We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Ynez Valley Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Ynez Valley Marriott to your Saves list
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 McMurray Road, Buellton, CA 93427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Buellton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Burbank, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A very good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

In Buellton for a large conference, we were impressed that the Marriott put on extra staff to deal with a diverse and demanding group of winos, I mean, wine bloggers.

We had a good-sized room, with decent amenities. It was quiet, clean and comfortable. The WiFi was good and readily available. The conference food was surprisingly good, especially the closing night dinner, which was exceptional. It was also handy to have a Starbucks in the lobby; we used it several times.

We received a note from management that they were going to be renovating and improving the hotel in 2015. It will be interesting to see what they do - and how it will affect prices.

I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor, a significant distance away from the elevator. It was nice and quiet - sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    155
    81
    31
    10
See reviews for
90
178
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troon, Scotland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed for a week as the hotel is ideally situated to visit the local attractions.
The check in process was unremarkable unlike the previous review. The room was a normal shape, although I would agree about being able to hear people in the room next door on one occasion.
The Saturday night was noisey as a wedding reception was being hosted and a number of guests did not get to their rooms until 2am. The party then continued until a phone call to reception resolved it.
The staff are extremely friendly and really go the extra mile in customer care.
The breakfast buffet is excellent, with the chef on hand to cook your omelette.

We enjoyed our stay and will visit it next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Find out If a large function is scheduled and ask for an appropriate room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

For touring the wineries and enjoying the gorgeous scenery . However this hotel looks like it hasn't been touched since the Sixties . What a waste of an ideal location . Having said that , the rooms were clean , if shabby . The staff is very pleasant . The breakfast was a real plus . The Marriott brand is very uneven in quality . Never know what to expect .

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott33, Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your recent getaway and acknowledging our perfect location and that our associates are friendly. As to your concerns management will be addressing them through our upcoming renovation. We look forward to having the opportunity of you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
378 helpful votes 378 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Four nights for a conference was three too many. Long wait for check-in (line across the lobby past two sets of doors). Room a strange shape, with paper thin walls that allow you to hear everything outside, in the halls, and the rooms on either side. Carpet is badly laid (tacks coming up at the doors, don't walk in bare feet!) and a mattress so soft I threw my back out. Requesting another room or mattress was met with "not possible". After complaints and begging, was able to arrange for a piece of wood under the mattress. I should have expected this when I arrived and received a letter from the GM explaining that they plan a renovation later this year and "we hope you'll come back and see the new hotel in 2015". Another way to say, "We know the hotel needs work and hope you won't complain too much, because it won't help."

Other guests told me they had a free breakfast but as a Marriott Rewards member, no one mentioned this. I'll vote with my wallet & won't be coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the end to reduce neighbor & hallway noise. Wi-Fi is spotty in conference ro...
See more room tips
Green Features: No environmentally-friendly practices seen beyond a recycling container on the outside patio.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This was a great overnight stop on way to San Francisco. Location easy onto the freeway,yet not close enough to hear or see it. A walk up the road to a micro brewery, and a 3 mins ride to the ' hitching post' restaurant featured in the movie Sideways.
A short drive to the Danish town of Solvang and all it's quaint bakeries .
Friendly staff and the lovely bedding .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This hotel room came with a breakfast buffet included. This was the greatest breakfast buffet ever..not just stinky oatmeal and waffles..but omelets made to order..and all that came with very great service from the servers and the omelet makers…highly recommended..and thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Nice and clean hotel. Stayed there one night on business. When I first walked into the room, it had a faint smell that someone had smoked in it............................even though it was a non-smoking room. I almost decided to go back to the front desk and ask for another room. However, it was not too strong, so I decided to open the window to see if that would help out which it did.

Nice buffet breakfast in the morning. Very well done and very nice.

Over all it was a very nice stay. I would be sure to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Ynez Valley Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Valley Marriott

Address: 555 McMurray Road, Buellton, CA 93427
Location: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Ynez Valley Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind at the Santa Ynez Valley Marriott in our newly renovated great room - featuring the only Starbucks in the valley! Stay connected while staying with us, with our complimentary wireless internet in all our guest rooms. Take advantage of our many packages, and great midweek specials! The Santa Ynez Valley is famous for over 80 vineyards and wineries, casino, cycling races, horseback riding, and the Danish Village of Solvang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Marriott so you can book your Santa Ynez Valley Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Santa Ynez Valley
Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Buellton
Buellton Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.