We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bridal Suite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Ynez Valley Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Ynez Valley Marriott to your Saves list
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 McMurray Road, Buellton, CA 93427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Buellton
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Bridal Suite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

As a gold member we were upgraded to a suite. Walked down a long hallway to the last room. On the door it said Bridal Suite. I opened the door for my "bride" of 44 years. Inside was a nice suite and a heart shaped jacuzzi. We enjoyed the large room, but didn't try the jacuzzi. The round table in the room had three chairs. I guess the third chair is for the mother in law.
Hotel is very nice. More open areas than most Marriotts. Lots of Halloween decorations. Lots of meeting rooms. Staff was nice. Small restaurant was good, but we only had breakfast.
We have found other nice hotels in Solvang, but we'll come back to the Marriott the next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi RobReno,

It is wonderful to hear that you were pleased with your special suite for you and your “bride”! Nothing makes us happier than knowing we were able to provide a delightful and memorable guest experience. Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back for many future stays!

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    147
    73
    28
    10
See reviews for
89
165
8
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times in past three years. I love the convenient location off US-101 among mountains and vineyards. The setting is also very peaceful & idellyc. I keep returning to this hotel whenever I get a chance, even if it means driving 40+ miles to stay here for a business meeting in Santa Barbara. The service and hotel staff are excellent. Only thing I would change about the hotel is its proximity to the 101 freeway. I wish it was located little bit further away from the freeway, closer to the vineyards. The included breakfast is plentiful even for vegetarians. I love visiting Solvang, the little dutch(?) style hemlet up the country road. In the vening, I love sitting by the large open fire pit in the rear of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the back for less highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hi DivyangUSA,

Thank you for your feedback and the five-star review! We truly appreciate the time you took to share your experience about your return stay. Your loyalty is extremely important to us! We couldn't be more delighted to hear that you find our location convenient and our staff’s hospitality to your liking. It also sounds as though our breakfast offerings and patio’s open fire pit are some of the details that make your stay quite enjoyable. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon for another great stay.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We arrived in late afternoon with just enough time to head out for a tasting. The staff gave us directions, etc., and so we were in and out quickly. We were pleased to find out that breakfast was included in the rate with a full omelet bar, waiter service, etc. A pleasant overnight stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Mary R,

Nothing makes us happier than hearing a review such as yours! We would like to thank you for taking time to submit your feedback and share your experience. It sounds as though our staff was able to set you on the right path to experience some of the wonderful wine tasting opportunities in our area. It also seems that our breakfast was an enjoyable surprise! We look forward to welcoming you back for many future stays with our J.W. family!

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

For the price of the room, I thought there'd be more amenities...
No coffee in the lobby ... No disposable earphones in the exercise room ... Both were available at the Hampton Inn in Palmdale we stayed at the weekend before!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi A M,

We appreciate your stay with us and for taking the time to provide feedback. Unfortunately it sounds as though some aspects of your stay were less than perfect and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Be assured that we strive to provide our guests with the best travel experience possible and we will be sure to share the details concerning earphones and coffee with our team. Should your travels bring you again to our area, we do hope to get a chance to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed for one night here on our way up Route 1 as an alternative to staying in Santa Barbara. We were swayed in our choice of hotel by the fact that the Firestone Brewery Taproom bar and restaurant are just a short walk away, though the hotel is in a quiet, out of the way, area. We found the hotel clean and comfortable, with free WiFi, a reasonably well equipped gym and a lovely outdoor swimming pool. Nice patio area with firepits for evening relaxation. Staff very friendly, efficient and helpful. Parking free. We did not eat at the hotel, but found food available close by instead. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Lindy87,

We are delighted you chose to stay with us during your recent travels along Route 1! Thank you for sharing your feedback and for taking the time to share your experience with us and future travelers. It is great to hear that you found our amenities clean and comfortable. It sounds like our outdoor areas made your trip enjoyable and our location was a hit as well! We are also so happy that you found our staff very friendly and efficient. We definitely look forward to the opportunity to host you again, should you visit our area again in the future.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Normally, I would rate this property average yet I feel for the area, Buellton-Solvang, this is a very good choice. Yes, the hotel is dated which shows in the furnishings decor. Surprizingly, for an older property, it is maintained quite well. The lobby is bright and cheery. The front desk staff is friendly and efficient. Our room, on the third floor, was very clean and comfortable. The nicely clean bathroom is small, old marble floor, a single sink with granite counter, and bathtub with shower. It is well lit, great bathroom lighting. The floor is old but very, very clean. The sink, toilet and shower are incredibly clean for an old hotel -- even the shower curtain was fresh looking, very very spotless. I felt very comfortable using this bathroom albeit small. The room had a desk, comfortable chair, comfortable sofa, tv armor, two night stands and comfortable king bed. The furniture was in nice condition. Even the drapes were clean. Walls, ceilings, carpet all in very clean condition. The room was very dark when the drapes were closed, good for sleeping. Daytime, the room was a bit dark but this is not a place that you will be hanging out in your room anyway. The mattress was very good, and the sheets were soft, fresh and nice. I must stress that the room was maintained very very well and housekeeping keeps it quite clean. There are not a lot of luxury hotels in this area - so for Buellton-Solvang - this is the property that will get my business again. It is a very convenient location to Hitching Post II restaurant, AJ Spurs restaurant, and a short drive to wineries, and a few miles to Solvang. It is not far from Foley winery and the other direction is the Chumas Casino. It is about 10 miles to Vandenburg AFB. Overall, convenient to freeway access. I am quite fussy about hotels, and very fussy about cleanliness. This property is the best in Buellton Solvang. If you are going to Los Olivos, perhaps check out hotels in that city which is about 12 miles from Buellton. I did not dine here, so can't comment on the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hi whocareswhoiam,

Thank you so much for your detailed feedback and for selecting our hotel over others in the area. We are delighted to hear that you found our amenities particularly clean and comfortable, especially from a traveler as experienced as yourself. It also sounds as though you found our location to be definite asset to you trip, as well as the hospitality of our staff. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again should your travels bring you to our area in the future.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This full-service Marriott is truly in need of a major renovation. Either that, or the room rate & reward level needs to come down. (It does not deserve to be a level 6) The decor is very dated (oak woodwork!) and the lower level with the bar, restaurant and hair salon is looking a little cheesy. On the plus side, the front desk staff is quite nice and professional and the location is great. You are close to wine tasting, Solvang and Los Olivos.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi WCOttav,

Thank you for selecting our hotel for your travel accommodations and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us and future travelers. We do strive to provide our guests with the best travel experience possible and it sounds as if our staff’s hospitality and our location were on the mark. Please be assured that we will share the noted aspects of your stay that were not to your liking with our team. We hope you will keep us in mind for your future trips to the area, as we would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Ynez Valley Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Valley Marriott

Address: 555 McMurray Road, Buellton, CA 93427
Location: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Ynez Valley Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind at the Santa Ynez Valley Marriott in our newly renovated great room - featuring the only Starbucks in the valley! Stay connected while staying with us, with our complimentary wireless internet in all our guest rooms. Take advantage of our many packages, and great midweek specials! The Santa Ynez Valley is famous for over 80 vineyards and wineries, casino, cycling races, horseback riding, and the Danish Village of Solvang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Santa Ynez Valley Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Santa Ynez Valley
Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Buellton
Buellton Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.