We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott's never disappoint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Ynez Valley Marriott

Save Saved
You added Santa Ynez Valley Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 McMurray Road, Buellton, CA 93427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Buellton
Wooster, Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Marriott's never disappoint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

Although the rate was a bit high, the property was your typical spotlessly clean and well-maintained Marriott. With free breakfast included though it made the value a bit better. You can't go wrong staying at this property.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    137
    59
    22
    10
See reviews for
82
146
7
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights, while visiting many local vineyards. It is a very nice hotel, and from what we have seen of the area, it is by far the best option. We are Marriott Rewards members, so we do like our points. This hotel is a nice Marriott, but missing some features of other Marriott’s like a concierge level. The rooms were nice, but they need to update to LCD TVs. I think this is the only Marriott I have been in recently that does not have an LCD TV.

The hotel is next to Hwy 101, which worried me as to the noise factor when I booked it. However it proved to be a non-issue and we did not even notice any noise from our room which faced the highway. Truthfully, it was minimal even when we were sitting on our balcony. They have a wall there so must be it.

We actually found it pretty handy to have 101 right there, as it made it easy to go to vineyards, stop back for a swim in the pool, and then head back out in the afternoon. We visited about 15 vineyards, all within about 10 minutes from the hotel.

It is very close to Solvang, which is a little Danish town. It’s interesting but not going to keep you busy for a entire day. We chose to do mostly wine tasting and cycling. There is a great wine tasting tour we took – that you cycle through the hills to the vineyards. It was very cool, and great picnic lunch! Thanks Corey – you guys were great!

In the evenings, we made our way down to Firestone Brewery, which is within walking distance of the hotel. GREAT beer and atmosphere. It seems to be a local hangout- but very nicely done and seems newer. In the morning we had breakfast at the hotel, which was fantastic. The chef at the Omelet station was fantastic, and very friendly.

Actually we did have dinner our first night there at their restaurant, and the server I think is was Christina…was amazing! She knew of all the local wines, and was able to give us great recommendations.

All in all, we had a great trip and just loved the Santa Ynez Valley! It’s a nice change from the over commercialized wineries in Napa.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

I've been numerous times in Solvang but this has been my first staying at The Marriott hotel which is conveniently close to the Fwy 246. We arrived on 4th of July after the fireworks in Solvang and we were greeted by a nice girl at the Front Desk who sent us to the room that we booked. The room was a double queen bed and we had requested a roll-a-way bed as well which was already in the room. Unfortunately there was no help to put the roll-a-way bed on the floor since it was leaning against the wall. Although the room was a good size we were put right in front of the ice machine which it was kind of loud once we tried to sleep. We had to ask for extra blankets since there were no extra in the closet. There is a second faucet outside of the bathroom which is very convenient in a room with 5 people. I got to say that the best of all it was the breakfast next morning with fresh fruit and awesome omelets. Checking out was an easy and quick process. I definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

This Marriott is by far the best hotel in Buellton. It has a "resort-like" feel with its tennis court, racquetball court, pool, and sauna. Most, if not all, rooms have a balcony. This was my second stay at this hotel and in both instances the room was clean and the staff pleasant. The hotel also is a short (about 1 mile) drive to one of the best restaurants in the area, The Hitching Post II.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

This was pretty much exactly what you expect from a Marriott - nice, comfy, clean beds with a good shower in a nice bathroom. Plenty of parking, free breakfast buffet and a decent pool. It's very easy to get to, right off the highway, but I didn't hear any highway noise at all.

My gripes are few, but I do wish I'd known before we went.
First, I found it sort of confusing to find my way around the hotel to get to the pool and the restaurants - both the signs and the directions in the hotel directory in my room were confusing and/or contradictory.
More importantly, I expected a higher level of tourist support services, given that's who is coming to the area. When I inquired about wine tour van/limo companies over the phone, the front desk pretty much blew me off and said I'd just need to hire a taxi. Some Google searching showed half a dozen companies that would pick us up at the Marriott. Once onsite, neither the front desk nor the concierge were very knowledgeable. They couldn't even confirm if any of the wineries served food and I'm sure one or both are getting kickbacks because the front desk answered "We've been sending people to X, but they all come back and say to stop sending people there because there actually is no food, so you should try Y" but the concierge insisted the X was the best place to go and our cab driver poo poohed both suggestions.

But, it was an easy location and was very close to the restaurant featured in Sideways. And as long as you know to do your own homework, it's a great option.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

To be honest we chose the Marriott simply because it had the best pool within miles of Solvang. Out priority as we have 4 kids. When we arrived we found the grounds clean and the staff was nice.

A few observations however should be noted. We had asked for an adjoining room and had a confirmation from the hotel staff. We also asked not to be put near the exit, ice machine. When we checked in, they did not have our room’s adjoining, but quickly found 2 rooms adjoining. The bad news they were near the exit and next to the maid laundry area, so we heard doors slamming promptly at 7am every morning.
However, we are easy and were thankful we were accommodated with a adjoining room

He rooms are neat and clean and the maid service was good.
We did have a problem with Room 103 where something each morning at 10am would back-up in the pipe system and overflow into he sinks. We had to call maintenance twice and the maid service twice. While they came out and cleaned up the sinks, they never fixed the problems so the carpet on the floor in room 103 next to the bathrooms was always wet and we had visions of whatever was on the floor constantly stuck to our feet. We are not ones who always look for free comps when things go bad, but at these prices and the Marriott reputation we would have thought someone would have made overtures due to the wet floor and plumbing issue.
We were surprised that no one from the front desk seemed to address this personally with us when we left the messages. We had conversations with maintenance and hotel maids.

The pool was nice, and the breakfast was very good. We would have given this a higher rating if not for the daily plumbing back-ups. I’d still say if you find yourself out near Solvang, the Marriott is still a good choice because there is nothing else around. And it does have a big pool.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

Nice hotel with all amenities. Staff was very nice. Rooms were a bit dated design-wise (oak mouldings & spray-on acoustical ceiling), but were fine, with a full-size couch to sit on and spotlessly clean.

WARNING! Do NOT take a room facing the freeway side of the hotel. The noise is very intrusive, and I'm not particularly noise-sensitive. Rooms on the other side are very quiet, if slightly darker.

Very convenient for wine-tasting and Solvang. Much cheaper than hotels in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Ynez Valley Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Valley Marriott

Address: 555 McMurray Road, Buellton, CA 93427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Ynez Valley Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind at the Santa Ynez Valley Marriott in our newly renovated great room - featuring the only Starbucks in the valley! Stay connected while staying with us, with our complimentary wireless internet in all our guest rooms. Take advantage of our many packages, and great midweek specials! The Santa Ynez Valley is famous for over 80 vineyards and wineries, casino, cycling races, horseback riding, and the Danish Village of Solvang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Santa Ynez Valley Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Santa Ynez Valley
Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Buellton
Buellton Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.