We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located weekend getaway hotel for So Cal residents” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Ynez Valley Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Ynez Valley Marriott to your Saves list
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 McMurray Road, Buellton, CA 93427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Buellton
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Centrally located weekend getaway hotel for So Cal residents”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

A few weeks ago I came home Friday night exhausted - I told my husband we needed to get out of town and I don't care where .... we headed north early Saturday morning. On the route we stopped at Filmore for Breakfast, Summerland, CA for a stretch - what hidden gem of a town and a great walk on the pier in Santa Barbara. The next destination on Tripadvisor that intrigued me was Nojoqui Falls - we decided on Solvang and saw all the great reviews for this hotel. It was everything the reviews promised. Beautiful (we ended up in the Presidential suite - not sure how that happened) but the staff, furnishings, food, pool, hot tub were excellent. The Saturday morning Omelet cook was the best - I asked him to add whatever goes with Jalapeno and he made me the perfect omelet. The waitress was very attentive but not overly so. The desk and concierge were very helpful recommending a few restaurants and sights in the area. We stayed less than 24 hours but felt like it had been a week at a spa. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi pathorangberg,

We are so pleased you selected our hotel for your weekend getaway. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations and area attractions. We hope you left feeling rejuvenated and ready to jump back into your normal routine. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    147
    73
    29
    10
See reviews for
89
166
8
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a very clean, well appointed and comfortable hotel if you are exploring the Santa Ynez valley. The staff was very polite. Free parking. Nice pool. A good complimentary breakfast buffet. It is a convenient location although not breathtaking. Nice view from front but backs up to Hwy 101. Get a room in front if you are bothered by freeway noise.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi bonniegw,

Thanks for staying with us. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and found our accommodations well appointed and comfortable. We are pleased that you joined us for breakfast, as well. Please keep us in mind for any future trips to the area. We would love to accommodate you again.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here for business. Nice room, bed was comfortable and liked having the small refergerator in the room. Staff was friendly and helpful. Nice central location for short excursions around the area. Hotel was well maintained and clean. Reccomend this hotel if you stay in the area even though it is not in downtown Buellton as it seems more modern with better ammenities than many of the inns that are in town.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the freeway may be quieter if you want the patio door open, but it is pretty qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi NorcalGrls,

We are pleased you had the opportunity to stay with us during your business trip. It's great to hear that you found our location convenient and amenities to your liking. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, and hope to see you back again soon. We would be happy to help recommend must-see area attractions if your schedule permits exploring.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is not the first time staying up in wine country. Stayed here just for the night but after 1 day both my wife and I did not want to leave. Thinking Marriott would be pricy I found that they were inline with all the other Solvang hotels but the difference was the cleanliness of the facilities inside and out, realizing lobby, friendliness of the staff, the FULL breakfast that came with the room, the wonderful king overlooking the beautiful green hillside that i requested, the character of a Vegas hotel in Buellton. We are sold ! When we come up again we know where we will be staying..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hi SSW004,

Thanks for choosing our hotel for your stay in the area. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the accommodations, and that you will be returning in the future. It's important to us to be sure that every guest has a stellar experience from the very first step into the hotel until checkout. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and will be sure to share it with the rest of the team.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

First Class rooms. Pleasant lobby and public spaces. Nothing exceptional or different than the usual Marriott but on the other hand no surprises or poor conditions or performances. Comfortable beds and fairly generous rooms. Very clean and modern. Unlike many large hotels, the door man was always present and very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi William H,

Thanks for staying with us during your trip to the area. It's great to hear that you found our accommodations to be as expected of a Marriott. We are pleased that you enjoyed yourself. We strive to ensure that every guest receives top-notch customer service and that there's a member of staff available at all times. We would love for you to consider staying with us again during any future trips back to the area. Thanks for sharing your feedback.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here with my wife on a short two day trip.
We enjoyed the location of hotel in regards to Solvang, winenaries and Santa Barbara.
Hotel had a quick check in and check out.
Hotel lobby was nicely decorated and inviting.

Room Tip: Ask for a King bed with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi Merlyn R,

Thanks for choosing our hotel for your short trip. It's great to hear that you were pleased with our expedient service and accommodations. We hope you were able to experience some of the area's attractions while you were here. If you return to the area in the future, we would be happy to help recommend some additional sites to see. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed on a Saturday night a few weeks ago while we were doing some wine tasting in Santa Barbara county. The hotel was very nice - as Marriott Platinum members we were upgraded to a one bedroom suite. The bathroom was huge and very newly renovated. The hotel breakfast was very good - I would say above average. The hotel also had delicious cookies in the lobby in the afternoon which was great. The hotel was in a great location - close to all the wineries and the main highways to get around. We would recommend this hotel and we would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi tahitijess,

Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. It's great to hear that you found our accommodations to be convenient for your trip, and enjoyable. We strive to ensure that all guests have an excellent experience here and are pleased to receive feedback from a loyal Marriott traveler. Your comments will be shared with the team, and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Ynez Valley Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Valley Marriott

Address: 555 McMurray Road, Buellton, CA 93427
Location: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Ynez Valley Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind at the Santa Ynez Valley Marriott in our newly renovated great room - featuring the only Starbucks in the valley! Stay connected while staying with us, with our complimentary wireless internet in all our guest rooms. Take advantage of our many packages, and great midweek specials! The Santa Ynez Valley is famous for over 80 vineyards and wineries, casino, cycling races, horseback riding, and the Danish Village of Solvang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Santa Ynez Valley Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Santa Ynez Valley
Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Buellton
Buellton Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.