We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful - avoid it if you can!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Solvang / Buellton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Solvang / Buellton to your Saves list
Days Inn Solvang / Buellton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   114 E. Hwy 246, Buellton, CA 93427   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Buellton
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awful - avoid it if you can!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Please stay away from this hotel: everything about it is horrible. The rooms smell horrible, everything is old (we are talking appliances from the 70s) and worn out. We got there and were given "the last king bed" -or so they said- that happened to be located next door to a bar. And by next door, they meant NEXT DOOR: the wall was the bar's toilet on the other side. The smell was disgusting, mix of dirt, moist and chemicals. With wallpaper coming off the walls and a blue, velvety sofa that was stained and far too old to be of any use. We complained and got changed to another bedroom (so it wasn't their last king after all...) that was only slightly better. Smell was still horrible and, although the sheets and bathroom were clean, everything else (including the carpet) was asking for urgent replacement/renovation. With a dirty pool and corridors full of weirdos (people just hanging out their rooms, many drunk by the end of the evening) you get the full picture: please do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else. And it's not even in Solvang, as advertised...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    84
    162
    122
    87
See reviews for
149
177
29
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Booking on Expedia typically is on target - and this provided a bed and reasonable quiet despite location right off 101. Rooms are in need of a complete gutting - fixing holes in wall, really dated and worn furnishings and updating paint, carpet, and a tv that u would not even find in a thrift store. Front desk was very friendly and efficient. Did not stick around to comment on the included breakfast. Likely not a two star but maybe 1. A crash pad that's affordable but there are several other choices nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The location was perfect because it was central; near freeway, Solvang, Lompoc and Buellton. Unfortunately, the hotel itself needs A LOT of remodeling. It was old, tired and attracted some undesirable people to their "lounge/bar". It was EXTREMELY over priced!!! I would hope that they would use their $$$$ that they charge unsuspecting customers and UPGRADE their rooms. I don't just mean slop on some paint, but everything! Change flooring, remodel bathrooms, kitchettes, tighten faucets, replace bathroom fixtures, change doors that are all banged up, and add lights and light swithes that turn on the lights!

The 1st room we stayed in was big but lacked appeal. It was right above the "lounge" and it was very noisy. There was no counter space in the bathroom and the shower fixture hit my wife right on the chest and she's only 5'3". I'm 6'2" and all I could bathe was my stomach! The light switches didn't turn any lights on and I wouldn't be surprised if the whole place catches on fire do to faulty electrical.

The gracious hotel clerk moved us to another room. This room had supposedly been upgraded but in what year? The faucets just went round and round, carpet was old and dirty, there were ants in the bathroom and need I go on?


  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Nothing spectacular, just a clean room near the event we were attending. Bathroom and especially the shower could stand to be updated. Outside staircase needs painting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Solvang / Buellton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Solvang / Buellton

Address: 114 E. Hwy 246, Buellton, CA 93427
Location: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Solvang / Buellton 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Solvang / Buellton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Solvang / Buellton Hotel Buellton
Days Inn Buellton
Buellton Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Solvang / Buellton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.