We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maintenance and noise levels need to be improved.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Portola Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Portola Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Portola Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7921 Orangethorp Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
La Verne
1 review
“Maintenance and noise levels need to be improved.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Rooms were ok .shower pressure was horrible . Some alarm continually beeped starting very early in the morning. And the elevator was in poor condition. The continental breakfast left a lot to be desired. If a few of these were fixed I would use your hotel a lot more.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
We are glad to hear that you liked our spacious and cleaned rooms. And thank you for the feedback you have regarding some of the issues you encountered during your stay. As always, we value all feedback that our guest provide for us as the feedback will make us improve in those areas where improvement is needed. We hope you can stay with us on your next visit to Buena Park so you can see all the improvements we have made since your last stay.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    69
    46
    20
    16
See reviews for
104
37
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Visalia, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Staff is very friendly, and the rooms were clean. Beds were a bit hard for my taste. Only real complaint was noise in the morning. We were on the ground floor and heard everyone coming and going early in the morning and police showed up to tow a car and that was really loud. Great location for Knott's Berry Farm and the price was very reasonable. Breakfast was ok, not great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for deciding to stay at Portola Inn and Suites on your recent visit to Buena Park. We are happy to hear that our team members shined for your during your stay and that even though the beds were not to your liking, that overall, your stay at our property was a pleasurable experience. Since we take great care to provide our guest with a restful night, we do walk the parking area on an hourly basis, and when we see a car that has not registered with us, we do towed away that car. As you might have seen, we do have signs posted all throughout our property about the parking of illegal cars on our property.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Well I had the worst experience any person can have on vacation. They messed up my reservation and kicked my family out to the streets at 1130pm we were devastated. They never apologized or try to accommodate us. I'm a hard working state employee and was treated worse than a dog.It was worth paying $30 extra at holiday Inn were they treated us like royalty. Do not stay here the beds are horrible the carpets were nasty...Don't be fooled by there price it's not worth it.!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
We apologize for the bad experience you encountered while staying at Portola Inn and Suites. Please let me inform you that what you experience at Portola is not of what a typical guest will experience while at our property. We have already spoken with our personnel so misunderstandings like the one you faced on your stay does repeat. Again, we are deeply apologetic for what happened to you and your family; please accept our apologies once more.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Family of 4 stayed in the suite 3 nights. Great to have 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, but no separate living space. Free wi fi, connection was slow at times, but good. Didn't ask for cleaning as it was the holidays and we were barely there, but when we needed supplies, they were readily available. Free breakfast of juice, coffee, pastries and fruit for breakfast -- not the greatest, but convenient. Nice personnel. Parking was not a problem, probably because everyone was visiting their families. Good selection of flat and fluffy pillows. No noise from neighbors or street, and we felt safe there. Will come back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for deciding to stay at Portola Inn and Suites during the holiday season. We are glad to hear that you and your family fully enjoyed our spacious family suites. That our housekeeping service was prompt, when needed and that the customer service offered here at Portola was a friendly one. We have ample parking here at Portola and we always try to offer the best available rates to all our guest who decide to stay at our beautiful Buena Park property. We hope to hear from you on your next visit to the Orange County/Buena Park area.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great location for Knotts Berry Farm, as a female traveling alone (met family at Knotts for 2 days) I felt safe here. Had no problems and enjoyed the continental breakfast and the staff were very nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for deciding to stay with us on your recent vacation to Buena Park. You made the correct decision to stay at Portola Inn and Suites as our room rates are affordable and we are considered one of the safest, most family-friendly hotels in the Buena Park area. We are glad you were able to enjoy our free continental breakfast and that they service provided to you be our team members was one of excellence. We hope you were able to take advance of the free Wi-Fi service we offer and we hope to see you again on your next visit to beautiful Buena Park.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Rio Colorado, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The only inconvenient its the parking lot, the spots are too small, theres little space between the cars.
The hotel Its closser to disney and knotts, gas stations and food, and a shop. Everything are ok!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for providing us with you feedback on your recent stay at Portola Inn and Suites. We are glad you decided to stay at Portola due to the closeness to Knott's Berry Farm, which is only a five minute drive, Medieval Times (also five minutes) and Disneyland (fifteen minute drive) from our property. At Portola Inn and Suites, we offer free continental breakfast, which is composed of freshly brewed coffee, fruits, muffins, toast, jelly and juice. We hope you will be able to stay with us on your next visit to Southern California.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Pros: Decent location from Disneyland and Knotts. Beds and pillows are very comfortable especially the king.

Cons: Continental breakfast sucks. Parking also sucks

I took a star for the lack of parking. There isn't enough for the number of rooms! Fortunately, there are some covered parking spots that look like only employees can park there but I asked the lady at the counter and guests can park there too. There were some shady people and I felt like I had to keep checking that my car was ok...

I took away another star for the crappy continental breakfast. I had read reviews that it was no good and I must say I agree. Juice boxes and packaged mini loafs and muffins were all that was offered aside from some near rotten fruit that had seen better days. I don't understand how they cant afford to get better continental breakfast? There is a delicious donut shop around the corner called Donut Express and the staff at Portola could easily buy a few every morning and offer those to guests instead of the stuff they currently have...just a suggestion!

Overall I would stay here again, rooms were fairly clean and beds were very comfy after a long drive. Location was great, very close to Knotts and about a 12min drive to Disneyland. But there is certainly room for improvement too.

Room Tip: Rooms near the back are better, away from the main road and the pool. Reserve online well in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us and future guest with your personal feedback on your recent stay at Portola Inn and Suites. We hope that your stay at our Buena Park property was one of comfort and joy. Thank you for the wonderful compliments you have regarding our comfortable beds, spacious and clean rooms. We do have plenty of parking space as you were able to find once you spoke with one of our helpful team members. Our continental breakfast consists of ample choices, such as freshly brewed coffee, orange juice, fruits, bagels, cream, toast, jelly and muffins of different kinds. Yes, we are also down the street from places such as Knott's Berry Farm, Medieval Times and yes, less than fifteen minutes away from Disneyland. We hope you were able to enjoy our free Wi-Fi and we also hope you were able to take advantages of all the room amenities we offer at our newly remodeled rooms.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portola Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Inn and Suites

Address: 7921 Orangethorp Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Portola Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Buena Park’s exciting attractions, the Portola Inn & Suites is perfect for family fun. Our Buena Park hotel’s 50 modern guestrooms feature comfortable accommodations. A variety of room types are available including smoking and non-smoking King rooms, smoking and non-smoking Double Bed Queen rooms, and Family Suites that feature two adjoining rooms with two separate bathrooms. Each room features a micro-fridge, hairdryer, iron, cable TV, and high-speed Internet. Each morning, enjoy our complimentary Portola Inn breakfast where you can indulge in fresh fruit, pastries, coffee and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Portola Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel Buena Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portola Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.