We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tangerine Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tangerine Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Tangerine Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3901 W Riverside Drive, Burbank, CA 91505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Burbank
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We decided to stay here because the hotel is close to the Studios. We were not disappointed.
The rooms were comfortable and the staff is excellent. So helpful and very friendly. The rooms were clean and very quiet. Great place and we would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    112
    19
    6
    1
See reviews for
98
99
25
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This clean, friendly hotel is within walking distance to Warner's Studio. Staff is friendly and very helpful. Several good restaurants are close by. Perfect place to stay for our girls trip to see Ellen.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was the second time I stay at the Tangerine and the experience was amazing again. The people that work here are very friendly and helpful. This past time my reservation through Southwest did not go through, but they were still able to accomodate me for the night and the next day they were kind to let me know there was a cancellation and that I could stay the rest of the weekend. Every morning they have pasteries from Porto's Bakery and delicious coffee/hot chocolate maker. The room is beautiful and clean. This place is also in the perfect location. I love this hotel!

Room Tip: book directly on their site, I booked through Southwest and didnt realize the reservation did not go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel during her term break from university. I originally chose the property because it appeared to be in a quiet neighborhood and was close to Warner Bros. Studio. I was not disappointed. The hotel is a renovated (several times, I suspect) 50's style motor lodge. The room we got was great with two double beds and a dresser. The hotel staff did an excellent job of keeping our room made up, and the front desk person was most helpful. The best ammenity, however, was the round-the-clock coffee/latte/capachino machine in the lobby.

The area around the hotel is great, with lots of restaurants within walking distance. However, you need to be aware of the fact that the Warner Bros. employees all tend to take lunch from 12:00 to 1:00, and the restaurants tend to get a little crowded at that time. Warner Bros. was a short walk down Riverside Drive, and I highly recommend the studio tour there.

While we were there it was a little chilly for using the pool, but it certainly looked inviting!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The location is excellent. Close to everything and easy to hop on the freeway but the neighborhood is quiet (as opposed to staying right in Hollywood). Plenty of restaurants and coffee shops and the classic Bob's Big Boy is right around the corner. I love the idea they've renovated a roadside motel with simple, clean and functional necessities. I'm not big on the "extras" places add so they can charge you more like workout rooms and such. I also hate "boutique" or trendy hotels. Just so you know where I'm coming from.

PROS:
- great location, parking is tight but in the 3 times we've stayed there we always found a spot in the back.
- super friendly staff. On our last trip our car broke down and we had to extend an extra day plus store a truck's worth of boxes while the car was getting repaired. They were very helpful and kept our belongings safe. Taking a lot of stress out of this unexpected event.
- Clean, simple, functional rooms with comfy beds. I like that they don't have carpet but rather polished hard floors. Hotel/motel carpet always creeps me out.
- Refrigerators in all the rooms
- rooms are a good size. We always stay in the king and they've all had a table with two chairs which is great.
- euro style industrial coffee machine in the lobby makes great late night hot chocolate and is a very welcoming sight after a long day driving down to los angeles.
- price is right

the negatives;
- a little heavy on the air fresher smell. While it is more the W style than the Motel 6 variety so it's not unbearable it's still applied with quite a heavy hand.
- no in room safe. In a world of iPads, iPods, laptops, and such having a secure spot to stash the goodies while out and about would be a great addition. especially because it is open walkways and there's no secure parking.
- sometimes they forget to give you the wifi log in information. Would be nice if they just had instructions in the room or at least a note that you said have to ask the front desk.

I might not recommend this if you are on a work trip and have to rely on solid wi-fi or working from your room. I didn't use my laptop but it seemed a bit spotty via my iPad.

Overall this is the best place if you need a simple, clean, safe, comfortable no frills place to stay while doing mostly out and about activities in the city and aren't looking for fancy perks or trendy hipster action.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury manchester
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

we stayed here the first 2 days of our trip to california last month, and were so surprised and the room, it was stunning with beautiful art, everwhere, exceptionally clean and great facilities even a pool!

The location is good if you are planning on hiring a car and visiting the sites, although it did state somewhere universal was 0.3 miles away, this is untrue you definately will need a car to get anywhere from here, as with most places you stay around LA. The only gripe we had was when we asked where they recommend for food, the reception told us the mexican next door. AS it was late, we went, and ended up paying the most for a meal that was not so good we paid during our whole trip to california, 98 dollars for 2 mains 2 starters and a drink.. not their fault but our own and I suppose a matter of taste. Would definately stay here again if ever in the area. The pastries in the morning were so nice also and the coffee!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

When booking hotels I never look for great luxury, I just need a place to sleep and wash and there to be somewhere good to eat near by. Before booking I read almost every review on trip advisor and Tangerine surpassed my expectations. The room was clean and spacious enough for me and my boyfriend to lug our cases around the side of the beds and the staff were very welcoming.
Pros- a few decent places to eat near by including Bob's big boy- an original 50's diner with a great friendly, homely atmosphere and huge portions. Also a gas station for snacks which is not your average scummy London BP station. ( get the humours strawberry shortcake Popsicle and you will thank me )
- very close to Universal studios which also has city walk which is open to even non ticket holders- it's not huge but it has a few fast food places, a couple of shops and a massive AMC cinema.
- Very close to the Warner Bros studios- if you get a chance to do the VIP tour it's so worth it, I had such a good time.
- easy travel into Burbank town centre which is small but has places to eat and a few decent stores like skate shops and a bath and body works.
- easy travel into Hollywood, the 222 from down the road stops right by the Boulevard.
- staff are more then helpful and were happy to print out/ draw directions for us and call cabs for us.

Cons- wifi could be a bit temperamental but nothing I couldn't get past.
As I don't drive all our travel was done by busses/cabs and it was a bit costly to get to Disneyland and Santa Monica for the beach.

A special thank you to Kamal- he was more then helpful and very funny along with a lovely South African guy who's name I didn't catch. They put up with me running around with no shoes on constantly running through the reception asking for scissors or paper clips or something silly.

Booking Tangerine was definitely more cost effective for my trip, I got a 7day tap card- like an Oyster card for $20 and just renewed it for the 2nd week and that got me around just fine.
If you are going to be around Hollywood alot for your trip and you are a sporting fan- check out Rollerderby at the doll factory- it was by far the highlight of my trip- I went to a championship match and it was excellent!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tangerine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangerine Hotel

Address: 3901 W Riverside Drive, Burbank, CA 91505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Burbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Burbank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tangerine Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tangerine Hotel is a newly remodeled boutique hotel offering its guests an eclectic and colorful backdrop that promises to enhance any visit to Burbank, Hollywood and Los Angeles. Our thoughtfully appointed rooms are a fresh reinterpretation of the classic motel room; equipped with the requisite modern amenities and quality linens, we have also introduced elements to give each room a distinct personality that we hope our guests appreciate and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tangerine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tangerine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.