We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed there for one night. Priced right. We were allowed...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   7039 Orangethorpe Avenue, Buena Park, CA 90621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #12 of 19 hotels in Buena Park
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    65
    55
    39
    61
See reviews for
152
35
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The staff was very nice but they are limited on what they can do based on the condition of the hotel. This hotel was clean but is very old. It was once a Travelodge but has since changed to a Howard Johnson. Our keys only worked for a day at a time. We had to go get them reset every day. Pillow were awful we went to the Target down the street and bought new ones. The sheet were thread bare and didn't fit the beds. I woke up sleeping on the mattress pad. There were large bumps in the floor under the carpet. Had to run the water for over 3 minutes before it became hot. The hot tub is not heated. The continental breakfast consists of bread, waffles, cereal, cut up fruit, coffee, milk and punch (not juice). If you get continental breakfast they ask you eat in the breakfast area which was always very crowded and the tables only accommodate 2 people. We found our own breakfasts and ate in the peace of our room. The smoking areas are by the stairs so to get to the second floor you have to walk by the smoking area, where people were usually smoking. If you need a place to lay your head and don't care about any amenities then stay here, otherwise find somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saisai1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Thank you for bringing to our attention some things we need to improve upon. We like all of our guests to have an enjoyable stay here and do what we can to make that happen. We look forward to being able to better serve you on a future visit.

Kind regards,
Sherri
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It was a nice stay but they need to do something about the annoying insects that come into the bathroom via the vent and increase the water pressure and temperature just a little.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saisai1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. We appreciate all concerns and comments and do our best to address all issues. We look forward to being able to serve you on a future visit.

Kind regards,
Sherri
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

the front desk lady angela is such a good front desk person.the hotel across the street made a huge mistake good nights inn dont stay there they lady messed up my reservation so we got pointed in this direction and the front desk lady angela was helpful she accommodated us in no time i am happy and will return here soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saisai1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We welcome all compliments and complaints so we can continue to provide each guest with a memorable experience. We look forward to being able to welcome you to our hotel on a future visit.

Kind regards,
Sherri
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm

Address: 7039 Orangethorpe Avenue, Buena Park, CA 90621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 hotels in Buena Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Buena Park Hotel Buena Park
Buena Park Howard Johnson
Travelodge Buena Park
Travel Lodge Buena Park
Buena Park Travel Lodge
Buena Park Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.