We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Ynez Valley Marriott

Save Saved
You added Santa Ynez Valley Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 McMurray Road, Buellton, CA 93427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Buellton
Cape Canaveral, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

The staff is great, restaurant has good food, & rooms are clean. It is a central location for wine tasting & getting to Santa Barbra. I stay here for work and always feel safe & I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hi Carolyn B,

Thanks for choosing our hotel for your stays in the area. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback, and it's great to hear that you enjoy our accommodations. We want to ensure that all of our guests are comfortable and have everything they need during their stay. Thanks again for sharing your experience, and your comments will be shared with the team. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    137
    59
    22
    10
See reviews for
82
146
7
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Bernardino, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our two night stay at the Buellton Marriott was most enjoyable. The location is perfect for visits to wineries, Solvang, Lompoc, and Vandenberg AFB. Rooms away from the roads (the hotel sits between Highway 101 and a local road), on upper floors are quieter.

Upgrade to include the breakfast buffet, since it is well worth the price, especially for couples or families.

The staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was clean and comfortable. Regular rooms are a bit small; bathrooms are compact, but there is an additional sink, and the room includes a balcony.

Restaurants nearby include The Hitching Post and the Firestone Taproom.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hi sbca2010,

Thank you for staying with us! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience here, and found our location convenient to The Hitching Post and Firestone Winery. It's great to hear that you found the breakfast buffet to be worth the upgrade and our staff friendly. We appreciating you taking the time to share your feedback. Your comments will be shared with the team. Please keep us in mind for any future trips back to the area.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We are locals and live about a mile away from the hotel. My wife and I had to stay at the hotel for two nights while we were having new flooring installed at our house. While I had driven by the hotel thousands of times I had never actually stayed there. What a gem this place is. Beautiful property, well trained and polished staff and very nice rooms. It's also pet friendly which really helped us out since we have a German Shepherd. Lot's of dining options within walking distance and a great brewery and wine bar a very short drive away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hi dlb0758,

We are so pleased you had the opportunity to stay with us. It's great to have some perspective from someone who resides in the area. We strive to ensure that all of our guests have a great experience here, no matter the reason for their stay. It's wonderful to hear that you, and your German Shepherd, found our accommodations and staff to your liking. Thanks for sharing your feedback, and we hope you enjoy your new floors!

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay here. I was worried at first because the hotel is close to the highway, but noise wasn't a problem at all. We stayed in the bridal suite 361 which was a very nice room. The only problem we had was that the heart shaped spa tub didn't work after about a minute. I did call the front desk and they offered to send someone to fix it, but we really didn't want an engineer in our room so late at night, therefore we turned them down. Also, the radio/clock was disconnected. I connected it but for the life of me couldn't figure out how to set the time (alarm yes, time no). It didn't really matter since we weren't on any kind of a schedule. I let them know on the day that we left that someone needed to connect it and set it. I also wish the hotel had a better view. I must say that the all the staff that we interacted with were very friendly and helpful. Also, breakfast was included in the price of our stay, and it was one of the best breakfast buffets we've ever had. I should also mention that there is a movie theatre right next door and that there are many good restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: The bridal suite is far from the elevator which means less people coming and going near your room. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hi Onthegovalleymom,

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. It's great to hear that you found our staff friendly, and that you enjoyed the breakfast and location to area attractions. We do apologize for the inconveniences you encountered while you were here. Your comments will be passed along to the team to be sure that they are corrected, and ensure better future stays. If you travel back to the area in the future, please keep us in mind for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Im so glad I booked his hotel, as I was unsure of where to stay in Santa ynez and I wanted to be close the wineries

! The rooms are really nice, we have a great view of the vineyards and it's a 15min drive to Los Olivos - where we spent most of our time!! And the hitching post from sideways is just down the street!! So Cool!!! Beds are comfortable & breakfast was included!!!!! Perfect!!!

Room Tip: High floor requested room with view on level 4 - stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi daforeignergirl,

We are so glad you stayed with us for your journey to Los Olivos and the Santa Ynez Valley! It's great to hear that you found our location convenient to your destinations, and that the hotel accommodations were to your liking. It sounds like you did quite a bit of exploring. Please consider staying with us again if you return to the area. We would be happy to help recommend some other sites close by that you may enjoy.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This property is a find for those who want to be close to Lompoc, the wine region with the most Pinot noir and Chardonnay. We checked in with a reservation for a standard room. I asked if they were any upgrades available and the kind man at the front desk upgraded us to a king suite with a beautiful view of the mountains. The four rooms are hugely spacious with a very comfortable bed and crispy white sheets. Nice to have Starbucks in the morning and the barista was super friendly and nice.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hi smilingathena,

We appreciate you selecting our location for your trip to the area. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the upgraded room and found the bedding to your liking. Our staff is eager to provide top-notch customer service. We are pleased to hear that you found the barista to be pleasant and accommodating. If you plan to return to the area in the future, please consider staying with us again. Your feedback will be shared with the team.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great location for wine country experince. Easy to get to, suite was confortable, nice breakfast. Greatly appreciated the benefits of traveling with a "points" earner as we got one night free and also breakfast included:-)

Would recommend to anyone who is headed to Santa Ynez for wining.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Hi ohm2,

It's great to hear that you found our location convenient to the wineries, and accommodations comfortable. We are glad you selected our location for you trip. Thanks for the recommendation, and we hope to see you again soon if you return to the area.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Ynez Valley Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Valley Marriott

Address: 555 McMurray Road, Buellton, CA 93427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Ynez Valley Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind at the Santa Ynez Valley Marriott in our newly renovated great room - featuring the only Starbucks in the valley! Stay connected while staying with us, with our complimentary wireless internet in all our guest rooms. Take advantage of our many packages, and great midweek specials! The Santa Ynez Valley is famous for over 80 vineyards and wineries, casino, cycling races, horseback riding, and the Danish Village of Solvang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Santa Ynez Valley Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Santa Ynez Valley
Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Buellton
Buellton Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.