We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing local Italian restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CiaoCristina!

CiaoCristina!
4201 W. Olive Ave., Burbank, CA 91505
8185632426
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 338 Restaurants in Burbank
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Italian, Organic, Pizza & Pasta, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Description: An Italian / European atmosphere Bar and Restaurant in the heart of the Burbank Media District. We feature Authentic Northern Italian cuisine including many Vegan and Gluten-Free specialties.We have a full bar with a large selection of fairly priced wines and an extensive selection of Craft Beer with 22 styles on tap. Located on the corner of Toluca Lake Ave and West Olive Ave. directly across from Warner Brothers Studios Gate 2 and The Ellen Show Studio. Free parking on the street as well as the 2 lots behind the restaurant.
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing local Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I was out in LA for some business and one of my customer's suggested that I try this place out. He told me that the service isn't great but the food is worth it.
Well, he was 50% right.
First of all the food was amazing. I ended up visiting twice one day having a Stromboli and the other visit was the eggplant parm. Both were amazing.
The service, was also great. Both waiters I had were very nice guys and exceeded my expectations.
The beer selection is also great.
Check this place out for sure.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan O, Owner at CiaoCristina!, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Caro Jeremy.

Mille Grazie! How nice of you to visit us and then write such a nice review.

Next time you speak with your friend please tell him that we did in fact have some service problems, but I hope they have been resolved. If he has any more problems please have him contact me directly at admin@ciaocristina.com

Hope to see you again on your next visit.

Ciao,
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    14
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Olney, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprise Hit of the LA Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

As part of our five year anniversary trip, my wife and I had tickets to see Conan and needed a good lunch place (that catered to food allergies) while we killed time. What we found in CiaoCristina! was possibly the biggest surprise of our trip - a fantastic Italian restaurant literally across the street from Warner Brothers Studios that gave us a lot more than we expected.

Admittedly, it's easy to miss CiaoCristina!. It took several passes before finally finding the restaurant. Once we were inside, however, we were taken in by its unassuming charm and friendly, prompt service. My wife's gluten and dairy allergies, normally a sticking point in less expensive Italian restaurants, was not at all an issue at CiaoCristina!. They offered gluten and dairy free pizza and pasta. She got the gluten free pasta in a tomato/pesto sauce and declared it to be the BEST gluten free pasta dish she has ever had. I myself quite enjoyed my whole wheat 10" pizza. Topping the experience off was the friendly and fantastic service provided by Bobby, our waiter. He took great care of us, gave us tips for surviving the traffic (that came in handy later) and made sure we were on our way in plenty of time to make it back for the taping.

How much did we enjoy our trip to CiaoCristina!? A few days later, we made a separate trip back with my parents (along for the trip) so that we could share our wonderful find with them. The food was universally agreed to be wonderful (my gnocchi bolognese was particularly excellent). There was a small hiccup in service that was immediately and forcefully rectified by the very adept waitstaff. We even took some tasty gelato back to our room with us to cap off a very satisfying meal. Everyone left impressed, happy, and (most importantly) well fed.

Thank you to CiaoCristina! for absolutely wowing us, making a very special trip just that much more special.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan O, Owner at CiaoCristina!, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Caro Andrew,

WOW! what a nice review that you wrote. We are so pleased that you had such a nice time at our restaurant. We actually have many of the Conan crew as regulars so you may have been sitting next to a writer!!

I myself am Gluten-Intolerant so I know what its like when traveling.

Bobby has just been promoted and he does a fantastic job in welcoming and caring for our guests and I will definitely pass this review on to him. Hope to see you again soon.

Mille Grazie!
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great service and great food. Will definitely go back! So many items to choose from on the menu. And a pretty good wine list although I don't understand why they don't have wines from Santa Cristina.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan O, Owner at CiaoCristina!, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Caro Chuuub,

How nice of you to visit us and then write such a nice review. I will pass this on to our staff who work very hard to bring the Italian Experiece to Burbank.

As to the Santa Cristina.....we have it but ran out and when my dear husband went to the warehouse to get the wine he forgot it!! It is back and we are also adding a Santa Cristina Vin Santo on our next list.

Mille Grazie,
(Santa) Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Such a great surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just wonderful Italian food in a small pizza like parlor. The burrata insalta was so good! I highly recommend this little place

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan O, Owner at CiaoCristina!, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Cara Jill,

Thank you for visiting us and for writing such a nice review.

I hope you will visit us again the next time you are in Toluca Lake/Burbank/LA

Ciao,
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Calling all Italian Foodies !!!! A must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I just fell in love with this restaurant from entering to leaving. Great Staff, Servers, Food and desserts ( Gelato is to die for)..The menu and food is outstanding, and wine. Went twice in a row for dinner, couldn't think of a better place to dine. We stayed 2 blocks away at The Tangerine Hotel, we did not have a car , perfect waling distance. I would of walked 500 miles to this place !! Right across from Warner Bros where Ellen is filmed. The Gelato is home made and the flavors are better than any Gelato I had in Italy. The pumpkin and Fig flavors were unbelievable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan O, Owner at CiaoCristina!, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Cara Maria,

Mille Grazie! How nice of you to write such a nice review. I will be passing this on to our staff who work so very hard to give you our Venetian Experience.

Our Gelato is hand made by our friend Alessandro who, like me, comes from the Veneto and is why it is just like in Italy.

Hope to see you again next time you are at Warner Bros., Universal or Disney.

Ciao,
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CiaoCristina! also viewed

 

Been to CiaoCristina!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CiaoCristina!, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.