We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portillo's

Portillo's
8390 La Palma Ave., Buena Park, CA 90620
714-220-6400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 201 Restaurants in Buena Park
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
St. Paul, MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

All I really have to say is Yum! What a wonderful find on a business trip to the LA area. Was referred by a co-worker having experienced the food during a Chicago trip. Was overwhelmed by how good everything on the menu sounded. Could not make up my mind. Decided to go with the Italian Sausage to start. Was not disappointed. Definitely worth more than one trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    35
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A little taste of Chicago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

A fabulous meal - boys love their hot dogs, husband loves and swears by their burgers and the salads are always wonderful!!! A little taste of home for us Chicago folks!!! A Must Go!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Chicago comes to California!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is REAL Chicago food - Italian Beef, Hot Dogs (done right), Polish Sausage, Italian Sausage - the works. We are from the Chicago area and it tastes just as good here as it does back in sweet home Chicago! You haven't lived until you've had an Italian Beef with sweet peppers - dipped in gravy! Everyone from here that we've referred there - Chicagoan or not - loves it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“That's a Dog!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

A great meal!!! Portillo's is a must dine while in the area. The menu has a nice assortment of options; portion size is perfect; and I am looking forward to the next time I can grab a meal there.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Taste of Chicagoland in California”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I'm a big fan of the Portillo's chain back in the midwest. This location does not disappoint. The thick shakes, chocolate cake, dipped roast beef, sausage, and everything is authentic and delicious. Come with your appetite and leave satisfied and full! My recommendation is the beef and sausage combo, dipped (dripping with au jus), and with hot peppers.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portillo's also viewed

 
Buena Park, Orange County
Buena Park, Orange County
 

Been to Portillo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portillo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.