We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portola and Knotts Berry Farm visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portola Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Portola Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Portola Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7921 Orangethorp Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Portola and Knotts Berry Farm visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Excellent value. We took a family suite and this was perfect for us; two adults and two teenage kids.
No issues with cleanliness, as other review indicated.
No traffic noise either. Glad of the elevator with heavy luggage!
A fridge and microwave were appreciated, though no laundry facilities.
Proximity to Knotts Berry Farm made it perfectly located for my family and I was not prepared to pay 50-75% more to stay at the Knotts Berry Resort Hotel.
Forget the free breakfast, go to IHOP just down the road!

Room Tip: Family suite gives the convenience of being close but two sleeping areas/rooms give the privacy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and are very happy to have been part of your vacation plans. As you were aware, all of our rooms have many amenities such as microwave, mini-fridge, Iron, Iron board, coffee maker-all free of charge!. We hope you were able to take advantage of our free Wi-Fi also. We thank you once again for the great review you have on Portola Inn and Suites, and we hope you will consider us on your next vacation plans.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    66
    45
    20
    13
See reviews for
99
37
14
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed for 8 nights at Portola. The room was spacious, clean and there was fridge and microwave. The location is great. Near malls, restaurants and parking is easy to find at any time. The best of all is Mr Pattel. He was always willing to go the extra mile to please the guests. He helped me with directions, held a book I ordered for 2 weeks prior to my arrival, lent me a scale (to check my suitcases weight) and our morning chats over breakfast were a good and pleasantable way to start the day. Thanks so much for the lovely stay. Luis

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We are delighted to hear about the great experience you encounter while at Portola Inn and Suites. Thank you for the wonderful compliments you have about our rooms. As you were able to see, all of our rooms do come with a fridge, microwave, Iron, Iron board and coffee maker. You'll be happy to hear that we also have a 24-hour front desk and yes, there is ample parking space at our facility. I will personally let Mr. Patel know about the great compliments you have about his service. Thank you again for the amazing review!

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband was stay there last week it was excellent stay the room is big clean, with everything you need, front desk staff excellent. Manager is always redy for all our question.and really close to Disney , knott and highway what we need more.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for the excellent review you have on our Buena Park property. It is always a pleasure to hear good comments about our property from such wonderful guests as yourself. Yes, our number one priority is to always have clean rooms and to always exceed the expectations of our guests. Also, our rooms do come with free Wi-Fi, complimentary breakfast and parking. And our rooms are fully accommodated with microwave, mini fridge, hair dryer, and coffee maker. Once again, we hope you had a pleasurable experience at Portola Inn and Suites, and we hope you can stay with us next time you are in the Buena Park/Orange county area.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

