We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serving good food since 1946” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Smokehouse

The Smokehouse
4420 Lakeside Drive, Burbank, CA 91505
8188453731
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Smokehouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 371 Restaurants in Burbank
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Barham
Description: Are you looking for a casual, family-style restaurant with a friendly star-studded atmosphere? Look no further than SMOKEHOUSE RESTAURANT. While you're here, you can enjoy dining at its best, as well as being treated like a star. You will love our American and Continental Cuisine that includes prime rib, aged steaks, rack of lamb, BBQ ribs, fresh seafood, daily chef specials and many more. We also offer an award winning Sunday brunch that includes a carving station, fresh seafood and salad station, dessert station, pasta station and much more.
North Hills
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Serving good food since 1946”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Brought a group of ten in for dinner on Sat. night. I didn't much care for the seating arrangements, which consisted of a booth, a four-top and a round table, all pushed together. Our server got hit with several large parties all at once, so it took a while to get our cocktails. It also took a while to place our orders. Fortunately, we did get several orders of the best garlic-cheese bread in town to keep us going. We ordered all kinds of entrees including prime rib, rack of lamb, ribeye steaks, and several other good things. The four desserts were large enough to share with all ten of us. Everyone enjoyed the evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    51
    26
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Balboa Island, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Restaurant has probably needed a complete makeover for years.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This restaurant does not appear to have been properly maintained in years. Dingy (I wondered if there was mold somewhere...) I made a reservation for 8 at 5:45 a week ahead of time and arrived on time to find my party seated at an improvised seating arrangement (a booth combined with a round table) and, to make matters worse, next to a server station. I don't understand why they did not have a more appropriate seating arrangement for 8 since the restaurant was not even crowded. Service was not rushed, which was fine. I ordered a steak on top of an arugula salad (steak medium rare), but it looked rare and 3 1/2 hours later I had cramps with the accompanying inevitable intestinal distress. $4.50 for parking (plus a tip for the valet).

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Below Average food and not famous cheesebread”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were out on a weekend trip and a friend of ours suggested we give the Smokehouse a try. Wish we would have not listened and tried somewhere else. Service was ok, the decor is definately old time Hollywood which was kind of neat. The food was average at best. Now the world famous garlic cheesebread was disgusting. I am not sure what it was topped with but it was some sort of powdered cheese that tasted like a popcorn topping. It was all I could do to choke one piece down. Definately will skip it next time we are in town.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
513 reviews 513 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
“Dingy place and crappy food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Maybe 2.5 but not worthy of 3. This place is living on it's laurels as being a rat-pack type place with 40's/50's charm- that old school Hollywood feel. Well, I surely do not think Sammy Davis and Sinatra would come in here if it looked like this. In order to maintain charm, you have to maintain something called cleanliness and dinginess. Otherwise the "charm" is missing.

This is a place that should be on Restaurant Impossible or Kitchen Nightmares...it's that badly in shape (and the food isn't very good either, to say the least).

As you walk in, there's a semi-private room to the left. It looks so sad and broken down and out of date. It looks like a back room at an underground casino (@ least in the movies). And not one of the fancy kind either. Or a cabin and a kids summer camp with chairs that need to be replaced.

The restaurant area is super dingy and outdated. The chairs are in disrepair and look like they are remnants of the original restaurant from the 1940's. Nothing wrong with a little period style but you gotta clean and update things over time. The carpet is gross and the place is uninviting.

The staff are the bright spot at this place. They are quite friendly. The band was passable. The food however, is not their strong point. I had the sliders. You would think at a restaurant that probably prides itself on its meat it would be great. Hamburgers were flavorless and the buns were terrible. They seemed like they were steamed into mush and they tasted old. The fries looked like they came from the Sysco truck, which they probably did, and were cold. I would be embarrassed if I was the owner of this restaurant to serve this proudly, particularly if the food was supposed to be a showcase of how good they are with meat.

Anyways, this is not a place to come to unless you are forced to or the restaurant completely renovates everything from top to bottom. It seems like they must have tired management that doesn't know what to do. Hardly anyone comments on Yelp! saying they have good food-that should be the cornerstone of any 1/2way decent restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Country, California
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Celebrity Watch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very comfy restaurant with a great atmosphere. A favorite of a lot of celebs to visit. An excellent menu with alot to choose from. Very professional waiter and was not rushed as said by some reviewers. Place felt like if the walls could talk there was in deed a lot of history in this dwelling. We timed our meal so that we could get a seat later in the bar section and listen and dance to a band we know. Again our food was good and a good selection and I loved the low lighting atmosphere and finishing our night in the bar section.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to The Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.