We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and Affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portola Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Portola Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Portola Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7921 Orangethorp Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simple and Affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was looking for a cheap place to stay, I'm glad I found Portola inn, stayed for 2 nights,we got to check in 2 hours early which is great, nice location, the room is clean, with Microwave and Fridge, affordable, quite, we're going back to California and we will stay at Portola Inn again, definitely I will recomend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review your stay at Portola Inn and suites. It is always great to hear that our guest had a pleasurable experience while staying with us. You are certainly right when you say that Portola offers the best available rates to all its guest, and yeah our rooms are fully furnished with a microwave, fridge, t.v, hair dryer, free continental breakfast, parking and Wi-Fi. We hope to see you again when you return to visit beautiful Southern California.
Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    66
    45
    20
    13
See reviews for
99
37
14
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brea
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Everything was fabulous except the TV....the supposed HBO was actually CNN, so I was not able to see movies I generally don't get to see at home, since we don't have cable or satellite. And your wireless was constantly going on and off, making watching Netflix, which I needed to watch since I didn't have a movie channel on the TV or many other channels that I don't already have w/o cable. You might want to look into a different carrier as you may not be getting what you are paying for.

But other than that, I LOVED my stay and will stay again sometime! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your fabulous review on our Buena Park property. And we are sorry to hear of the small inconveniences you had while at Portola Inn and Suites. Let me assure you that we are diligently working with the cable company that provides us with their service so that we can provide our guest with the best line-up of cable channels. We are also working on fixing the issue you had with our free Wi-Fi service. Thank you again for your wonderful review and we hope to see you next time you are in the Buena Park area.
Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were so pleased with our stay...it was only one night we wished it would have been longer. The rooms where very nice and most of all CLEAN and the staff was very FRIENDLY!!! if your looking for a place to stay I recommend this place. Excellent, excellent!!!

Room Tip: the family suite..has 2 queen bed AND one king bed and 2 bathrooms!!!!!!! GREAT PRICE too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
First and foremost, let me take this opportunity to thank you deciding to book with us during your visit to the Buena Park area. We are glad you liked all the amenities all of our rooms have to offer, and our team members will be glad to know that their hard work is noticed by such wonderful guest as yourself! Once again, thank you for the great review, and we hope to see you again next time you are back in the Buena Park area.
Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Spacious, great location, clean, well-appointed, safe, quiet, reasonably priced, exceptional staff...what more can I say. I will stay at Portola Inn and Suites whenever I am in Orange County and I would recommend this motel to everyone - singles, couples and families. Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms are well located and easy to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful review you have on our Buena Park property! We are glad we exceeded your expectations, and that you enjoyed the entire days you stayed with us. At Portola Inn and Suites, we take pride in having safe and well-appointed clean and spacious rooms. Our teams members are always glad to be of assistance any time of the day or night, since we have a 24-hour front desk. Once again, thank you for the wonderful review and we hope to see you again next time you are in the Buena Park area.
Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights for our Disneyland trip and absolutely loved it. Parking was never a problem and had a great central location to beaches. The lady at the front desk was super nice. The room/bathroom were clean and the appliances worked. The shower was nice and clean. The beds/pillows were really comfortable, the air conditioning felt great and the TV had Cartoon Network. The pool was a little cold, but the jacuzzi was relaxing. Price was good so we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The only elevator is located in the middle of the hotel for those that have a lot of luggage. Get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments you have regarding our Buena Park property. At Portola Inn and Suites, we always try to exceeds our guests expectations, and our team members will be glad to know we exceeded your expections. We hope you can stay with us next time you and your family visit the Buena Park area.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

the rooms were clean and a good bargain for your money. But don't count a free breakfast. Unless you think coffee and some packaged single cookies from 7/11 are your idea of breakfast. Ive stayed across the street at fairfield marriott with a GOOD breakfast, but paid 120 a night vs 69 a night at Porola. So you decide.

Room Tip: Rooms are clean and bed is nice and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Portola Inn and Suites. It is unfortunate you did not enjoyed our free continental breakfast to its fullest. Please be aware that our free continental breakfast consist of not only cookies and coffee, but in consists of double chocolate muffins, blueberry muffins, pound cakes, fruits, oranges juice, toast with jellies and butter. Hope you can give us another opportunity at booking with us and we hope you can get the chance to enjoy all the amenities our free continental breakfast has to offer.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Modest place with solid pricing. I've stayed at spots for 45 a night and that came with pimps, hoes, and crackheads. Paid a little more here and got none of that. Of course the staff is Indian. they own all the motels in California. No complaints. As long as my room is clean, my car is safe, and I can sleep I'm happy.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
It is great to hear about the safe and wonderful experience you had at our Buena Park hotel. We are also happy to hear about how clean our rooms are, and we hope we can see you next time you are in the Buena Park area.
Kind regards,
Guest Relations Coordinator, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portola Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Inn and Suites

Address: 7921 Orangethorp Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Portola Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Buena Park’s exciting attractions, the Portola Inn & Suites is perfect for family fun. Our Buena Park hotel’s 50 modern guestrooms feature comfortable accommodations. A variety of room types are available including smoking and non-smoking King rooms, smoking and non-smoking Double Bed Queen rooms, and Family Suites that feature two adjoining rooms with two separate bathrooms. Each room features a micro-fridge, hairdryer, iron, cable TV, and high-speed Internet. Each morning, enjoy our complimentary Portola Inn breakfast where you can indulge in fresh fruit, pastries, coffee and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Portola Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel Buena Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portola Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.