We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay for Exploring the Local Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Ynez Valley Marriott

Save Saved
You added Santa Ynez Valley Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 McMurray Road, Buellton, CA 93427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Buellton
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay for Exploring the Local Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We took a road trip through California's Central Coast and our first stop was the Santa Ynez Valley Marriott for two days. This is a great hotel. The architecture blends/reflects the small town where it is located and the Spanish-influenced culture of California. The staff was very professional and friendly, the lobby and sitting area were welcoming, the breakfast buffet was very good and so was room service (the salmon was very good). It provided an ideal location for exploring the local wineries (101 North to 154 East and left on scenic Zaca Station/Canyon Road). Solvang is nearby but was a bit too commercial and redundant in its offerings. And less than 30 minutes east of the hotel is Lake Cachuma, a beautiful and restful place to enjoy the outdoors, bird watch, and swim in the summer. We had a suite, which was dated but roomy and comfortable. The only critiques were the suite's double, entrance door, which was not properly secured because of its dated construction and the noise from the street. Request a room not facing the street.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hi boyntonbeach,

Thanks for staying with us. We are so glad that you selected our hotel to start off your trip, and it's great to hear that you found the accommodations and friendly staff welcoming. We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered, but appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We will be sure to pass your comments along to the team to have it corrected. We hope to see you again in the future if you return to the area.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    139
    61
    23
    10
See reviews for
83
148
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Point Richmond, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a sporting event. The hotel hosted the event and gave a small discount on the room. At that it was still more pricey than neighboring hotels, but the quality of this hotel is vary much above others in the area. Others are the chain type hotels that you find along the highway. The lobby area and on site cafe were nice and the entire staff was friendly greeted you every time you walked by. Room amenities were as you would expect with Marriott. My only "complaint" would be that there seemed to be very little insulation between rooms and I could hear conversations from next door when sitting at the desk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi Phil R,

Thanks for staying with us! We appreciate you sharing your experience, and it's great to hear that you were extremely pleased with your accommodations. We strive to provide top-notch customer service to ensure that every guest is comfortable and feels welcome, no matter the reason for their stay. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced, and appreciate you bringing it to our attention. Your comments will be shared with the team to ensure better future stays. Please keep us in mind for your future trips to the area.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night and I wish we could have stayed longer! The lobby is beautiful and we were promptly checked in to our room. The 2 staff members checking us in did a great job informing us about the local Wine Tasting sights and we were grateful for that. Our room was spacious and our bed very comfortable. We had breakfast the next morning in their restaurant and the food was good, the service excellent. I really like how friendly the staff are at this hotel and they put in much effort to make sure you feel welcomed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi Julie R,

We are so glad you stayed with us during your trip to the area! Thank you for sharing your experience, and for the excellent review. We appreciate you taking the time to make note of the aspects of your trip that were the most enjoyable and pleasing. It's our pleasure to be sure that guests make the most out of their trip, and thoroughly enjoy their time here. We are looking forward to the opportunity of accommodating you for future trips. Your comments will be shared with the team.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here overnight on business. Super easy check-in, comfy room, breakfast included in my rate. All of the staff were so friendly. Great outdoor seatingarea with fire pit. Not even 1 mile to Anderson's Pea Soup restaurant (well known CA 101 traveler stop w/ super clean restrooms, souvenir shoppes & 2 restaurants ...featuring the worlds best pea soup!!). I'll be back. Thanks!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi Passport-Maven,

Thank you for staying with us. We are so pleased to hear that you experienced and easy check-in and that the breakfast and room accommodations were to your liking. We strive to ensure that all guests experience top-notch customer service during their stay. Thanks for sharing your feedback. We are looking forward to sharing it with the team.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Visiting from Australia, my fiancée & I stayed for a one night stop over on our West Coast Holiday. Staff were friendly, and the room, while a little dated, was clean and comfortable.

The Starbucks in the lobby was a welcome sight, and the laundry facilities were just what we needed after a few weeks on the road.

Breakfast was also good.

The hotel is located just off the highway, and at first I was concerned there'd be road noise, but we had a perfectly quiet room - no problems at all.

For dinner, I'd recommend the 'Hitching Post' just up the road, great steaks and the "Sideways" connection is a nice novelty (I'm a fan of the book & film).

If we are back in the area, this will be the hotel we book.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hi MartiniBender,

We are so glad you selected our hotel for your one night stay in the area. Thank you for sharing your experience. It's refreshing to hear that you found our accommodations and services to be just what you needed. We strive to ensure that all of our guests have a great experience here, and it sounds like you did. If you plan on returning to the area in the future, we would love to be your hotel of choice. Your comments will be shared with the team.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our family stayed here for one night. We were upgraded to a suite since we are Marriott Gold Club card members so that was really nice. We requested a room on the east side of the hotel since we had stayed here before and had experienced noise from the adjoining freeway on the west side of the hotel. The room was spacious and well maintained, however our only complaint was with the queen sized bed since it was not as firm as we would have liked it, and in fact it had a dip. Marriott had repalced the matresses on their beds some time ago and it is probably due for another replacement. I notified the hotel desk receptionist of our complaint and she made a note of it. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the morning and the waitress was very friendly and the service was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the east side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi TravelerLaMirada,

It's great to hear that you have stayed with us before. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We were happy to provide the guest room upgrade for you, and have taken note of your comments. They will be shared with the team to ensure better future stays. We hope to see you again in the future when you return to the area.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary at this charming hotel. From the moment we checked in, we felt like royalty! Yolanda, the front desk clerk was the epitome of efficiency and hospitality, congratulating us on our special event. She offered to change our room if it did not meet our expectations. We did have to switch rooms as the freeway noise was a bit intrusive, yet all of this was accomplished seamlessly and efficiently. Once settled, we were thrilled when room service delivered a complimentary split of champagne, delicious desert and handwritten card from Yolanda and staff. This touch was such an unexpected and delightful gesture. Our king suite room was spotless and spacious. The included breakfast buffet was definitely the best we have had! Every staff member we encountered from maid to restaurant server to door captain were genuinely friendly and professional. All in all,we had a memorable 30th thanks to the superb staff at the Santa Ynez Valley Marriott. We highly recommend this fine establishment and hope to return next year.

Room Tip: If freeway noise bothers you, request a valley view room facing Mc Murray Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi 32607Jeannie51,

Congratulations on celebrating your 30th anniversary! We were so pleased that you spent it with us. We strive to ensure that all guests have a memorable experience here, and it's great to hear that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are looking forward to your return in the future, and hope that you will also join us for lunch and/or dinner during your next trip. We would be happy to recommend some additional area attractions that you may find interesting.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Ynez Valley Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Valley Marriott

Address: 555 McMurray Road, Buellton, CA 93427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Ynez Valley Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind at the Santa Ynez Valley Marriott in our newly renovated great room - featuring the only Starbucks in the valley! Stay connected while staying with us, with our complimentary wireless internet in all our guest rooms. Take advantage of our many packages, and great midweek specials! The Santa Ynez Valley is famous for over 80 vineyards and wineries, casino, cycling races, horseback riding, and the Danish Village of Solvang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Santa Ynez Valley Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Santa Ynez Valley
Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Buellton
Buellton Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.