We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely wine country” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Ynez Valley Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Ynez Valley Marriott to your Saves list
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 McMurray Road, Buellton, CA 93427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Buellton
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Lovely wine country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This was a great overnight stop on way to San Francisco. Location easy onto the freeway,yet not close enough to hear or see it. A walk up the road to a micro brewery, and a 3 mins ride to the ' hitching post' restaurant featured in the movie Sideways.
A short drive to the Danish town of Solvang and all it's quaint bakeries .
Friendly staff and the lovely bedding .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    147
    73
    28
    10
See reviews for
89
165
8
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This hotel room came with a breakfast buffet included. This was the greatest breakfast buffet ever..not just stinky oatmeal and waffles..but omelets made to order..and all that came with very great service from the servers and the omelet makers…highly recommended..and thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Nice and clean hotel. Stayed there one night on business. When I first walked into the room, it had a faint smell that someone had smoked in it............................even though it was a non-smoking room. I almost decided to go back to the front desk and ask for another room. However, it was not too strong, so I decided to open the window to see if that would help out which it did.

Nice buffet breakfast in the morning. Very well done and very nice.

Over all it was a very nice stay. I would be sure to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband and I had taken a pretty pricey trip to Turks and Caicos earlier this year so we were looking for a hotel in the Santa Ynez Valley where we could stay on points. The Marriott in Buellton is well located in that it is a short drive to Solvang, Santa Ynez and Los Olivos. You can also use this as a home base for some great winery days. Definitely no frills - not too many great outdoor spaces and service was friendly but less than top notch. That being said, the hotel was very clean and we enjoyed our stay. The pool and casual dining options would make this a good place for families with kids. We had free breakfast buffet coupons and enjoyed made-to-order eggs every morning. There is also a great park nearby for outdoor runs with a view (although the fitness center would do in a pinch). Overall I would recommend this hotel to travelers who want to experience the beauty of the Santa Ynez Valley without spending a fortune...and who don't mind driving a bit to get to the neighboring towns and wineries.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott33, Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
It is wonderful to hear that you found our location perfect for touring our wonderful Santa Ynez Valley. Thank you you taking the time to submit your review and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back for many future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The rooms were not bad once we got there. They do feel a little outdated. The main problem is the rest of the hotel. It feels more like a cheap motel than what I would expect from a Marriott. The carpet, paint, general décor were lacking. Also, the restaurant had terrible service with mediocre food. Good location for touring wineries, if you are not very picky.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott33, Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We will be addressing these concerns with our management team to ensure the best experience for every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The hotel was very nice and clean and located in a very accessible area to several vineyards. Breakfast was included which was pretty good for a free offering (we are Marriott Reward Members). My only complaint was that the hotel clerk had to act as the concierge so we did not get that much tour info from them as we would have liked. Relied mostly on internet info.

Room Tip: I requested a room close to the elevator for convenience.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very good. I was not particularly in tune as to their practices. I believe they did recycle in the lobby areas.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Coast, Ca
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have stayed here many times. It is a good location but really needs some updating especially for a Marriott. The staff is very helpful and give good advice about the area. The couch in our room had a broken spring. It is very clean but really needs an update.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott33, Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for selecting our hotel for your travel accommodations and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us and future travelers. We do strive to provide our guests with the best travel experience possible and it sounds as if our staff’s hospitality was great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Ynez Valley Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Valley Marriott

Address: 555 McMurray Road, Buellton, CA 93427
Location: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Ynez Valley Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind at the Santa Ynez Valley Marriott in our newly renovated great room - featuring the only Starbucks in the valley! Stay connected while staying with us, with our complimentary wireless internet in all our guest rooms. Take advantage of our many packages, and great midweek specials! The Santa Ynez Valley is famous for over 80 vineyards and wineries, casino, cycling races, horseback riding, and the Danish Village of Solvang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Santa Ynez Valley Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Santa Ynez Valley
Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Buellton
Buellton Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.