We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lady at the service desk was nice and very friendly...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   7039 Orangethorpe Avenue, Buena Park, CA 90621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    75
    56
    43
    64
See reviews for
168
37
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Basic hotel, nothing fancy, stayed here for 4 days with family and kids

2 miles from Knotts and 10 min from Disney

It was clean, no stains, odor comming from the cleaning liquids was not nice since they put too much, no complains overall, if you are planning to just stay for the night and be at the parks all day then is ok.

Breakfast is free, really basic too, bread, juice, coffee and cereal.



  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saisai1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We appreciate all comments and concerns so we can continue to provide a great guest experience. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to a future visit from you.

Kind regards,
Sherri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had a great time at this hotel on our trip. True - the rooms and furnishings were older but we got a great deal to stay here. The room was clean and the edges of the room vacuumed, which compared to the other HOJO we stayed at on this trip, a distinct improvement. Our room was huge, with a fridge, microwave, King and double bed. Great for a family trip with the kids. And the front desk staff was great. Very knowledgable about everything in the area and willing to look up information to make sure you had a great trip. The manager was present the whole time we were there and working with his staff to clean carpets, repair things in the hotel and handle problems. There is even a bbq you can use - they turn it on for you and have grill pans, utensils etc. The kids loved the waffle makers in the breakfast area and I appreciated that they had staff constantly checking throughout breakfast to make sure things were cleaned up and stocked. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saisai1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We appreciate all comments and concerns regarding our property so we can either improve or continue to provide exceptional customer service to all of our guests. We look forward to having you stay with our again on a future visit to the area.

Kind regards,
Sherri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The staff was very nice but they are limited on what they can do based on the condition of the hotel. This hotel was clean but is very old. It was once a Travelodge but has since changed to a Howard Johnson. Our keys only worked for a day at a time. We had to go get them reset every day. Pillow were awful we went to the Target down the street and bought new ones. The sheet were thread bare and didn't fit the beds. I woke up sleeping on the mattress pad. There were large bumps in the floor under the carpet. Had to run the water for over 3 minutes before it became hot. The hot tub is not heated. The continental breakfast consists of bread, waffles, cereal, cut up fruit, coffee, milk and punch (not juice). If you get continental breakfast they ask you eat in the breakfast area which was always very crowded and the tables only accommodate 2 people. We found our own breakfasts and ate in the peace of our room. The smoking areas are by the stairs so to get to the second floor you have to walk by the smoking area, where people were usually smoking. If you need a place to lay your head and don't care about any amenities then stay here, otherwise find somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saisai1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Thank you for bringing to our attention some things we need to improve upon. We like all of our guests to have an enjoyable stay here and do what we can to make that happen. We look forward to being able to better serve you on a future visit.

Kind regards,
Sherri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm

Address: 7039 Orangethorpe Avenue, Buena Park, CA 90621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Buena Park Hotel Buena Park
Buena Park Howard Johnson
Travelodge Buena Park
Travel Lodge Buena Park
Buena Park Travel Lodge
Buena Park Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.