It may have been a good value but it was so dirty. I noticed the bottom of my kid's feet after being in the room for only 20 minutes. They were black. The sidewalk outside was cleaner than the carpets. I saw housekeeping vacuuming, BUT, they need to invest in a carpet cleaner. I rubbed a towel on to several places on the floor and i just couldn't believe how dirty it was.
We booked using Bookit.com and the write up said it was located 4 blocks from Knott's Berry Farm, and you could walk there. Wrong. It was at least 1 mile away. You either pay $15 parking fee at the park or walk a mile. I can't find it listed on Bookit.com anymore. We will stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Rm. 104 needs the carpets seriously cleaned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
It is unfortunate to hear about the carpet issue you had during your stay at Portola Inn and Suites. Please be aware that we do clean our carpets twice a month, but were not able to clean that particular room because we had been really busy the week prior to your arrival. We hope you got the chance to enjoy our free complimentary breakfast and all the amenities our rooms offer.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We just got back from a 3 night stay while visiting the Disney theme parks. This hotel was perfect for our budget-minded family. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. As other reviewers have mentioned, the breakfast is not great, the tv has a very limited selection of channels and the wi-fi is really bad. None of those issues were deal-breakers for us. The Disney parks were a short 8 minute drive away and this hotel is very close to Knotts Berry Farm. This hotel would be perfect for the night if you are doing the Knott's Halloween Haunt and did not want to drive home at 2 am. The area seemed very safe and I never had any concerns about the neighborhood. We did notice the "odor" when we first checked in, but it was a clean odor of some air freshener. It was not bad, but they could probably use less so the smell would not be so strong. After a little while in the room, it was not really noticeable anymore. I would recommend this hotel for someone looking for a clean, comfortable and cheap room that is not looking for all the frills of some of the more expensive hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor with a window facing Orangethorpe. We had only minimal noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Let me start by thanking you for taking the time to provide us with a review regarding your stay at our Buena Park property. You have completely and nicely described all the amenities that are offered at Portola Inn and Suites. We apologize for any inconvenience our free Wi-Fi might have cause you during your stay. Please be aware that we are continually working with our telephone company in order to provide our guest with the fastest Wi-Fi. Yes, you are absolutely right when you say we are a couple of minutes from Knotts and only an eight minute drive to Disneyland. Once again, we are very thankful for the great review.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I can recommend this hotel to anyone who's looking to find a reasonable, clean and friendly place in Orange County / L.A. area. I stayed for 1 week and it was easy for me to like it:
Easily accessible by car: 5 and 91 fwys are closer than 1 mile
Located in the center of Orange County. 10min drive to Disneyland, 25min to Beach, Knotts Berry Farm and some other attractions right next door. Hollywood 30min, Downtown LA 25min.
Huge Parking Lot, always spaces available, even on the weekend (I stayed 1 week)
Rooms clean, light colors, fridge, free wireless internet, air condition. Spacious.
Basic TV stations (don't know if it was cable or sat). I think no HBO.
Clean bathroom
Pool and Spa
Very friendly staff
My summary is that this is a hidden jewel in the low price range in Southern California. I'll come back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We are elated to hear you enjoyed your week at our hotel and we are also very happy to read how beautifully you have broken down all the nearby attractions and freeways that are close to Portola Inn and Suites. We hope you were able to appreciate our free complimentary breakfast, and we are glad that our team members were able to assist you with your needs. We hope you can give us another visit next time you are in the Buena Park! And again, thank you for your wonderful review.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel itself is not terrible. The rooms are not terrible.

What was really unacceptable was the smell in the rooms. Don't know if this was due to recent remodeling or cleaning, but it is truly overwhelming. I asked to try a couple of other rooms - same thing.

I've read "overpowering odor" reviews before at hotels that I've stayed at and wondered what these people were talking about. Trust me on this one. The smell is prevalent. Had it not been for this, I'd say that for $75, it's a 2 1/2 star room.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
It is unfortunate to hear you did not enjoyed your stay to its fullest during your recent visit to Portola Inn and Suites. Please be aware that we do take the appropriate measures to ensure our rooms are odor-free, and as clean as possible. I will talk to management to see if we can come up with a way to prevent a room from having an "overwhelming smell" to it. We greatly appreciate your feedback. It is with feedback such as yours that we are able to better improve our quality and standard. Thank you again for the review and we hope you can give us another opportunity at showing you the improvements we have made to our Buena Park property.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portola Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Inn and Suites

Address: 7921 Orangethorp Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Portola Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Buena Park’s exciting attractions, the Portola Inn & Suites is perfect for family fun. Our Buena Park hotel’s 50 modern guestrooms feature comfortable accommodations. A variety of room types are available including smoking and non-smoking King rooms, smoking and non-smoking Double Bed Queen rooms, and Family Suites that feature two adjoining rooms with two separate bathrooms. Each room features a micro-fridge, hairdryer, iron, cable TV, and high-speed Internet. Each morning, enjoy our complimentary Portola Inn breakfast where you can indulge in fresh fruit, pastries, coffee and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Portola Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel Buena Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portola Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.