We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service Good Rooms not so much” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Portola Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Portola Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portola Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7921 Orangethorp Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
“Customer service Good Rooms not so much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We reserved 2 rooms for 5 nights we stayed 1... The rooms are disgusting for being "newly remodeled" the carpet was gross feeling I didnt let my little run around. The lights in the bathroom were out and the water pressure was terrible. The draining in the tub was slow and took hours to drain. Pictures are very deceiving, and other comments were too! The beds are terribly hard and have no sort of comfort for a good nights rest very disappointed and not a good way to start a vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Let me take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience that arose during your stay. Please know that we have a 24-hour front desk that could have easily fix most of the issues that were encountered inside the room. Also, this is not the typical scenario one will find at our hotel as all of our rooms are inspected on a daily basis. We also thank you for bringing this to our attention as those issues will be immediately fixed.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    66
    43
    20
    12
See reviews for
98
36
13
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Clean, nicely decorated room. Responsive staff. I would be happy to stay again. The breakfast is very minimal, but does include oranges and apples. The refrigerator makes it easy to have milk and cereal in the room. My only complaint is that the standard practice seems to be to leave only one wash cloth in a room for two.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We are glad to hear of the great experience you had while at Portola Inn and Suites. And we are also happy to know you liked the brand new layout of our rooms, which include 37-inch flat screen television, microwave, mini fridge, Iron, Iron board, study table and hair dryer. You'll be happy to know that we also offer free Wi-Fi, and as you have stated, free continental breakfast. I will look into the issue with the wash cloths so this does not happen again. Once again, we are very thankful for your feedback and we hope that next time you come stay with us, your visit will be a perfect one.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Like what most of the other reviews have said, Portola is really your basic inn. The bathroom, the vanity and the overall room was decently clean except for my only pet peeve, the carpet. The carpet is really dingy and dark, I stepped on it with my feet and it felt dirty and left black marks. I read in one of the management's comment that they steam clean it twice a month. I would really hope that they start steam cleaning more often or invest in new carpet because it was really dirty. Other than that, location was good, the mattress was comfortable, the flat screen TV a plus (lacking in channels) and the internet worked fine. I didn't buy breakfast because I read it wasn't worth it (eat at Fresh Bagels and Cafe instead).

Room Tip: + Good price + Good hotel for only sleeping - Not much of a getaway for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay at Portola Inn and Suites. We are glad you enjoyed our new televisions and you'll be happy to know that we are in the process of getting a better, high definition channel line-up. If you were not aware, we do provide free continental breakfast. We are happy that the new wirelss access points that were installed a few weeks ago gave you no problems when connecting to our wi-fi. Once again, thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you next time you are in the Buena Park area.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here while dropping daughter off to college. Didn't use pool. Stayed in January. Very basic motel. Large room, clean. Very appropriate for the price. If you want simple and clean and inexpensive this is your place. Will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
We are glad to hear you had a pleasurable experience while staying at Portola Inn and Suites. Thank you for your feedback and as you were aware, the prices of our rooms are affordable and cheap. We hope you got to enjoy our free amenities, such as free Wi-Fi, continental breakfast and parking. As you may have been aware, all our rooms have been completely updated with flat screen 37-inch televisions and new bed layout. Again, we are glad you had an enjoyable experience while at Portola. We hope you will be able to stay with us again next time you are in the Buena Park area.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Nice hotel, reasonably priced with outstanding value. The room was clean, and well organized. Staff was very friendly and efficient. Hotel was easy to enter and exit with resterants and businesses located nearby. Would stay here again shold the need arise.

Room Tip: All rooms were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable time during your stay at Portola Inn and Suites. As you were aware, we have remodeled our rooms with 37-inch flat screen television in every room. We hope you were able to enjoy all the free amenities we offer, such as Wi-Fi, Parking and continental breakfast. And once again, thank you very much for the great review you have on our hotel.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Check in was easy as was finding the hotel. The rooms we had 320a and 320b were clean and always serviced to a high standard. The beds were warm and extra blankets and pillows were provided as necessary. The room also has heating and cooling which worked well.

Cons- The free wifi was terrible!!!! Barely worked and when it did it was super slow. When we asked for help we were told it was working fine.
The towels were like sandpaper and very small.
One night the room keys wouldn't work (for no apparent reason) so we had to return to reception twice.

We didn't eat at the hotel...though breakfast was included. We paid less than $1000 AUD for 5 people in two room for a week. If you are in Anaheim for the theme parks and don't mind a short drive (less than 15mins) I would recommend this hotel.

Sizzler is just across the road, Denny's down the street aswell as a Target.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to reception (I believe the internet works better there)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay at Portola Inn and Suites. We are very happy to hear you had an amazing week while staying at our Buena Park property. As you found out, the rates of our rooms are economical, where any family can save money while enjoying their time at any of the nearby theme parks, such as Knott's Berry Farm, Disneyland or Universal Studios. Thank you once again for your review.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

After reading several good reviews my husband and I made a reservation at the Portola for 11/30-12/2/12. I was not expecing luxury but I felt like we had gotten a good deal. I was sorely wrong. We arrived late at night and checked in around midnight using the night window. As I was checking in I could hear people from rooms nearby screaming at each other. Check-in was fast as I had already paid and we went to our room- a corner room on the second floor. As soon as we walked in we were very dissapointed. The room had a strong musty smelled- we booked a non-smoking room but it stilled had a strong smoke smell. The carpet was disturbingly filthy. It was almost black! The sheets were stained and had several black marks, lke they had been run over. We dids not even shut the door before we turned around and left. I immediately went to check-out and the lady at the front desk offered us another room but my husband was not comfortable with me staying in that motel the next day while he was at work. She kindly gave us a full refund without any issues and was very apologetic. We then went aroundthe corner to the Courtyard Marriott. The extra $150 dollars at the Marriott is worth the peace of mind. I would never recommend the Portola to any of my friends or family but if you must stay there then bring your own sheets and towels and do not forget to pack your flip flops!!!! I should have taken pictures but we high-tailed it out of there pretty fast!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Let me start by apologizing for the experience you had while checking in at Portola. Please be aware that what you experienced is not the typical ambiance one would expect to see at our property. At Portola Inn and Suites, we try to give our guest a pleasurable and relaxing experience. That is why we have a 24-hour front desk shall any issue arise any time of the night. Again, please accept our most sincere apologies and we hope you'll give us another chance so that you can see all the improvements we had made since your last visit.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portola Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Inn and Suites

Address: 7921 Orangethorp Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Portola Inn and Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Buena Park’s exciting attractions, the Portola Inn & Suites is perfect for family fun. Our Buena Park hotel’s 50 modern guestrooms feature comfortable accommodations. A variety of room types are available including smoking and non-smoking King rooms, smoking and non-smoking Double Bed Queen rooms, and Family Suites that feature two adjoining rooms with two separate bathrooms. Each room features a micro-fridge, hairdryer, iron, cable TV, and high-speed Internet. Each morning, enjoy our complimentary Portola Inn breakfast where you can indulge in fresh fruit, pastries, coffee and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Portola Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel Buena Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portola Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.