue with our bell staff and reviewed our procedures and communication so that this does not happen again to one of our guests in the future. I also addressed your housekeeping concerns with our Executive Housekeeper.

The Hotel Amarano prides itself on superior service and guest satisfaction and again, I want to express my sincere apology for not meeting your expectation. I would also ask that you give us another opportunity when traveling again to the L.A. area and I would be more than happy to assist you with your reservation. I can be contacted at 818-260-4750.

Sincerely,

Tom Whelan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ANGELES
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Just loved this hotel and had a two night stay. Everything you need, lovely pool and bar and shopping just across the road. I was there on business but I will be back. Staff great and Duty Manager was lovely and helpful. Rooms were lovely and fresh feeling.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twhelan, General Manager at Hotel Amarano Burbank, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
It is always great to hear when you're given a rating of "excellent" that lets us know that we have delivered superior service and guest satisfaction. Your comments are very much appreciated and we would like to thank you for taking time out to let us know.

Sincerely,


Tom Whelan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amarano Burbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amarano Burbank

Address: 322 North Pass Avenue, Burbank, CA 91505 (Formerly The Graciela Burbank)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Burbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Burbank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amarano Burbank 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amarano Burbank is the only luxury boutique hotel in Burbank, California. We welcome our guests with personalized service, elegant room and suite accommodations, and an intimate atmosphere.With only 100 rooms and suites at our boutique Burbank hotel, we provide individualized attention to our guests and their unique needs. Because we are a "home away from home" for so many of our guests, many of our accommodations have full kitchenettes and walk in closets. Spacious and stylishly designed, our uniquely crafted Burbank hideaway seamlessly blends upscale tranquility with affordable luxury. Our accommodations in Burbank are perfect for business, leisure or long term stays in Los Angeles, Hollywood and the Media District.Our luxury Burbank hotel is located in the heart of the entertainment capital of the world, around the corner from Warner Bros. Studios, one mile from Universal Studios, and only minutes away from NBC Studios and The Tonight Show with Jay Leno. Hotel Amarano is also convenient to all other media centers and studios including Paramount Pictures, ABC Studios, DreamWorks Animation Studios, Capitol Records and Turner Broadcasting along with Hollywood Bowl, Pantages Theater and Hollywood Blvd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Amarano Burbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amarano Burbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.