We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Portola Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Portola Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Portola Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7921 Orangethorp Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Buena Park
Hood River, Oregon, United States
1 review
“Not Bad!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Good value - had an issue with our first room, was promptly remedied with a room change. Elevator was sketch, continental breakfast a joke - but, Target is right down the road, we picked up some groceries and between the microwave and fridge we were all set. Everything seemed clean, fairly up to date - would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Recommend the third floor, less noise - maybe try to get farther away from the elevator so you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are happy to hear you liked the new layout of our rooms, especially how clean we try to maintain all of our rooms. We hope you took advantage of our free Wi-Fi and parking. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you next time you are in the Buena Park/Orange County area.


Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    63
    36
    19
    10
See reviews for
87
31
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Large, clean room at a good price. Microwave and fridge were handy. My wife really liked the beds. Very close to Knott's, Medieval Times, Pirates, freeway. Not too far from Disney.

Breakfast was minimal but we had read about that. Pool was cold and not very clean, only went in hot tub.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Let me start by thanking you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is great to hear how much our guests enjoy our newly remodeled rooms. As you were already aware, we are only a few minutes away from Knott's Berry Farm, Medieval Times and a short driving distance from Disney. We hope you were able to take advantage of our free Wi-Fi, complimentary breakfast and parking. We appreciate and value your feedback greatly. Once again, thank you for your time. We hope to see you next time you are in the Buena Park area.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We reserved 2 rooms for 5 nights we stayed 1... The rooms are disgusting for being "newly remodeled" the carpet was gross feeling I didnt let my little run around. The lights in the bathroom were out and the water pressure was terrible. The draining in the tub was slow and took hours to drain. Pictures are very deceiving, and other comments were too! The beds are terribly hard and have no sort of comfort for a good nights rest very disappointed and not a good way to start a vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Let me take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience that arose during your stay. Please know that we have a 24-hour front desk that could have easily fix most of the issues that were encountered inside the room. Also, this is not the typical scenario one will find at our hotel as all of our rooms are inspected on a daily basis. We also thank you for bringing this to our attention as those issues will be immediately fixed.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Clean, nicely decorated room. Responsive staff. I would be happy to stay again. The breakfast is very minimal, but does include oranges and apples. The refrigerator makes it easy to have milk and cereal in the room. My only complaint is that the standard practice seems to be to leave only one wash cloth in a room for two.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We are glad to hear of the great experience you had while at Portola Inn and Suites. And we are also happy to know you liked the brand new layout of our rooms, which include 37-inch flat screen television, microwave, mini fridge, Iron, Iron board, study table and hair dryer. You'll be happy to know that we also offer free Wi-Fi, and as you have stated, free continental breakfast. I will look into the issue with the wash cloths so this does not happen again. Once again, we are very thankful for your feedback and we hope that next time you come stay with us, your visit will be a perfect one.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Like what most of the other reviews have said, Portola is really your basic inn. The bathroom, the vanity and the overall room was decently clean except for my only pet peeve, the carpet. The carpet is really dingy and dark, I stepped on it with my feet and it felt dirty and left black marks. I read in one of the management's comment that they steam clean it twice a month. I would really hope that they start steam cleaning more often or invest in new carpet because it was really dirty. Other than that, location was good, the mattress was comfortable, the flat screen TV a plus (lacking in channels) and the internet worked fine. I didn't buy breakfast because I read it wasn't worth it (eat at Fresh Bagels and Cafe instead).

Room Tip: + Good price + Good hotel for only sleeping - Not much of a getaway for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay at Portola Inn and Suites. We are glad you enjoyed our new televisions and you'll be happy to know that we are in the process of getting a better, high definition channel line-up. If you were not aware, we do provide free continental breakfast. We are happy that the new wirelss access points that were installed a few weeks ago gave you no problems when connecting to our wi-fi. Once again, thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you next time you are in the Buena Park area.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here while dropping daughter off to college. Didn't use pool. Stayed in January. Very basic motel. Large room, clean. Very appropriate for the price. If you want simple and clean and inexpensive this is your place. Will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
We are glad to hear you had a pleasurable experience while staying at Portola Inn and Suites. Thank you for your feedback and as you were aware, the prices of our rooms are affordable and cheap. We hope you got to enjoy our free amenities, such as free Wi-Fi, continental breakfast and parking. As you may have been aware, all our rooms have been completely updated with flat screen 37-inch televisions and new bed layout. Again, we are glad you had an enjoyable experience while at Portola. We hope you will be able to stay with us again next time you are in the Buena Park area.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Nice hotel, reasonably priced with outstanding value. The room was clean, and well organized. Staff was very friendly and efficient. Hotel was easy to enter and exit with resterants and businesses located nearby. Would stay here again shold the need arise.

Room Tip: All rooms were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable time during your stay at Portola Inn and Suites. As you were aware, we have remodeled our rooms with 37-inch flat screen television in every room. We hope you were able to enjoy all the free amenities we offer, such as Wi-Fi, Parking and continental breakfast. And once again, thank you very much for the great review you have on our hotel.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portola Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Inn and Suites

Also Known As:
Portola Hotel Buena Park
Portola Hotel
Address: 7921 Orangethorp Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Buena Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Portola Inn and Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Buena Park’s exciting attractions, the Portola Inn & Suites is perfect for family fun. Our Buena Park hotel’s 50 modern guestrooms feature comfortable accommodations. A variety of room types are available including smoking and non-smoking King rooms, smoking and non-smoking Double Bed Queen rooms, and Family Suites that feature two adjoining rooms with two separate bathrooms. Each room features a micro-fridge, hairdryer, iron, cable TV, and high-speed Internet. Each morning, enjoy our complimentary Portola Inn breakfast where you can indulge in fresh fruit, pastries, coffee and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Portola Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portola Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.