We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Portola Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Portola Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portola Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7921 Orangethorp Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Buena Park
California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
262 helpful votes 262 helpful votes
“Nice place, could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Spent one night to attend a wedding in town. The rooms are very clean, large and comfortable. The staff are polite and friendly. We enjoyed our stay. However, it's frustrating when basic comforts and necessities are overlooked. Our room keys didn't work. Our TV had grainy and blurred reception and our remote did not work properly. The WiFi is extremely weak and loses connection. There were only two small hand soaps and two modest size towels in the bathroom. We actually had to go out and buy body wash and shampoo. The shower pressure is very low due largely to a low pressure head. These are all things that can easily be remedied and which I hope will be done. We look forward to revisiting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you so much for all the feedback you have provided us with. As you know all feedback positive or negative helps us improve where improvement is needed. And I can see from the kind and wonderful feedback you have provided us with, that Portola Inn and Suites needs improvements in those basic comforts and necessities that make a hotel experience worthy. Our team will work diligently on fixing this issues you encountered during your stay that way when you come back to stay with us, your stay will be one pleasure and fun. Thank you once more for the kind feedback you have provided us to improve on.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    66
    42
    20
    11
See reviews for
96
35
13
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemet
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel many times and always enjoy it. The rooms are clean and neat and all the staff are friendly and helpful. I love that it's located near the heart of things in Buena Park, but it's not on the busy, busy, Beach Blvd. Instead, it's just off of Beach in a quiet location. There are many restaurants nearby and a shopping center is being built nearby. I really like the continental breakfast they serve. The hotel is small enough that you don't feel like a mouse in a maze. I recently had a problem regarding a reservation and I was very impressed with how it was handled. I actually received a personal phone call from the corporate office and the problem was immediately resolved. We'll definitely be back to Portola. It's clear to me that they really value their customers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
It is our intention, as well as the intention of any hotel, to provide the best possible customer service to every guest, and we are very much happy to hear that we have just done that during your stay at our Buena Park property. At the same time, we are glad to know that you are a returning guest and that every time you stay at Portola Inn and Suites, you find no issues with our spacious and clean rooms. As you already know all our rooms come fully furnished with a flat screen television, microwave, personal coffee maker, and of course we offer free Wi-Fi, free parking and free complimentary breakfast. Thank you again, and we'll see you soon!


Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Everyone was friendly, but the pictures online are not anything like it shows. Our family isn't too picky when it comes to hotels, but as soon as we drove up my kids said, "this looks ghetto!" One huge thing that would make us never come back is the carpet....very dirty, you can't walk without sandals or shoes or your feet and socks will be black within minutes and that's my biggest pet peeve. Luckily we weren't there most of the time cause we went to Disneyland 2 out of the 3 days we were there. We were going to try and cancel and go somewhere else, but decided not to hassle with it. We know now to just stay somewhere your familiar with, rather than save $30.00 a night.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your recent experience at Portola Inn and Suites. As you might be aware, we take all feedback into great consideration, as all feedback will help us improve those areas our valued guest see need improving. Portola Inn and Suites is a family friendly hotel, as many families from around the world stay at our property. We always try to maintain a clean and hospitable hotel for our guest, because by doing that, we know that we will be having returning guest. I hope you will be able to provide us with another opportunity at showing you that maybe your first experience at our property was one of chance.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I booked my room and recommended it to a family friend who also booked. We arrived an hour early and they were awesome about accommodating us. We both go and check our rooms out and low and behold they get a huge room and I with kids get a small room. I got charged the same amount and got at least 1/4 less of a room :/

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the end of the hallway they are BIGGER
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are glad you and your family decided to stay with us at our family-friendly hotel known as Portola Inn and Suites. As you know, we greatly value all our guest feedback and regarding the small issue you encountered while staying our hotel, you'll be happy to know that, as you have said, you and your friend booked the same room, but because one was at the corner on the hotel, it appeared a bit bigger. We hope you can visit us next time you are in the Buena Park area.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I honestley have to say it was a great experiance only went down to play baseball with my travel ball baseball team but, as soon as the family is ready to go to Knott's Berry Farm we will stay again room was big and clean.

Thank you

Jeff

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
We are happy to hear that you and your baseball team enjoyed your stay at Portola Inn and Suites Buena Park. As you were able to see, we are just a five minute drive to Knott's Berry, and all of our rooms are spacious and immaculate. We cater to many families from around the world, and all our rooms have been recently updated. Some of those updates are the flat screen television that comes fully loaded with HD channels and we even offer free on-demand channels. The rooms also have a microwave, fridge, coffee maker and some of the free amenities we offer are Wi-Fi, parking and complimentary continental breakfast. We can't wait to see you and your family at our property when you visit Knott's Berry Farm.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

This is the 2nd time that we stayed here and we got the suite both times. It is in the perfect location to everything we wanted to do. Parking can be tight if you stay on a weekend and they are forgetful about putting towels in your room, but we will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are happy to know that you are a returning guest and that you very much like our rooms as they are spacious and super clean. As you have stated, we are located in the perfect spot for those families and couples that want to explore the nearby tourist attractions, such as Knott's Berry Farm, Medieval Times, Disneyland and others. We do have ample parking space and we are always available for our guest, as we are open 24 hours. Thank you again for been a continued guest.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were ok. I was told by Hotels.com that there was a sofabed in our room, so our 2 yr old daughter had somewhere to sleep. When we were checked in, we were told that wasn't true and that Hotels.com has things that aren't offered at your motel. You obviously know this,but havent called them to correct the information they give your guests. We weren't compensated or offered the two queens/doubles for the same price for the inconvenience. I understand on some level it wasn't you that promised us a sofabed, but that's horrible customer service to not try to rectify it without it costing your customer out of pocket. The maid on our floor needs to be retrained. It was 9:40am the day we were checking out,my husband, daughter and I were cuddling on the bed watching TV, when I heard the doorlock beep and the maid open the door! Not once did she knock, nor call out maid service. We didn't have our do not disturb sign hanging out the door, but that shouldn't matter.Every hotel ive been to has had the same procedure of knocking AND calling out maid service before entering a room. It's upsetting that didn't happen here. Don't imagine we'll be back anytime soon

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent experience here at Portola Inn and Suites. And thank for informing us about the experience you encountered while still inside your room, when check out time was a few hours away. We have already spoken with all the housekeeping team and have retrained them about what to say when they are about to open a room they are not sure has checked out. For such event that occurred during your stay, please accept our sincere apologies. We hope you can provide us with another opportunity so you can see that we have worked quickly to resolve our mistake.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portola Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Inn and Suites

Address: 7921 Orangethorp Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Buena Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Portola Inn and Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Buena Park’s exciting attractions, the Portola Inn & Suites is perfect for family fun. Our Buena Park hotel’s 50 modern guestrooms feature comfortable accommodations. A variety of room types are available including smoking and non-smoking King rooms, smoking and non-smoking Double Bed Queen rooms, and Family Suites that feature two adjoining rooms with two separate bathrooms. Each room features a micro-fridge, hairdryer, iron, cable TV, and high-speed Internet. Each morning, enjoy our complimentary Portola Inn breakfast where you can indulge in fresh fruit, pastries, coffee and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Portola Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel Buena Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portola Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.