We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Management” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7000 Beach Boulevard, Buena Park, CA 90620   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #7 of 19 hotels in Buena Park
Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Management”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a 2 night stay for a visit to Knotts Berry Farm and arrived late in the day. When I got to our room I immediatley realized someone had smoked in the room before our stay. I think I am just more sensitive to it than others but still my husband could smell it although it did not bother him as much. I even found ashes by the desk lamp in the room. I called the front desk and they said they were booked and were unable to move me until the next day. The next morning we packed all our stuff and left it in the room and I spoke to the front desk who said they were sold out and there was nothing they could do. I told her what I was told the night before and she apologized but still did not budge. I told her I would not be paying for my previous nights visit because it was not a pleasant experience. She asked if I wanted to talk to the manager and I said yes. Javier came and spoke to me and immediatley offered to remedy the situation. He said they would move all our packed belongings to the new room while we were gone. I dont know how he managed to do it but he did move us to a nice, fresh smelling clean room. I was very happy about his promptness and immediate customer service. When we got back that night I went to the front desk and before I could even explain the sitiation the clerk already knew of my sitatuion and gave me my new room key. Overall it was a very pleasant stay except for the first night in a smoky room. I know they can help someone smoking in there but I would really try and air it out before a guest arrives expecting a non-smoking room. We tried to eat breakfast at the restaurant with our $20.00 voucher but the wait staff was taking so long to just get us menus that we left. The free parking and wi-fi was awesome and a huge savings to a family on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We'd like to apologize for your initial frustrations - we understand it's not pleasant when someone has previously smoked in a non-smoking room. We are pleased that Javier was able to rectify the situation quickly and efficiently.
Thank you for your feedback and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    84
    54
    16
    19
See reviews for
109
36
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We have stayed here a number of times and I doubt we will be returning. The carpeting and door paint appears run down. The rooms are very average and the restaurant on-site is convenient for breakfast (but not special.. although the price is very reasonable). They offer shuttle service to Disneyland (but it ends at 10pm on most nights). The staff was attentive and moved us to another room very quickly when we encountered some issues but the property needs an overhaul if they intend to retain guests (it just doesn't feel special).

Room Tip: The rooms are all very similar to avoid upgrades as they may not be worth the extra $'s.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We do appreciate your feedback. We have been under room renovations since this summer and have just completed all guestrooms, which has been very exciting. We've loved the great comments we are receiving on our new rooms. Public areas are next on the list to renovate - including (as noted) carpet and paint, but much, much more that is sure to WOW new and returning guests alike. We look forward to seeing you on a future visit and hearing your feedback about our new look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Overall - I am very pleased with the hotel facilities and hospitality. I spend my first time holiday with my wife in LA from 30 Nov 2012 to 7 Dec 2012 and my room is 273. All staff are very friendly. I was staying there for 7 days 8 nights - I feel like home - breakfast is OK although I'm expecting the buffet style instead of ala carte breakfast style. Cleanliness and parking is excellence. My suggestion - it is much better if the hotel can provide porter to asisst customer during check in and check out time.

Room Tip: Your better make request to get room near to the elivator if your are not fit to walk .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We're so pleaesd you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Please note for future reference, that we do have a Bell Desk for assistance in shuttles and for guests needing additional assistance getting luggage to their guestrooms. Please let us know how we can assist you during your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here one night as we were laying over at LAX and wanted to see Disneyland. Hotel is about 45 minutes from the LAX airport with no shuttle service. The lobby area is nice and fairly open. The staff at the desk was very friendly; we dealt with Tom and Daniel. We did get upgraded to an Executive room, thanks Tom, and got a drink voucher for it. Carpets on our floor were very tired but the room itself was fine and had ample space. Nothing outstanding and with the typical amenities you would expect.
Hotel has free wi-fi throughout with a good signal anywhere I tried it. Breakfast was included but as a $20 voucher. Anything above the $20 you paid for. Staff at the restaurant was somewhat inattentive at arrival but good after we had been seated, and the food quality was good. Within a few minutes walk from the hotel was a Fudruckers, Black Angus Steakhouse, Sushi/Mongolian Barbeque, Wendy’s, Sizzler’s and a mall with Target. The area at night seemed okay to walk around, although there were some sketchy characters, but never felt unsafe. .We took the hotels scheduled transportation to Disney the following day, about a 20 minute ride and the drivers were both very pleasant guys, wish I could remember their names (sorry guys!). Rides are scheduled a few times a day and all you have to do is sign up for it. I also had a nice conversation with the bartenders and, again, very nice guys. All in all, this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Buena Park as a 'stopover' for your quick trip to Disneyland. We're so pleased you found our staff throughout the hotel friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed your stay on the Executive Level. All of our rooms have been renovated in the past couple of months - and, yes, next on our list is the carpeting in the hallways.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to seeing your family again when your travels bring you back to Southern California (hopefully for a longer period!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My girl friend and I stayed here while in the Buena Park area for a get away vacation. The location is ideal with much to do in the area and many restaurants to choose from. Shopping is close by and Knott's Berry Farm is just down the street with Disneyland just 5 miles away.

