We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portillo's

Portillo's
8390 La Palma Ave., Buena Park, CA 90620
714-220-6400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 199 restaurants in Buena Park
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Takeout
Green River, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

As the cashier told me, "We are famous for our hot dogs and roast beef." I tried them both and went back a few times during my trip. Their classic hot dog is the best I have ever had. It's loaded with tomatoes, onions, pickle spears, hot peppers, etc. The roast beef with hot or sweet peppers is delicious. It is lean, thin, and juicy. The atmosphere is really cool...I pictured it being like an actual hot dog stand but it was actually big, clean, and full of memorabilia. Prices are very reasonable for the quantity and quality of the food. Highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    70
    30
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Habra, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Big Beef Combo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Dipped beef sandwich/hot dog, with hot peppers. Try it, you will not regret it! Well worth the 20 minute drive.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Chocolate Cake and Cheese Fries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I love cheeseburgers and this one added up! Super juicy. We got it to go and my bottom bun was soggy.

Cheese dies were good. Liquid cheese for dipping.

Chocolate cake was very rich and delicious.

Expensive for fast food.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port townsend
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Terrific Chicago cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The place is loud, large and raucous. You order at any of a number of stations and wait for your number to be called. That part we didn't find very enjoyable. The food though was tremendous. The Chicago style hot dog was as good as it gets. The Italian Beef was delicious, with lean and tender meat on a tasty roll. Memorable Chicago specialties without having to go there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

All I really have to say is Yum! What a wonderful find on a business trip to the LA area. Was referred by a co-worker having experienced the food during a Chicago trip. Was overwhelmed by how good everything on the menu sounded. Could not make up my mind. Decided to go with the Italian Sausage to start. Was not disappointed. Definitely worth more than one trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portillo's also viewed

 
Buena Park, Orange County
Buena Park, Orange County
 

Been to Portillo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portillo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.