We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Ynez Valley Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Ynez Valley Marriott to your Saves list
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 McMurray Road, Buellton, CA 93427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Buellton
florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great location for wine country experince. Easy to get to, suite was confortable, nice breakfast. Greatly appreciated the benefits of traveling with a "points" earner as we got one night free and also breakfast included:-)

Would recommend to anyone who is headed to Santa Ynez for wining.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Hi ohm2,

It's great to hear that you found our location convenient to the wineries, and accommodations comfortable. We are glad you selected our location for you trip. Thanks for the recommendation, and we hope to see you again soon if you return to the area.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    167
    88
    32
    13
See reviews for
96
189
9
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The work staff here couldn't have been nicer, that made our stay so much nicer. The hotel is fine, nice that they offer Starbucks coffee, but it is NOT a Starbucks, just their coffee. Purchased a blueberry scone, which looked good, only the three blueberries? We're placed on top, that was it.

The breakfast buffet was terrific, made better by our server, Martha S. she should be recognized for excellence with a smile.
Note, the restaurant is fine for breakfast, but a bit depressing for other meals. They could use a nicer setting for dinners.
The room was fine,view was ok, we stayed in the standard room with two double beds.

Room Tip: Don't get near an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hi jeannette e,

Thanks for staying with us, and sharing your feedback. We strive to ensure that all guests feel welcome and experience top-notch customer service. It's so great to hear that you found our service exemplary. Your comments and appreciation will be shared with the team and Martha S. We will also take your comments regarding our breakfast and dinner accommodations into consideration to ensure better future stays. We hope to see you again if you return to the area in the future.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craftsbury Common, Vermont
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We came to this area of California for wine tasting and had made all the hotel arrangements online. We were not disappointed. From the cozy fire in the lobby to the excellent free breakfast buffet and super comfortable beds this Marriott was an excellent choice for our two night stay in the area. It was too cold to use the outdoor pool, but the exercise machines were an added benefit. There was even free printer available for us to print out online tickets to upcoming events. I enjoyed the view from my balcony but it was too chilly to take advantage of it during our stay. Being right near the highway made the hotel easy to find and convenient for getting to other attractions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hi cherminwil,

Thanks for selecting out hotel for your stay. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the room, lobby, and breakfast accommodations. We strive to ensure that all guests have a wonderful experience while visiting the area. We are so pleased you were able to attend some of the area wine tastings. If you have plans to return in the future, we would love to accommodate you again.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here with wife and our adult kids during Christmas break. This is an excellent location to explore the Santa Ynez Valley Wineries from. Appeared that this time of year, majority of guests were here to the Wine Tasting. Cozy lobby with abundance of seating near a fireplace and the Starbucks. Guests congregate here in the AM awaiting the Wineries to open. The best restaurants in the Valley are all within a mile of the hotel.

Overall, it is an average Marriott. Gym is above average, and they have an excellent pool for lap swimming. Free parking. We had a suite on the top floor which had plenty of space for the four of us. Included a sofa pullout bed, and we also had a rollaway. View looked out over the Valley which was nice at sunset. We did not find the close proximity to Highway 101 to be a noise factor.

Room Tip: Don't let the rooms facing the Highway discourage you. We did not find an issue with any noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hi OlyUSC,

We are so pleased you and your family stayed with us over the Christmas holiday. It sounds like you all enjoyed yourself, and the sites within close proximity to our location. We strive to ensure that all guests are comfortable during their time here. Thanks for sharing your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Courteous staff, clean and comfortable rooms. Adorably decorated for Christmas at every corner, and rate included a full breakfast buffet with made to order omelettes. Great restaurants and wineries nearby. 5 Stars.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Hi Lillylilly2011,

We are so pleased that you selected our hotel for your trip. Thank you for sharing your feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our staff, accommodations, and found our location convenient for your travels. Please consider staying with us again if you return to the area.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
303 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were driving down to LA, from SF.....this is a nice place to stop. Very nice hotel; nice rooms; good service; nice dining room....not as all "old" as some have indicated.

The location is excellent....right off the highway (101), close to shopping and Solvang. For those that do not know, this is the old danish tourist town. You also have the Santa Ynez wineries, and lots of missions. Overall, if you are not rushed to go from SF and LA, this is a nice relaxing place to stay and still do some sightseeing

Room Tip: everything was very nice during our visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear bbb57aolcom,

Thanks for staying with us. We are pleased to hear that you found our location and accommodations comfortable and convenient. If you return to the area again and have more time, we would be happy to help suggest attractions in the area that are a must see. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here over Thanksgiving and we were pleasantly suprised . I checked the reviews before going and they were mixed. I was expecting old and out dated but not at all. We were updated on Thanksgiving day automatically to a King suite, which was wonderfully spacious, extremely clean, plenty of linens. Excellent service, Full breakfast included for my husband and 3 year old. The front lobby all very clean, Everyone extremely helpful , courteous and it made our Thanksgiving very memorable. Thank you Buellton Marriott and Happy Holidays to all your hard working staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Solvang and look forward to returning soon

Room Tip: Mountain side is great, however since the hotel is close to freeway, you do not hear ANY freeway noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hi joanne r,

Thank you for staying with us! It's great to hear that your accommodations were more than comfortable and accommodating for you and your family. We do our best to go the extra mile for all guests, and it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the upgraded room. Your feedback will be shared with the staff, and everyone will be pleased to know that we made your Thanksgiving holiday even more enjoyable. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buellton
3.0 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
6.2 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Buellton
Quality Inn Buellton
#1 of 7 in Buellton
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Ynez Valley Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Valley Marriott

Address: 555 McMurray Road, Buellton, CA 93427
Location: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Ynez Valley Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind at the Santa Ynez Valley Marriott in our newly renovated great room - featuring the only Starbucks in the valley! Stay connected while staying with us, with our complimentary wireless internet in all our guest rooms. Take advantage of our many packages, and great midweek specials! The Santa Ynez Valley is famous for over 80 vineyards and wineries, casino, cycling races, horseback riding, and the Danish Village of Solvang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Ynez Valley Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Santa Ynez Valley
Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Buellton
Buellton Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.