We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great show!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pirate's Dinner Adventure

Pirate's Dinner Adventure
7600 Beach Blvd, Buena Park, CA 90620-1838
714-690-1497
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 201 Restaurants in Buena Park
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 91 Freeway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great show!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Kids (ages 3 boy, 8 & 10 girls) absolutely loved this show. Others who have complained about the food must have had some high expectations,,,,dinner was what is to be expected at this type of venue...good and fast. Chicken was served with rice and broccoli, pork was served with mashed and broccoli-both very good. Kids were served nuggets, Mac n cheese, mashed and broccoli. All was hot and seasoned well. Was it a steak dinner? No, but again for this type of venue, it was very good.

Show was great, a lot of acrobatics, fighting (not violent), funny jokes and great performers.

Great entertainment for the value, more than your money's worth, especially with the online special!

Highly recommended!!!!!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    21
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Bluff, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What can you say? They're pirates!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We went to this show with a large group for the entertainment. I didn't expect much but the quality and quantity of food surprised me. You have a chocie between chicken or pork. I chose the chicken and they give you a half with rice and veggies plus dessert. A lot of food. Many in our party couldn't finish so they boxed it to go. Show consisted of pirate banter, singing and acrobatics on a pirate ship stage. All in all, a decent show and meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth Every Penny!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I've done dinner shows before, but this one had it all. Singing, acrobatics, sword-fighting, comedy and great food! We had the Captain's upgrade, which guarantees seating within the first 3 rows. we got there early, and ended up in the front row. We sat in the red section, and our pirate had an Irish accent. Yay! My boys even got pulled into the show twice! The food was excellent, and our server was great too. They even let us take our leftovers.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Get Into It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Come here and be prepared to get into the show. You can't be ashamed to yell, and wave your hands in the air. My daughter is a huge pirate fan so while we were around the area we decided to stop on by. The show is alright...it needs a little work because it starts off a little slow but towards the end you'll be fully absorbed by it. We used one of their discounts that that had on their website also.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“One of those places you'll either love or hate!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We went to the Pirate Dinner Adventure for Father's Day in a group of 6 (2 dads, 2 moms, and 2 7 year olds). Apart from our 7 year old, my husband and I thought that the whole show was pretty awful. The food was fine but nothing special. We paid about $100 for the 3 of us WITH the 2-4-1 adult discount. The show started at 7pm and by 8pm we swore we had been there for about 4 hours already...LONG and tedious show.

All of that being said...the other couple with us enjoyed the show and the food...so GO FIGURE!? Maybe it was the rum?

I would have rather spent the $100 in Downtown Disney or doing just about anything else. My husband gave me a big sarcastic "GEE THANKS HONEY!" for that Father's Day idea!! HAHA.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirate's Dinner Adventure also viewed

 
Buena Park, Orange County
Buena Park, Orange County
 

Been to Pirate's Dinner Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirate's Dinner Adventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.