Checkin was a snap for us. Our room was very luxurious and up to day with a better then average selection of channels to choose from. The room was well maintained byt the staff and I would surely recommend this hotel to some who would be looking for a room in this area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for the recommendation and for choosing Holiday Inn Buena Park! So glad you enjoyed our newly renovated guestrooms! Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at the holiday in Buena Park for one week during our family holiday in LA. The hotel.is ideally located for the Disney theme parks with a complimentary shuttle to take and collect.you, near to knotts berry farm and great restaurants and shopping malls, you would however require a car to visit the beaches, Seal and Huntington being the nearest which are beautiful, clean and safe and central LA although the hotel offers downtown tours if you want to sightsee.

The hotel itself presents itself well with a beautiful lobby, marble floors, fireplace and piano with lovely decor throughout. The heated pool area is clean with secure entry only with a guest key and has a nice little garden/courtyard area with a water fountain, table and chairs. The rooms are also nicely decorated with a luxury feel and spacious too. The breakfast and restaurant service is great especially the desk staff who offer good frieny local advice. The holiday in is perfect for famillies, couples and business. Definately value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind recommendation and review. We know you have a choice when visiting the Los Angeles/Orange County area and do appreciate that you chose Holiday Inn Buena Park as your home-base during your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, US
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I went with a friend to Buena Park to go to The Haunt at Knott's Berry Farm. I chose this hotel for the location which it had said in the website was half a smile. It was really double that amount which was still not bad and we ended up walking there and back. There was a bit of a snafu at check-in. I had requested twice that our room had two queens for obvious reasons that I was traveling with a guy friend of mine. Instead we got a King room which was awkward. When I went to inquire at the desk, they said they were sold out of two queen-rooms but that our room most probably had a pull out sofa. I hadn't really looked because when I saw a single bed I kind of ran out of the room to go rectify the situation haha. The person at the front desk said that if it didn't have a pull out couch, they'd bring a rollaway bed and not charge us. The situation wasn't ideal but we made do and overall had a good experience because we really went mostly to go to that even at Knotts. Saturday, before the Haunt we spent the day enjoying the pool and the hot-tub and that was nice though we had to tell the desk our room had not yet been cleaned by late afternoon.

Overall had a good experience but on certain things they could have been more on top of it.

Room Tip: Fourth floor is the executive floor, I think rooms are renovated and bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your honest and candid feedback. Details and comments such as yours truly help us to improve our services and operations. As you noted in your Room Tip - we have renovated our guestrooms - not just the 4th Floor/Executive Level, but all guestrooms and have just completd placing wonderful new backlit bathroom mirrors you're sure to love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Center

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference
Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Buena Park
Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel And Conference Center
Holiday Inn Buena Park
Buena Park Holiday Inn
Address: 7000 Beach Boulevard, Buena Park, CA 90620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 hotels in Buena Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anaheim area hotel located in Buena Park, CA minutes from Disneyland, California Adventure, downtown Disney Shopping, Knotts Berry Farm, Soak City, Medieval Times and Pirate's Dinner Adventure, Holiday Inn Buena Park offers free parking and free shuttle to local attractions. This newly renovated hotel also boasts free wi-fi, the largest outdoor heated pool and whirlpool in the area, as well as a restaurant and bar serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service -kids always kids stay/eat free at Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.