We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open Late for a GREAT Happy Hour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karl Strauss Brewery

Karl Strauss Brewery
1000 Universal Studios Blvd, Suite M-41, Burbank, CA 91608
818-753-2337
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 372 Restaurants in Burbank
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Lakewood, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Open Late for a GREAT Happy Hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We needed a place to go after a day in Universal and this place was fantastic! There wait time was reasonable and the food was good. The Happy Hour was well worth it. Loved the Trolley Ale! Try to get in before Universal closes, otherwise the wait time is long. Overall, it was good. If we go back to Universal, we will stop in Karl Strauss again.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    30
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Much better than theme park food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice dining experience after visiting the park all day. The food was very good quality for a chain. The one beer variety we tried was just ok. Service was very good and the waitress pleasant. Unlike our Disneyland visits, Universal didn't take us into the evening to see everything, so it was a treat to have a good meal here near the park exit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Food ... Good Beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Prime location in the heart of City Walk. Food is pretty decent for the price considering the area and they have great beers.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Impressive Chain Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I'm never a fan of chain restaurants but it was actually pretty good! The appetizers were great and the beer was fantastic. I didn't have high hopes and they really impressed me. The servers were really friendly and we really enjoyed our entire experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Poor food, poor beers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very disappointing meal at this place with friends. Our 3 different meals were all really bland. The waiter also admitted that one friend's first choice selection was the most returned dish on the menu, so she chose another, but that didn't help much. Two of us tried 5 different beers each and both agreed that 4 of them were really bad and 1 acceptable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karl Strauss Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Karl Strauss Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karl Strauss Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.