We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean Place To Sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portola Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Portola Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Portola Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7921 Orangethorp Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Beaumont, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Nice Clean Place To Sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is basically a repainted Motel 6. Nothing fancy but it is clean and well cared for. The carpet was pretty dirty though. I made everyone keep their white socks on and they were almost black when we left.The breakfast consists of toast and packaged muffins. The pool is really small. It is in a great location we stayed 2 nights and went to Disneyland, the beach and Knotts. The Marriott Fairfield Inn is across the street where you could stay for double the price.We stayed on the first floor and parked right in front of our door which was nice with kids.
Less than a block away is a Fuddruckers where you can build your own burger. We all loved that place the prices were great and there was a small arcade for the kids.Overall we would stay again to have somewhere clean to sleep and shower.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review you have on our Buena Park property. It is always great to know that our guest had a blast while staying at Portola Inn and Suites. As you might have already been aware, we are located five minutes away from Knotts Berry Farm and about twenty minutes from Disneyland. Also, all of our rooms come fully furnished with flat screen television, mini fridge, microwave, Iron, Iron Board, Hair Dryer, Coffee maker, and some of our free amenities include Wi-Fi, Parking and continental breakfast. We hope you can provide us with another opportunity at showing you all the improvements we have made since your last visit to the Orange County/Buena Park area.


Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    66
    45
    20
    13
See reviews for
99
37
14
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Good Value, Nice stay, friendly staff, clean, comfortable, excellent price, just breakfast was small, but good places around the hotel for breakfast or lunch.
Will definitely return on another vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We are glad to hear you had a great experience while visiting the Portola Inn and Suites. Thank you for the wonderful compliments you have about our hotel. We hope you were able to enjoy the layout of our rooms since now they have new bedding, flat screen televisions and of course our free amenities, which include Wi-Fi, parking and continental breakfast. Once again thank you. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We want to thank Nira & Dharmesh for our great stay at their hotel. Whenever we visit the Buena Park/Anaheim area, we enjoy staying in the suites at the Portola Inn. The rooms are clean, well equipped and the price is very reasonable. Looking forward to our next trip to that area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
We are glad to hear you are a returning guest and we thank you for your feedback. It is so great to hear of the great compliments you have on our team members. As your review states, we have pretty spacious rooms, and all of our rooms are filled with such amenities as microwave, mini-fridge, personal coffee maker, Iron, Iron board, and hair dryer. You must also know that we also offer free Wi-Fi, parking and continental breakfast. Once again, it brings us such joy to hear the comments of a returning guest.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Good value - had an issue with our first room, was promptly remedied with a room change. Elevator was sketch, continental breakfast a joke - but, Target is right down the road, we picked up some groceries and between the microwave and fridge we were all set. Everything seemed clean, fairly up to date - would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Recommend the third floor, less noise - maybe try to get farther away from the elevator so you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are happy to hear you liked the new layout of our rooms, especially how clean we try to maintain all of our rooms. We hope you took advantage of our free Wi-Fi and parking. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you next time you are in the Buena Park/Orange County area.


Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Large, clean room at a good price. Microwave and fridge were handy. My wife really liked the beds. Very close to Knott's, Medieval Times, Pirates, freeway. Not too far from Disney.

Breakfast was minimal but we had read about that. Pool was cold and not very clean, only went in hot tub.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Let me start by thanking you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is great to hear how much our guests enjoy our newly remodeled rooms. As you were already aware, we are only a few minutes away from Knott's Berry Farm, Medieval Times and a short driving distance from Disney. We hope you were able to take advantage of our free Wi-Fi, complimentary breakfast and parking. We appreciate and value your feedback greatly. Once again, thank you for your time. We hope to see you next time you are in the Buena Park area.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We reserved 2 rooms for 5 nights we stayed 1... The rooms are disgusting for being "newly remodeled" the carpet was gross feeling I didnt let my little run around. The lights in the bathroom were out and the water pressure was terrible. The draining in the tub was slow and took hours to drain. Pictures are very deceiving, and other comments were too! The beds are terribly hard and have no sort of comfort for a good nights rest very disappointed and not a good way to start a vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Let me take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience that arose during your stay. Please know that we have a 24-hour front desk that could have easily fix most of the issues that were encountered inside the room. Also, this is not the typical scenario one will find at our hotel as all of our rooms are inspected on a daily basis. We also thank you for bringing this to our attention as those issues will be immediately fixed.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Clean, nicely decorated room. Responsive staff. I would be happy to stay again. The breakfast is very minimal, but does include oranges and apples. The refrigerator makes it easy to have milk and cereal in the room. My only complaint is that the standard practice seems to be to leave only one wash cloth in a room for two.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We are glad to hear of the great experience you had while at Portola Inn and Suites. And we are also happy to know you liked the brand new layout of our rooms, which include 37-inch flat screen television, microwave, mini fridge, Iron, Iron board, study table and hair dryer. You'll be happy to know that we also offer free Wi-Fi, and as you have stated, free continental breakfast. I will look into the issue with the wash cloths so this does not happen again. Once again, we are very thankful for your feedback and we hope that next time you come stay with us, your visit will be a perfect one.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portola Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Inn and Suites

Address: 7921 Orangethorp Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Portola Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Buena Park’s exciting attractions, the Portola Inn & Suites is perfect for family fun. Our Buena Park hotel’s 50 modern guestrooms feature comfortable accommodations. A variety of room types are available including smoking and non-smoking King rooms, smoking and non-smoking Double Bed Queen rooms, and Family Suites that feature two adjoining rooms with two separate bathrooms. Each room features a micro-fridge, hairdryer, iron, cable TV, and high-speed Internet. Each morning, enjoy our complimentary Portola Inn breakfast where you can indulge in fresh fruit, pastries, coffee and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Portola Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel Buena Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portola Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.