We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They have some fabulous cocktails” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TGI Friday's

TGI Friday's
8038 Beach Blvd, Buena Park, CA 90620
(714) 761-6000
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 201 Restaurants in Buena Park
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“They have some fabulous cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Try the blackberry long island ice tea. Very refreshing after being thrown, dropped, swung around and upside down on the rides. It was peaceful and we enjoyed our drinks here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    26
    19
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“A Family Tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Oh yea, definitely a tradition for us!! We've been coming here for years. The food has always been great; the wait staff and host/hostess always friendly and helpful. Although not fine-dining, the food is great and price's reasonable. A family atosphere but not extremely noisy like other places.
Being from out of town, we visit the area at least twice a year. We make it a point to arrive early the day before just to dine here and spend the day shopping at Knott's Berry Farm gift shops.
The atmosphere is so enjoyable, we leave looking forward the the next time we can visit the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“I do NOT recommend this restaurant.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The service was extremely poor at this restaurant. We; along with several other groups waited over 10 minutes at the front entry of the restaurant without being acknowledged by any staff member. After 10 or 15 minutes another customer who was seated in the bar area came over and told us that if we sat in the bar we could get served faster.

We went into the bar area and attempted to purchase a beer. The manager who checked our IDs refused us service stating that you needed a "passport or US driver licence". I have been to dozens of bars and restaurants in half a dozen states in the USA and never once has my Australian driver licence not being sufficient a form of ID.

The food service was very slow as was the customer service, it is the only place over the past week where I left no tip.

I would NOT recommend this restaurant to anybody, especially people travelling from abroad.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Late night snack”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We arrived right when they were closing, but were lucky to get in and bite to eat after traveling all afternoon. The service was good.. but the booth seats, and tables were a bit sticky (unclean).. and seemed very little effort was made to keep the place nice and clean after patrons left. All of our menus stuck together - nearly every page. Food was to be expected.. but overall the cleanliness was less than great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Top Contributor
440 reviews 440 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Nice place to come after a day at the park!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a large group (10 people) so TGIF was the perfect place to meet up for dinner after our ccousins had spent the day at the park. They have a few expansive menu so there is something for everyone. Loved the wedge salad.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TGI Friday's also viewed

Buena Park, Orange County
Buena Park, Orange County
 
Buena Park, Orange County
Buena Park, Orange County
 

Been to TGI Friday's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TGI Friday's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.