We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down facility, staff not helpful, but good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn - Near Maingate Knott's

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn - Near Maingate Knott's to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn - Near Maingate Knott's
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   7930 Beach Boulevard, Buena Park, CA 90620 (Formerly Super 8)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Bentonville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Run down facility, staff not helpful, but good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We had a mixed experience at this place. Facility was run down with old carpets, old air conditioners and old appliances. Bathroom was tiny. But the beds were comfortable. The facility had many many posted warnings about stealing towels, soap or taking breakfast items out of the breakfast room. The lady on the reception desk was trying to help everyone, but I did not see her smiling once. On the other hand the location is great. It is right across from Knott Berry Farm and people visiting Knott Berry can just cross the road to get there without the hessel of driving or finding parking. It is close to highway and great restaurants. It also has a 24 hour subway besides it, so finding food cannot be an issue if you feel hungry in the middle of the night. There pool was cleaner than other similar facilities and I enjoyed it. Recommended for people visiting Knott Berry.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    21
    10
    15
See reviews for
43
12
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We were really happy to find this great low-priced hotel so close to Knotts and Medieval Times (our big vacation plans for our very short trip). At check-in, everything went smoothly and our room, when we got there, was clean and smelled fresh. The hotel area itself was also tidy and well-maintained and seemed like a safe and clean place for our family vacation. We didn't have a chance to use the pool, but the pool area was sparkling clean and looked like it would be a lot of fun on a warmer day.

We really appreciated being walking distance to Knott's and to Medieval Times. Walking back to the hotel from M.T. after 9pm felt fine - safe and a short walk, and much easier than trying to navigate the car through traffic!

Our biggest disappointment came during the night, when all four of us - 2 adults and 2 children - had a sleepless night on the most uncomfortable mattresses ever! We all woke up with sore backs and stiff necks. However, we went to the continental breakfast and enjoyed some cereal, toast, and coffee, and felt a little better.

Would I recommend this hotel? If you're not picky about mattresses, I would. We may also have just gotten a bad one, since I don't see other reviewers complaining. We had no complaints in any other area - staff was friendly, rooms and common areas were clean, etc. Location was unbeatable!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

everyone was nice and if there was a problem, like i didnt have a coffee maker in my room they actually apologized which alot of places dont these days! they got it to me right away.. also my laptop was messing up and they even tried to help me with it! very nice people working there! the rooms were clean and beds were comfy! very close to knotts and medieval times! i would def stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grover Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I work at a choice hotel myself and thought this one was over the top outstanding. Housekeepers are nice. Rooms are decently priced. Front desk very friendly. Nice clean breakfast area. Great pool. Nothing bad to say at all. Went to Knotts and Medieval Times. Had a blast, came back to our cozy room after being in the cold all day, and took a nice hott shower then slept on the comfy bed. Awesome Vacation. 4 night stay. I go annually and will continue too. Thanks Guys!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

This is a good hotel, if you just want to sleep and shower. Did not take advantage of the amenities. Nice and close after a busy day at Knotts. Staff was friendly. Had to compilain because the pool closed at 11:00 and I had to call and complain about people in the jacuzzi after midnight, because they were loud and keeping us awake. Beds were a little too hard for my liking. Room was clean.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We booked for one night as we were going to Knotts Berry Farm.

Great service - check in was at 3pm but they let us park there at 10am and check into our room with no additional charge!

Parking is convient and closer to Knotts than its own car park!

Rooms are comfortable with microwave and refridgerator! Perfect for a one night stay!

It was a little unclean in the hallway but that was it our room was clean!

Breakfast is just cereal, orange juice, bread and muffins but there are so many places to eat nearby it doesn't matter!

Only annoying thing was that when we went down for breakfast our card had deactivated going back to our room - but it wasn't a problem we went downstairs and it was no problem at all.

Check out was easy just handed cards back at check out time which is at 11am

The hotel has a pool but we didn't use it but our view from our window was the pool and it looked clean

All in all perfect for a one night stay

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C. eh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I've stayed at this Motel a number of times. I've always found the staff friendly, the rooms clean. The value and convenience can't be beat.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rodeway Inn - Near Maingate Knott's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn - Near Maingate Knott's

Address: 7930 Beach Boulevard, Buena Park, CA 90620 (Formerly Super 8)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn - Near Maingate Knott's 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Rodeway Inn - Near Maingate Knott's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn - Near Maingate Knott`s Hotel Buena Park
Rodeway Inn Buena Park
Buena Park Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn - Near Maingate Knott's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.