We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portola Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Portola Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portola Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7921 Orangethorp Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 19 hotels in Buena Park
San Diego, California
1 review
“Family trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Like many guests, we stayed here for our visit to Disneyland. The lady at the front desk was very nice. They greeted us warmly upon arrival, were very knowledgable, and always had a smile. The tea, coffee, and apples in the lobby were a nice touch as the apples were very useful to take as a snack to Disneyland.
Overall, definitely a good choice for a hotel in Disneyland and will recomed guest to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 27, 2010
Dear dormendro1212,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to the Disneyland. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to complete the review on our property and share your experience with other travelers. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will definitely be staying with us again. We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Thank you,
Kabir Bhagat | Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    66
    38
    19
    11
See reviews for
91
33
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buellton, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

We had to change our travel plans to this motel. I called FIVE days in advance and they will not cancel our reservation and take off the pending charge on our credit card.. They would not provide me with a corporate office name or telephone number. The Manager told me he would personally call me back and had a front desk person call me instead to offer me two nights at another time or 50% off a two night stay at another time. I checked back at their website and could re-book 2 nights and only give a 24 hr. notice of cancellation. This is an unacceptable way to do business in our minds. I have informed our credit card company and have documented everything accordingly as we plan to dispute the charges. For the time being I have no idea whether or not they even have a corporate office even though a general relations person replies to all posts here on Trip Advisor. Maybe you can help us Mr. Kabir Bhagat. As of the time of this post still no call back from the Manager at Portola Inn and Suites in Buena Park, CA.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Being the most affordable hotel in the area, I wasn't expecting much, but boy was I wrong. I called the hotel to let them know that we'd be checking in later after our trip to Knott's Berry Farm and I was advised that was not a problem and that we'd be taken care of no matter what time of night. Check in was quick and smooth, the receptionist was polite! The rooms looked like they had just been remodeled, all the furniture was new and luxurious! The bed was comfy and the water pressure in the shower was great! The room even had it's own mini fridge and microwave!!! Great location, close to everything, food, freeway, fun! Best bang for my buck in the area! Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, General Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
Dear mr_zingh, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to the Buena Park area. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to complete the review on our property and share your experience with other travelers. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will definitely be staying with us soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

It then hit me that this was a true motel, and not a hotel from what I had expected. I guess I expected more because there were many good reviews I had read. There was also a great picture of the room on the website and the picture of the continental breakfast looked very appealing, which is why I decided to book with them,despite the fact that is is rated 2 stars. The motel was not clean, beds not comfy and the continental breakfast consisted of only one type of fruit a day, a small wrapped danish and a weak coffee. We stayed for 3 nights. Though I didn't check, I kept thinking of the possibility of bed bugs. On the last day, my 2 year old son cut his toe at the corner of the front door because there was a piece of metal sticking out from the bottom corner!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2010
Dear calgary088, Please know that we absolutely do care and are currently in the process of undergoing several improvements to our Buena Park hotel. We certainly appreciate all of your comments and suggestions, as we always take them very seriously and are eager to listen to what our guests have to say. We hope you will reconsider and decide to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

It's hard to be critical when I only paid $47 a night so while there were some issues with having the towels replaced and a running toilet, I found that I really got more than I paid for. The motel is clean, the outside is painted nicely and the rooms are large and clean.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2010
Dear im2tlkativ, Thank you! We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Buena Park hotel! Thank you for detailing your experience and sharing it with other travelers. We appreciate all of your compliments and suggestions and value all of your detailed feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to running water in the bathroom and assure you that this does not represent the typical guest experience. Please know that we are always at your service to assist you in any way we can. Once again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mass
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

Spare but spotless budget inn; updated. Warm and friendly manager and maids. Very good vibe. Pool small but clean; could use some potted plants as it sits right on the street. Fresh fruit and strong coffee. Very good bargain and beats the place on the corner of Knott/Orangethorpe that is also cheap. Looking forward to next stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
Dear cockeyedoptimist, Thank you for your return visit to our hotel! It is always so great to hear that our guests love our property as much as we do. We appreciate all of your valued feedback, including the wonderful compliments on our friendly service, beautiful grounds and service. Once again thank you for all of your high ratings on our clean accommodations, location and great customer service. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long beach
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

We paid approximately $45-50 per night because we stayed for quite a few nights which was a pretty good deal for the area. The hotel room was well appointed, it had a mini fridge, mircowave and coffee maker (with coffee to make). The carpet was dark blue but I could tell it was dirty because our feet got dirty but otherwise it was very clean. Breakfast was basic--a packaged sweet roll, white bread toast with jam, packaged granola bars and orange juice--better than nothing that's for sure. We also got a pretty good free wi-fi signal. The management was very nice. We didn't go in the pool. The jacuzzi was just luke warm so that was disappointing. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 12, 2010
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to the Buena Park/Anaheim area! We appreciate your time in completing the review on our hotel. As you may have guessed, we are so happy to hear that your experience with us was nearly perfect! That is quite a compliment! It is always so rewarding for us to hear how much our guests enjoy their visit with us. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portola Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Inn and Suites

Address: 7921 Orangethorp Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 hotels in Buena Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Portola Inn and Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Buena Park’s exciting attractions, the Portola Inn & Suites is perfect for family fun. Our Buena Park hotel’s 50 modern guestrooms feature comfortable accommodations. A variety of room types are available including smoking and non-smoking King rooms, smoking and non-smoking Double Bed Queen rooms, and Family Suites that feature two adjoining rooms with two separate bathrooms. Each room features a micro-fridge, hairdryer, iron, cable TV, and high-speed Internet. Each morning, enjoy our complimentary Portola Inn breakfast where you can indulge in fresh fruit, pastries, coffee and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Portola Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel Buena Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portola Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.