We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top notch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sagan Korean & Japanese Restaurant

Sagan Korean & Japanese Restaurant
7801 Beach Blvd, Buena Park, CA 90620-1936
714-521-3300
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 201 Restaurants in Buena Park
Cuisines: Korean
Restaurant details
las vegas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“top notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is reasonably priced and delicious. We have eaten here two times now and consistently it has been delicious. Also it's quiet and has a nice atmosphere.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“no compliments // no complaints”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Not much to compliment, but no complaints either. This place isn't bad...unmemorable at most. High quality meat but no flavor. The galbi was tender and juicy but not very flavorful. Pork belly also juicy with no flavor at all. We definitely had to sauce everything up. Chap chae was mediocre. Korean pancakes were horrible, the worst I've ever tasted! They were pretty much just tasteless fried flour cakes. The side dishes weren't the typical ones that usually come out. I don't know what they all were exactly...but some were ok and others not so much. Nothing spectacular. Service was decent, except that the waitresses and servers kept trying to speak to us in Korean. So aside from the communication barrier, service was ok. Realistically, I probably won't find myself back here if I'm in the area again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“If you don't speak Korean, you may be surprised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Liked the large table, menu was written in English as well as Korean. Feeling adventurous I went for it. Ordered an entrée and it was good but had no idea how it would be presented or with what. It was good but I doubt majority of Anglos are adventurous enough to be satisfied with this place.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“korean and japanse - popular with locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

one side is japanse sushi - good, the other is korean - gotta know what you are doing there. this place is always busy and popular with the locals - always a good sign.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Korean Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a team lunch at this place, and was blown away. Pricey and worth every penny. Service is fantastic. Food is better.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sagan Korean & Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Buena Park, Orange County
Buena Park, Orange County
 
Buena Park, Orange County
Buena Park, Orange County
 

Been to Sagan Korean & Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sagan Korean & Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.