We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close enough to the attractions” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Portola Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Portola Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portola Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7921 Orangethorp Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Buena Park
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Close enough to the attractions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If your plan is to find a reasonable place to stay while visiting Disney parks, this is a fair one. Clean, average room, nice staff. Breakfast is really poor. At night, when you come back to rest and you´re exausted, it´s really anoying when your key doesn´t open your room´s door, and it happened every single night. Besides that, average.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    65
    40
    20
    11
See reviews for
91
35
13
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indio, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I read some decent reviews of this motel and to be honest everyone was quite nice to deal with, but this place needs work. I had reservations for several weeks and checked in about an hour after posted check in time. Had a 3rd floor room, not close to the elevator (previous review), and started to bring in our things. I quickly noticed the lightshade askew and when I went to straighten it, could see there was no bulb and the fixture was truly broken. (There was also a large hole in the wallboard above the bed, so I assume something'd gone wrong with a previous guest.) Went down to the desk to alert management and ask for another room. Received quick service by a very efficient handyman who inspected the breakage and announced he'd be back to install another light fixture. He did come back with electric drill, etc., and indeed did put in a new fixture. In our humble opinion, this repair should have been done while we did not have to sit by in the room we'd already paid for. Moving on, the bed was ok, the tv, wifi, and vanity area were fine. The bathroom itself needs some real work. There was plenty of hot water, but the floor of the room, the surround of the tub, caulking, etc. all need to be repaired. Continental breakfast was absolutely minimal the first day (packaged mini sweet cake, muffins, some fruit, little 4 oz cartons of juice, cream cheese for the toast and jam. Coffee was available, but no hot water nor tea for those who don't coffee and no milk for the kids. The second day was even less as there really wasn't coffee for us at all. The young lady had the presence of mind to go back into their quarters to bring us each a scant cup. Time to go. The motel is close to the local attractions, is easy to find and has plenty of parking. If you're on a budget, it might work more comfortably for families, but word to the wise, don't let your kids go into that hot tub - it was positively murky.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 4 nights in July. Pat, at the front desk was very friendly and we were granted early check-in which was desperately needed.
Upon entering the room the cleaner that was used left a very harsh smell which took forever to dissipate. There were footprints left on the bathroom floor. We showed a very hard working housekeeper and she cleaned up all the tile flooring.
The room was spacious enough with a nice LED TV.
Beds comfortable enough and the room was quiet.
What was not good was our feet turned black from walking on the carpeted floor. Pretty disgusting!
The online rate we received was a decent one for the room and its location.
They offer a paltry international breakfast. Powdered coffee creamer only and not even hot water to make tea was available.
If the floors weren't so filthy, I would give it another half star.
WiFi while free, wasn't that great.
Hey you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Let's face it, it's a very cheap hotel. It is the kind of place that makes you appreciate Holiday Inns. It's a little run down and the bath tub was pretty dirty. The elevator was interesting. The pool is pretty tiny. I felt safe in the area and it was a central location. We stayed here after spending a couple nights downtown LA to balance out our hotel budget. I wouldn't come back but it was adequate for what we needed it for. If you need a cheap place to stay and really aren't picky this works. What sums up this hotel was the grab bar in the bathroom, it was at some point replaced with a PVC pipe.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked this hotel through Priceline for two queen beds, upon arrival I was given one queen and a roll out. I was told by the front desk there wasn't two queen beds available, after trying to figure out a solution all they could offer me was two uneven cots thrown together with an old queen mattress that they pulled out of storage this process took a very long time and made an extremely uncomfortable uneven bed. They only included two pillows after asking I also had to ask for towels and was not provided with coffee cups in room. Very disappointed in both the hotel and Priceline. The showers and floor were not very clean. Breakfast offered a variety of muffins and bagels along with mini juices and fresh apple and oranges, however when bagels were available there was no cream cheese available and when cream cheese finally became available no bagels. I wouldn't recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived on Thursday July 3rd. We did arrive before check in time so they let us pre-register, and were told they would call us when are room was ready. This was fine with us knowing it was super busy. We took our kids to the beach and had fun. Our phone never did ring. So around 2:30-3:00PM we headed back to our room check in is listed at 2:00PM. Our room was not ready, the front desk girl said it would be 30min. so we let our kids swim 1and half hours later we are told its ready. Next our key will not work so frustrated. I walk back to office only to receive new keys that are not working. The girl at the desk was really no help at all. This went on for 45 more min to try and get in our room finally she came to help and figured out it was her fault(duh)
The room was only ok. The desk chair has someone else's hair all over (gross) our shower tub was falling apart. The bed was comfortable. We did like that the suite we were in could fit our group of 8 ( one was a baby) the breakfast was a joke! Plastic wrapped bread and muffins. The pool was nice and clean. Parking was ok but when full it's crowded. With just a little more money I recommend staying at the Marriott across the street. They serve a much nicer breakfast. That will help with the more money part! I will never stay here again and I will never recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Portola Inn during a mega road-trip vacation that including eight different lodging accommodations and found this hotel to be exceedingly average. Its location was okay but a little too far from Knott's Berry Farm to walk to the park with two children (just over a mile of busy streets), so we still had to drive to the park and pay for parking. The pool was small and clearly visible from a busy road, so we didn't utilize it. The parking lot was cramped and filled with extra cars, so we struggled to squeeze our car into a space at the end of each day.

When we arrived around 11pm the first night, our hotel room was ready for us, and we had no problems getting into the room. There was a hotel room party going on downstairs (our room was upstairs and, thankfully, a decent distance from the room) with some very loud, drunk people. Fortunately, our children were very tired, so we took them up the stairs instead of the elevator (that was closer to the party room) so they didn't have to witness much of the unacceptable public behavior. And, thank the heavens, the room was far enough away that we didn't have to worry about the noise, although the direct upstairs residents must have had a rough night.

The room overlooked a busy street, and the bright hotel sign blared in our window, but this wasn't a problem. The street noise drowned out the party noise and the street sign functioned as a useful night light. The room had a fridge, which we used, and the complimentary Internet connection worked well. Although furnishings and decorations were on the lower, budget level in quality, and the room felt dark and dingy, everything appeared clean and worked fine, which is what you would expect for the money paid. The breakfast was worthless, consisting of plastic wrapped bread, bagels, Danishes, juice and milk in tiny boxes, and atrocious coffee ... definitely not enough for an action-filled day at Knott's Berry Farm. We skipped it and grabbed breakfast and coffees at a restaurant down the street.

All in all, the hotel room was what you would expect for the price but the location was a little too far from the park to be considered walking distance and the complimentary breakfast was not enough to be used as a breakfast. Also, any hotel that does not stay on top of visitors' cars filling up their lot and parties in hotel rooms going until late in the night is not catering to families like ours. Although the price was good and the room acceptable, we will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portola Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Inn and Suites

Address: 7921 Orangethorp Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Buena Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Portola Inn and Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Buena Park’s exciting attractions, the Portola Inn & Suites is perfect for family fun. Our Buena Park hotel’s 50 modern guestrooms feature comfortable accommodations. A variety of room types are available including smoking and non-smoking King rooms, smoking and non-smoking Double Bed Queen rooms, and Family Suites that feature two adjoining rooms with two separate bathrooms. Each room features a micro-fridge, hairdryer, iron, cable TV, and high-speed Internet. Each morning, enjoy our complimentary Portola Inn breakfast where you can indulge in fresh fruit, pastries, coffee and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Portola Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel Buena Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portola Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.