We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COLONY INN HOTEL BUENA PARK not super 8 anymore” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Colony Inn to your Saves list
Colony Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   7800 Crescent Avenue, Buena Park, CA 90620   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Delhi, California, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“COLONY INN HOTEL BUENA PARK not super 8 anymore”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The room was big, but the comforters had holes in them and the pillows were waaay over used. The bathroom had mold, and the drapes didn't quite close all the way. We stayed here as a last minute decision while going to Disneyland, and we stayed 3 nights. The room was definitely sub-par, but we could handle it. The part that was HORRIBLE was the 'continental breakfast'. Firstly, practically no food. A few cereals, muffins, coffee...if you get there early enough. Next to no seating, like 15 chairs and 40 people clamoring for them. You can't take the food back to your room. They will block your way. One member of our party managed to sneak out with a bit of food and was chased down back to our room. The staff were rude, and completely inept. I would NEVER stay again. And NEVER recommend this place to anyone. STAY AWAY.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    14
    3
    3
    19
See reviews for
13
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Palmdale, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Wow. I'm not usually at a loss for words. But I am with this hotel. It's now known as the Colony Inn of Buena Park, not the Super 8. As another reviewer mentioned, yes, this hotel has long term guests and it created the feeling of staying in a run-down apartment complex.

The room was clean enough, and although it was non-smoking, you could tell that it used to be a smoking room. The smell is just baked into the walls and bedding. It was an odd odor--old and musty. I refused to walk barefoot on the carpet and wouldn't let my son sit on the floor.

The TV remote didn't work. The AC unit sucked. While the area for the bathroom was large, it hadn't been thoroughly cleaned in a really long time. There were dirt smudges all along the bathroom door.

The lights are on a sensor and for some reason, the light in the bathroom kept coming on in the middle of the night. Then, at midnight, the smoke detector started beeping. You know, that chirping it makes when it needs the battery changed. On top of that, the alarm of the car parked in front of our door went off for 30 minutes. My husband reached for the phone to call the front desk, and the buttons were missing from the phone. We just looked at each other and said, "I want to go home."

As we checked out, the front desk clerk asked me how everything was. I paused, and said, "Fine." He smiled. They are very aware of the state of that hotel.

Room Tip: A good room is any room that doesn't belong to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

not pet friendly, even thou it claims they are!! noisy, no where to park, and the customer service is horrible, cannot believe the attitude of the hotel owner Bhupal Barua (Babu) he claims he was the general manager, when i asked for a business card he gave me a card with his name on it for Super 8 Motel, ok what is the name of the hotel, Colony Inn or Super 8 Motel !! room was never cleaned..and then when it came to check out the next day, they kept calling to ask when i was leaving so they could clean, HELLO!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012 via mobile

An average hotel, much like anywhere else we've stayed over our month in USA. So, 3 stars for average. But add to that an extra star for cost (we paid $55 per night) and proximity to Knotts.

Minor issues with hand basins not draining well but of no significance. Friendly staff, nice basic continental breakfast and large spacious room.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Initially went to Portola motel, which was a major disappointment (the room smelled of sweat and the bathroom was the worst), bailed on that and went to this motel, and it was a major upgrade in price, cleanliness, and location.... we will be back again if in the area...very happy with the decision. Our trip to Knotts was saved because of this.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

The hotel has been renamed to Colony Inn and unfortunately the new management and name didn't put any money into it. The rooms were poorly cleaned with a lot of lint and noticeable dust. The sheets were worn and definitely many years old. There were no Geese harmed in the making of their tiny pillows. Honestly, the pillows you receive on the airlines are more comfortable than these ones. On a positive note, the gentlemen at the front desk were kind. The only reason we stayed here is because the Knott's Berry Resort was fully booked.
I rated this hotel 2 stars only because it is right across the street from Knott's Berry Farm, which is about the only thing going for it. If you are going to spend the majority of your time out and all the other hotels within walking distance are full, than this one will serve its purpose.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahiti, French Polynesia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

It's a perfect stay and the manager was very helpfull. I reserved for me and my children that hotel beause is near the park Knott's berry farm. At the front desk you can reserve the tickets and pay by cash with special price and also I pay for Sea World and Universal Studio. I will come back again with a family group.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Inn

Address: 7800 Crescent Avenue, Buena Park, CA 90620
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Colony Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Park Super 8
Quality Inn Buena Park
Buena Park Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.